Ratings based on 1,286 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK but not great

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Nice bar, comfy bed, good breakfast.
Cons: Reception staff to remember to do the things they said they would.
Location: Short but tiring walk (lots of steps) into the centre of town where there are plenty of places to eat and shop.
I stayed two nights to attend something at the City Hall. The hotel has ample parking (not free). Reception staff were helpful but didn't provide the cot I asked for until I asked a second time and didn't e-mail me the invoice I requested. The bar is nice and the breakfast has everything you would want. The facilities in the room were getting a bit old. The taps in the bath were hard to turn off, the water very slow. Not many towels and limited beverages in the room. Its a ten minute walk into town over a busy road and pedestrian foot bridge. The web site said there was a kids club but there was no sign of it. When I asked, they just talked about the pool. There are other hotels that are nicer and a bit closer to town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

It's an okay hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
The hotel is okay. Rooms are a bit tired. Found stains on the carpet, holes in my curtains, heavy dust settlements on some light sources that obviously have never been rubbed down in a while.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from harrow

Location excellent

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Novotel we thought is an average hotel Our room wasn't cleaned on the first day they had no room service staff The toilet flush was not working properly and on complaining they said they had no maintenance staff available Breakfast was good Swimming and spa were good
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

not upto Novotel standards

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: minecraft xbox 360 in the lobby for the kids
Cons: see above
Location: lots- see map of Cardiff
After camping in Wales, we expected some luxury and chose the Novotel for its location (was based on reviews). We paid for breakfast fair enough but the staff were rude and not accommodating. They seemed stressed and very short when asked questions i.e. please could you accommodate 8 people for breakfast? The breakfast room was untidy and the tables not cleaned for the next guest. The rooms - the net curtains have not been cleaned since the hotel was built I think. There are dysfunctional extractor fans in the bathrooms and the the towel heaters were disconnected. The flush did not work in the toilet - this this not an isolated incident other members of our party had the same. When we booked for a family of 4, we did not expect just one additional sofa bed for the kids to share - not my idea of a family room. The rooms are dated and need a complete revamp. I can carry on and on - sadly, I do not think feedback like this is ever going to result in change for that hotel - shame
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salisbury

Central Cardiff

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Have stayed in this hotel several times & it's a great gem. Newly added pancake machine in the breakfast room Is a popular edition.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from worcester

Close to Cardiff bay and city centre

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Hotel is modern and we had a lovely bright spacious end room in the old part of the hotel with good standard room facilities. Breakfast is good apart from some food were not refilled while we were there! Swimming pool area was ok small and tired looking, compared to other 4 stars hotel. Staff at reception was very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Kamilla, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Kamilla Robak Reception Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north yorkshire

A very enjoyable stay good for the young ones

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Very enjoyable stay, particularly enjoyed the swimming facilities and play area for kids and The comfy sofas and chairs to sit and watch them which was close to the bar and restaurant.. the little extra touches like fresh water and fruit and Welsh cakes laid out for free in the reception area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Kamilla, Hotel Management
Dear Suzann Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Kamilla Robak Reception Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Bathrooms are a bit back dated could do with modernising.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by kamilla, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Kamilla Robak Guest Services
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Novotel

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Hotel is in a good location, great facilities with pool, stuff for kids and yummy breakfast. Rooms are nice but doors and bathrooms could do with a more thorough clean. On the whole it was great and I would visit again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Kamilla, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Kamilla Robak Reception Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Good location and excellent staff

Posted Aug 29, 2017
We were pleased with the hotel, very clean and modern, and in walking distance to downtown or to the docks. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Kamilla, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Kamilla Robak Reception Manager