Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Excellent hotel - an oasis in an industrial area

Posted Mar 10, 2017
The bar meals are good value and great quality. The spa and gym are excellent and well managed. The room was comfortable, clean and of a good size. Staff very polite and helpful. The only negative is the location in that it is right next to a large industrial estate and there are no decent restaurants close by to walk to. That having been said a 20 minute drive out gets you to some lovely countryside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Nice hotel suitable as a base

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: The food in the restaurant, especially the carvery was wonderful
Cons: The heating in the room, as it made sleeping uncomfortable and the bed was rather on the soft side.
Location: Cwmbran railway station and shopping centre is close by. Newport city centre is a short drive and Tredegar house National Trust is worth a visit
We used this hotel as it was close to Newport and central to where we had planned to visit. Facilities were excellent, although the restaurant was on the small side and booking early for dinner is advisable. We couldn't fault the food or the service provided on our 3 day visit. Our room was comfortable but found the heating in the room a bit too hot at times, with no way of turning down the temperature.There was a varied amount of entertainment too which added to our short stay. We will most certainly stay at the Parkway Spa again as we found it value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful Hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Great staff, always there to help. Entertainment at the bar was also excellent. Definitely worth spending the money on the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fife, Scotland

Lovely hotel, good location, helpful staff

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Very helpful and pleasant breakfast staff. Good location. Lovely facilities.
Cons: No lifts for wheelchair users. Fortunately, my father in law could make it up the short flight of stairs but had to always take a long rest afterward
Location: Close to Cardiff, less than an hours drive to Merthyr my main roads or can go through mining villages e.g. Abertillery/Six Bells well worth a visit.
We were down on a four night break with my elderly father in law in a wheelchair. The location is excellent for visiting some of the mining villages that meant a lot to him and not far from Cardiff itself either. The staff, particularly the breakfast staff were amazing, friendly, helpful and very attentive. Recommended places to go, made my father in law feel very special. Night time in the bar was also excellent with some entertainment in the evening. There were also a couple of weddings on at the same time we were there but there was room for everyone and no noise afterwards whatsoever. Ample parking, lovely leisure facilities. Fantastic fireplace in reception/bar and lovely little residents bar with large tv, Sky and Space invader electronic table and other board games. Only noticed the snooker table up the back close to leisure facilities on the last night. Only downside is there are no lifts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Very nice comfortable hotel. Better than expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Llandeilo CARMS Wales

Very nice ambience .

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Unpretentious and comfortable
Cons: greeting on desk. Person preoccupied with taking calls etc - probably to much to do & not enough of meet and greet. First impression very important
Location: Great location - Carleon Museum - Waterfront, Newport. Cinema with ballet screenings etc.
Pool great and warm environment. Staff in dining room excellent. Would have liked an offer to take case up as 1st floor but as it was 10.30 and I was early - this probably made a difference. breakfast very good, lovely roomy sitting about places and good bar. Liked open fire in the evening. Quiet and good rooms with hot water and BATH.Very nice to children.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

an hotel with an American feel

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: carvery was excellent although service very slow
we stayed for 2 nights , we have no complaints about the hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w.

Awful room! Heating was broken!

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Awful! Stayed her with my 7yr old. Heating was broken room was freezing on arrival,staff came up to fix radiator & brought a small fan heater. Then early hours of the morning heating went to the extream boiling hot in room,was ring reception at 2am no answer & couldn't leave my son alone in room to go An find help or staff! Bathroom smelt of urine,could hear the people in their room next door,cleaners did a half hearted job as room wasn't hoovered all weekend! Would never stay or recommend here again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Disappointing again bed sheets, toiletery not changed for 4 days. Insects crawling in bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Perfect short stay away from Bristol.

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: Don't know.
Location: We went on to nearby market towns and villages.
The most striking thing is the friendliness of the staff and their willingness to serve. We also liked the layout of the rooms and facilities: the open plan approach to the reception, lounge areas and bar. The spa and pool are maintained to a high standard of cleanliness. The food is exquisite. The bedrooms are tastefully furnished and equipped to a high standard. We found it all in all a luxurious and relaxing treat.