Ratings based on 703 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur

Perfect Location

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The spacious room and fresh furnishing.
Cons: No complaints
Location: Cardiff Castle just across the road.
The entrance didn't look promising but the room was spacious, new and fresh looking. It was early spring so probably the reason the central heating was turned off but I could do with just the blanket so didn't bother to complaint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Very comfortable and clean, the staff was friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient city centre position.

Posted Mar 28, 2017
we had a satisfactory stay. The staff are very good and considerate. But the whole building is desperately jaded, and in need of a total refurbishment. On a separate issue, the car park is very inconvenient. Surely the hotel could provide a rear exit/entrance from the car park, instead of requiring us to trail all our luggage round to the front of the hotel. Furthermore, the carpark is very inadequate for the number of guests, unless it is a carpark available to all and sundry. And to add insult to injury, guests are required to pay to use the car park!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south wales

Very nice hotel and close to the city centre

Posted Mar 28, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay, We will come back again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pembrokeshire

Very nice hotel close to venue

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: ease of access
Cons: bed was slightly hard, for my taste.
Location: centre of Cardiff. Loads of interesting things close by (Castle, Stadium & St Davids hall and shopping centre)
Warm welcome and professional attitude from staff. Cheery/ friendly demeanour when interacting with clients.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caerfyrddin

Super Comfy Bed!

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Had a great overnight stay at the Angel in a very well priced deluxe double. Plenty of room and the comfiest bed ever - comfier than our own! Friendly, accommodating staff and lovely view of the castle. Bendigedig!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

First impressions - good

Posted Mar 5, 2017
When you walk into the hotel, it's breathtakingly beautiful! You go up the stairs and through some mirrored doors... that's where the beauty ends. Hotel staff are good, checking was really quick. Rooms are sadly, old, damp and smelly! i was on the third floor (which I think are the poor people rooms). I had to be moved rooms in first instance as the first room they put me in was on a slant ot was dreadful! They moved me to another room which was nice if they but it was just as bad, really damp and smelly! As it was only one night and I wasn't planning on staying in the room long I just went out and came back late slept and left to get one of the first trains home. The customer service is good though, I have to say that, reception staff very friendly. If I was asked would I stay again, I personally wouldn't as there are better quality hotels in the area at the same sort of price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cardiff

Great, central location.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
A nice stay in a great location! Would recommend The Angel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from swansea

Good at first glance

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The hotel looks grand when you first walk in. But after walking around you notice how tired it looks. We went for one of the delux rooms of the castle. The windows are single glazed so exspect a lot of noise from the road. The was also a damp like smell to the room. At night you could hear every sound possible. Our room door might as well been open. Needless to say we with the traffic and other guests we didn't sleep well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfy hotel - near restaurants & station

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Proximity to town
Cons: Better vegetarian options for meals - we ate elsewhere for all our meals.
Location: shopping, boat ride down the River Taff, Castle, city tour
Nice spacious room, matching furniture, roomy bathroom.