Ratings based on 811 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very enjoyable stay.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Loved tea time, Clean room, beautiful view, helpfull staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Beautiful views from the balcony, spacious rooms.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Stayed in two different rooms on separate days, both were fabulous. Great views and enjoyed the spa and swimming pool.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location on Cardiff Bay.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Location: Short walk to Millennium Centre and Mermaid Quay, fabulous view, short walk to public transport.
This was my fourth stay at St. David's. Love this hotel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016
We were in room 712 in the top floor which was amazing. Beautiful views of the water, and a really spacious, comfortable room. The service was excellent. They took our bags up to our room as soon as we arrived so they were waiting for us when we got to our room. Good free wifi. Breakfast was amazing!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Wonderful hotel, shame about the bed.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: The view across the Bay to Penarth.
Cons: The bed, the bed, the bed! Hard and I could feel the springs!
Location: Great public transport links back into the city centre, lots of places to eat and drink in the Bay, Millenium centre is ten minutes wall away.
The good: Staff and faciliites are excellent, the hotel is on the bay and the views are spectacular from the balcony. You are very close to all the Cardiff Bay amenities such as the restaurants and there is very easy public transport access into the city centre. There is also a pool and gym, which I didn't get to try. The bad: my king size bed was woeful. Twin beds shackled together to make a double, no problem, however the beds were HARD and even worse I could feel the springs of the mattress. I did not get a good nights sleep at all. I had to sleep on top of the complimentary bathrobe to get enough cushioning to feel comfortable. The bed really only needs a generous mattress topper to make it satisfactory. When I mentioned this to the staff the following morning on checkout, the young lady on reception (Darya) didn't seem to understand and didn't ask further when I replied I hadn't had a good night. Please contact me to discuss this further. Breakfast was ok, but you can walk five minutes and get one just as nice for a quarter of the price at a local restaurant. Overall, I would go back to hotel, but only if the bed was ensured to have a topper so it was more comfortable. It is a genuine 5 star hotel and only in my case, a 1 star bed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Disappointing for a 5 star hotel.

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Definitely far to expensive for the service we received
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful in a great location

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Excellent hotels with great facilities...excellent location highly recommend
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel but overpriced and unimpressive service

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Spa and pool were nice
The rooms were nice/clean but very basic. Very disappointed that the restaurant stops serving food early and lack of food available for room service (they said they only had pizza even though the menu showed other options) Worst part was Expedia says you can get a rollaway bed for GBP 30 per night but when we checked into the hotel they said this bed was only available for children (Expedia does not confirm this) and we ended up having to pay for a whole second room. Staff was not accommodating and unhelpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Well appointed hotel with a few hiccups

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Room lovely although shower dodgy and bidet unnecessary. Staff mixed with some great and some ordinary, too far away on a rainy night.
5 out of 5
by Jane from shrewsbury

great stay at the Bay

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great 3 days in Cardiff, excellent spa and pool, great service.