Ratings based on 845 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Incredible that this hotel still claims a 5 star

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: The concierge and the night staff at the front desk. Absolutely nothing else was positive.
Cons: I'd be happy to speak to you at length. My disappointment with this hotel was profound. The Park Plaza, Hilton and the Radisson Blu are leagues better
Location: It is on the bay. There are good bars and restaurants nearby. But don't eat at the hotel restaurant. The service is terrible.
I will send a more detailed review to the hotel, but honestly, this place is a disgrace. So many components were absolutely terrible. Communication, maintenance, management, safety were all shockingly lacking. Service to the rooms was terrible. I stayed in a suite and couldn't get shampoo delivered to my room. The room keys would charge out after one use. The right elevator was clearly dangerous, so much so that the glass panels writhing in were fractured. The wait staff with the exception of the Polish guys simply has never been trained. The balcony (I was in room 601 - a nice suite) was horrible. The beds were terrible. Two single beds shoved together is worthy of a Holiday Inn Express, not of the supposedly best hotel in Wales. Badly maintained, moss on the surfaces, windows clearly hadn't been cleaned in many years. The concierge was a delight and was soldiering on, as was the nighttime staff. I have photographs of much of this. I'm in the hotel business in the US and I'm very understanding but want to be constructive. This hotel sticks in my mind as one of the worst that I have experienced in my life. The management and attitude of this hotel needs a massive shake-up. The hotel looks amazing from the atrium, but look behind the facade and you will see a sorry excuse for a 5 star hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Hissey, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to read your comments and do appreciate that apologies after the event do little to make amends, however, I trust that you will accept mine and that of the team here at The St. David's Hotel. You are absolutely correct to expect a high level of quality, service and customer care when visiting The St David's Hotel, where we endeavour to ensure that all our guests enjoy the comfort of the hotel’s unique and individual service, and quite clearly certain elements did not meet your expectations on this occasion. In reviewing your individual comments then I can respond accordingly. 1. The first instance that I am aware of the key cards cancelling out. They are programmed for the duration of the stay and having discussed with the team, they are not aware of the issue either and having checked the machines and the cards then it would appear to be a one off instant if you state that it was not impacted by another device. I am sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused you. 2. At the commencement of each spring, we have a rolling programme to bring the balconies back to a standard as during the winter months, they are impacted by the weather and the proximity to the sea. 3. I have discussed your comments with the Executive Housekeeper and can only offer our apologies for the shortcomings in the servicing of the bedrooms. This is being addressed with the team to ensure that this is an isolated experience. 4. We have a programme of window cleaning, and it is unfortunate that you stated during the in between times of cleans. The recent weather has also had an impact both the presentation of the windows and the ability of the abseilers to undertake the task safely. We are looking at a programme of improvements to the
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

Lovely hotel and ideal location in the bay

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Air conditioning not working in hotel room did complain, staff said they would send someone to look at it no one turned up
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by The Guest Relations Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you due to the lack of air conditioning and I apologise that no action was taken to fix it whilst you were here. I do hope you will not be deterred from visiting the hotel in the future. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal location

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Staff were excellent and location Will be going back to this Hotel .Loved Cardiff and this Hotel .
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by The Guest Relations Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you found the hotel and the staff to your liking and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on another occasion. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Beautiful well appointed rooms with balconies and top rate facilities. I was, however, disappointed by the breakfast, which seemed of poor quality when compared with the facilities. Some better bread would go a long way to improving my review. Unfortunately I wasn't there long enough to experience the spa facilities or any other meals. Getting there from the airport was challenging. Perhaps the hotel could consider a shuttle service for guests arriving at Cardiff airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by The Guest Relations Team, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you for your review. Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointment at breakfast, your comments will be shared with the Executive Chef and we do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel on a future occasion. Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Helpful staff and exceptional service, the location is great. The room had a brilliant view and was very clean. Great attention to detail and I would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by The Guest Relations Team, Hotel Management
Dear Chris Thank you for your review. We are delighted that the hotel met your expectations and I do hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the St David's Hote. Kind regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ST Davids

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Lovely views
Cons: communication from staff
Location: Great
Nice hotel, but not enough information on arrival, charges vary if you don't pre-book all you want, which is difficult if you never been to hotel before. £15.00 fee for hotel car park (thought it was free), Also breakfast prices differ
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

Very expensive and certainly not five star!!

Posted Dec 30, 2016
We stayed between xmas and new year, expecting a special luxurious stay following our friends wedding in Cardiff. The hotel was a complete disappointment; a very basic room, boring and dated decor, old fashioned bathroom. No robes in room. No mini bar. Fail to see why the hotel is 5 stars, the use of a spa does not justify a 5 star rating! Compared to other 4 and 5 star hotels we have stayed in this is well below par. Would be happy to stay there at 3 star prices but £200 for the basic room with no breakfast in Wales is ridiculous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salisbury

Not too far from the centre but not walkable.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: It was peaceful and the staff were all very polite and very helpful.
The hotel is pleasing to the eye on approach and my room overlooked the Bristol Channel, with a small balcony which would be lovely in the summer. I spent a lot on taxi fares to and from the centre and have stayed in similarly lovely hotels, who provide a courtesy taxi into the city centre and this is the only improvement that I would suggest could be considered. That said, the Reception ordered the taxis and they were incredibly prompt and well organised. Around £5-£5.50 to the shopping district.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to relax with very friendly staff.