Ratings based on 861 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Basic for a 5 star hotel

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Didn't feel like 5 star quality. Room was a bit shabby, marked carpets, scratches on furniture, worn edges to chairs etc. Looks like a 2 or 3 star r
Cons: Update the shabby rooms
Location: N/a
Didn't feel like 5 star quality. Room was a bit shabby, marked carpets, scratches on furniture, worn edges to chairs etc. Looks like a 2 or 3 star room. Only reason the hotel is a 5 star is probable due to the pool and gym. I don't mind staying there for the pool, but the room is just basic no frills. And that's ok for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
It was a wonderful and relaxing stay. Very clean room and comfortable, too.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Guest relations, Hotel Management
Dear Reviewer Thank you for your review and rating following your recent stay at St David's Hotel & Spa. We are delighted that you had a relaxing stay and do hope it is not too long before we welcome you back. Kind regards - The Guest Relations Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Light and airy and plenty of space. In good location easy to find and very comfortable stay. Bedroom great and had everything we wanted.
Cons: Car park charge a disgrace and something should be done about this.
Location: Cardiff bay everything close at hand.
Excellent stay and great location with wonderful views.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Reviewer Thank you for your feedback folloring your recent stay with us.We are delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The parking the £15 charge is applied to overnight guests to ensure parity for all guests, due to the limited amount of parking spaces we have to offer. If we were to offer complimentary or discounted parking to residents, or even include it in the room rate, it would penalise guests that are unable to get into our car park, and would therefore have to pay for parking in the public car park next door. This is why the parking charges mirror the overnight charges of the public car park. This car parking charge is also lower than many of our city centre 4* competitors. Kind regards - The Guest Relations Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

It is a beautiful hotel closer to the bay

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Facilties.
Cons: Treatment to the guest by the staff.
It was a good experience except one of the head waiters. One of the Head Waiters at the Restaurant was rude and insulted me two times. The Head Waiters treated me like that I was having my breakfast free of charge.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Sunil Thank you for your review and rating. Please accept our sincere apologies for the rudeness from a member of our team, we would like to assure you that your comments have been passed to the Restaurant manager for his review tand action and we do hope you will not be deterred from visiting us again in the light of this experience. Kind regards - The Guest Relations Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Hotel right on Cardiff Bay

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Hotel and staff were absolutely wonderful. Had a great customer experience and everything is within walking distance. It was nice to stay somewhere just close enough to the City Center to walk to but also get to enjoy the relaxing pace of the Bay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by The Guest Relations Team, Hotel Management
Dear Reviewer Thank you for your review and your rating we are delighted that the location of the hotel was good for you and that you had a relaxing stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards - The Guest Relations Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location. Fantastic view.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Great location for Cardiff Bay and Millenium Centre. Fantastic view from balcony. Outside of hotel could do with a good clean but inside still quite nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by The Guest Relations Team, Hotel Management
Dear Rob Thank you for your review and your rating and we do hope you will come and stay again in the very near future. Kind regards - The Guest Relations Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous views, shame about the service

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Lovely hotel room with balcony overlooking the harbour. Glass on balcony was filthy and no seating. Husband went to buy coffees on Sunday morning and wasn't acknowledged let alone served- had to go to Costas! Went to spa and had trouble getting key out of locker- receptionist was rude and unhelpful; by the time she came to help i had missed my treatment slot and felt stressed about the whole situation. Hotel room and bathroom were clean, apart from a dusty armchair. Hotel is in a fantastic position- lots of lovely restaurants and easy to explore all attractions round the bay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by The Guest Relations Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and your rating. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortfall in cleanliness and service standards you encountered during your recent visit, your feedback has been shared with the relevant departments for their review and action. Kind regards - The Guest Relations Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Very relaxing. Polite staff. Great location for a relaxing couple break.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Guest Relation Team, Hotel Management
Good afternoon Thank you for your rating and we are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. Kind regards - the Guest Relations Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Incredible that this hotel still claims a 5 star

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: The concierge and the night staff at the front desk. Absolutely nothing else was positive.
Cons: I'd be happy to speak to you at length. My disappointment with this hotel was profound. The Park Plaza, Hilton and the Radisson Blu are leagues better
Location: It is on the bay. There are good bars and restaurants nearby. But don't eat at the hotel restaurant. The service is terrible.
I will send a more detailed review to the hotel, but honestly, this place is a disgrace. So many components were absolutely terrible. Communication, maintenance, management, safety were all shockingly lacking. Service to the rooms was terrible. I stayed in a suite and couldn't get shampoo delivered to my room. The room keys would charge out after one use. The right elevator was clearly dangerous, so much so that the glass panels writhing in were fractured. The wait staff with the exception of the Polish guys simply has never been trained. The balcony (I was in room 601 - a nice suite) was horrible. The beds were terrible. Two single beds shoved together is worthy of a Holiday Inn Express, not of the supposedly best hotel in Wales. Badly maintained, moss on the surfaces, windows clearly hadn't been cleaned in many years. The concierge was a delight and was soldiering on, as was the nighttime staff. I have photographs of much of this. I'm in the hotel business in the US and I'm very understanding but want to be constructive. This hotel sticks in my mind as one of the worst that I have experienced in my life. The management and attitude of this hotel needs a massive shake-up. The hotel looks amazing from the atrium, but look behind the facade and you will see a sorry excuse for a 5 star hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Hissey, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to read your comments and do appreciate that apologies after the event do little to make amends, however, I trust that you will accept mine and that of the team here at The St. David's Hotel. You are absolutely correct to expect a high level of quality, service and customer care when visiting The St David's Hotel, where we endeavour to ensure that all our guests enjoy the comfort of the hotel’s unique and individual service, and quite clearly certain elements did not meet your expectations on this occasion. In reviewing your individual comments then I can respond accordingly. 1. The first instance that I am aware of the key cards cancelling out. They are programmed for the duration of the stay and having discussed with the team, they are not aware of the issue either and having checked the machines and the cards then it would appear to be a one off instant if you state that it was not impacted by another device. I am sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused you. 2. At the commencement of each spring, we have a rolling programme to bring the balconies back to a standard as during the winter months, they are impacted by the weather and the proximity to the sea. 3. I have discussed your comments with the Executive Housekeeper and can only offer our apologies for the shortcomings in the servicing of the bedrooms. This is being addressed with the team to ensure that this is an isolated experience. 4. We have a programme of window cleaning, and it is unfortunate that you stated during the in between times of cleans. The recent weather has also had an impact both the presentation of the windows and the ability of the abseilers to undertake the task safely. We are looking at a programme of improvements to the
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

Lovely hotel and ideal location in the bay

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Air conditioning not working in hotel room did complain, staff said they would send someone to look at it no one turned up
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by The Guest Relations Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you due to the lack of air conditioning and I apologise that no action was taken to fix it whilst you were here. I do hope you will not be deterred from visiting the hotel in the future. Kind regards