Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Very nice but not the best

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: The pool and whirlpool area and the easy access to these facilities for hotel guests.
Cons: It could do with a little spruce up, its clean but there's chipped doors, cracked windows, scuffed carpets etc all over the place.
Location: Shopping in Cardiff is excellent. Penarth pier is fun but only for 30 minutes!
Had a pleasant stay here this weekend just passed. Finding the hotel and parking was a doddle. The room was larger than double rooms normally are with a spacious bathroom. It was all clean but very unremarkable. And there were no apples as seen in all the pictures! We had a couple of teething troubles, room cards wouldn't work, no cold water in the room but all sorted out very quickly for us. The pool and whirlpool are lovely but make sure you look up the timetables first, we got stuck in the middle of some childrens swim class. We didn't try the grill but the bar area was great. Very relaxed, nice atmosphere and very reasonable food prices for a 4 star hotel. Vale - I'd recommend expanding the menu a bit, we would have eaten there a second night if not for the limited menu. There does also need to be a menu key although guessing the random symbols does provide some entertainment. We're still not sure why a margarita pizza isn't suitable for vegetarians though! Overall, yes i'd go back and I would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfection

Posted Jan 3, 2016
It was perfection, staff were fab and helpful, facilities were lovely, food was lovely wish I could have stayed longer!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Fantastic hotel and facilities.

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Pros: Location, scenery, rooms, leisure facilities, free wifi, and being the home of the Welsh Rugby team during the Wold Cup who were all very obliging.
Cons: I realise that many hotels in UK do not provide fridges in rooms, but as we were travelling we had some food which needed a fridge.
Location: Golf, Rugby Union, Dr Who and Torchwood attractions, river boats and Cardiff Bay tours.
Great pool spa and sauna facilities. Spa overlooks the sporting facilities. I believe the gym was well equipped also. Room was very comfortable and all previous requests via email for over 12 months prior were ably handled mainly by Jack Saunders. Make sure you have proper directions to get to the hotel. We ended up entering via a one lane road. Not good for Australians. A little disappointed in the concierge service, which seemed unable to provide information on Doctor Who and Torchwood attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent resort hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: nice ambiance to make you feel comfortable in the large spacious lobby.
Cons: not much, lovely hotel. Only room for improvement is the bar and cafe area is not to same standard as rest of hotel.
Location: Watched the rugby team training!
This is a great place to stay, with everything you need. The room was a good size with a lovely large comfortable bed and plenty of space and facilities. Health spa is very good and has all you need to keep fit and relax. Clearly aimed at golfers but still has plenty of facilities for the non golfer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Easy access from M4 and a great place to stay

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: friendly staff and great accomodation
Had an operation booked in nearby hospital with an early start so this was perfect. And despite normal pre- op anxieties I was able to relax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pavan from Leyland

Nice hotel, great location, serene.

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Comfort
Location: Brecon Beacons, beach,...
Great time for a first timer in the region. we visited Brecon beacons mainly the water falls country, mountain rail and the Llanghorse lake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Teresa from Worcester

Vale Resort

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: NIce gym and pool facilities> Food in restaurant was excellent
Cons: Rooms need a lick of paint -
Location: Easy access to M4
Booked superior room, advised this is their standard room. A little disappointed as the room was poorly finished in terms of fixtures and fitting and looked a bit tired
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Swansea

Great hotel, excellent facilities and superb staff

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Staff really went the extra mile to make us feel welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good choice for the business traveller

Posted Sep 14, 2012
Very nice hotel. Room was good. Room service was slow but food was good. A good WiFi connection in my room which I was told would be charged at £10 for 8 hours but when I checked out it was never mentioned so I didn't end up paying. A very large gym. Overall, very good for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vee from London, UK

Great hotel for mix of sport, relaxation & comfort

Posted Aug 3, 2012
Pros: Helpful staff and spacious rooms. Great breakfast buffet.
Cons: Pillows
Location: Very reasonably-priced cab ride from Cardiff, yet in a quiet location in a lovely setting.
Staff were friendly, attentive and helpful; nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were comfortable and extremely well-equiped with good attention to detail (eg a dressing table mirror with good hair dryer so it was just like getting ready at home). Great breakfast selection.