Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Brrrrilliant hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Staff, Food, room size, shower and bathroom facilities, cleanliness, service, price
Cons: Just slightly less crispy (burnt) pastries and much much warmer rooms.
Location: A short throw from Cardiff and great facilities and things to do on site too
We attended a wedding reception at the Vale and stayed one night. The staff were fantastic and helpful, the food was all really great (except the pastries at breakfast were burnt but that's nothing when compared with how fantastic the rest of the meals were). The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel has beautiful views and plenty of the rooms look out over these. My only complaint is, it was so cold. I was suddenly blasted with cold air from the air conditioning half way through the wedding meal and over night in our room we were freezing. There didn't seem to be any way of altering this. However, the warm bedding kept us happy but getting out of the shower or out of bed during the night it was too cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdare

Stayed for my works Christmas Party

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: It has very good facilities.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: It is in the middle of nowhere. Not much is close by
Great room, great food, great Hotel. No use of the facilities as I was on my works Christmas Party
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Giggleswick

Excellent Sport/spa resort

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Cons: I think the hotel should provide a walking route around the grounds for non playing golf visitors.
Lovely 2 night break here, hotel, grounds and facilities very well maintained. Vale Grill serves lovely food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
We would stay again. The setting am was lovely, the staff very friendly and the room spacious. Bathroom was oarticularly nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really nice hotel great location for Royal mint

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Excellent stay at this hotel we had a free upgrade as it was my fiancés birthday with free chocolates and a lovely card
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford

Excellent stay

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: The friendliness of staff, the size and comfort of the room and parking facilities.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location was great but due to our short stay we did not investigate things to do nearby.
We were made very welcome from the moment we walked through the door. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very spacious , the beds were very comfortable and the toiletries were of high quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south wales

Stop over

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Very nice place to relax,quiet,comfy rooms. All staff friendly and polite and helpful.really enjoyed ourselves and can not wait to go back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Lovely grounds and building

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: The comfortable bed
Cons: See above.
This was a quick overnight - really just somewhere to sleep after a busy day nearby. I got a good price in what probably is an expensive hotel otherwise. The bed was supremely comfortable and fits with the upmarket image. The rest was mainly disappointing. I've reported this to management, but included things like a broken chair at the work table - meaning a wobbly leg nearly caused me to land on the floor. The light at that table was broken too. The air-con didn't work and the WiFi was feeble. All in all it looked the part but simply wasn't. We didn't get a chance to explore all the other facilities. This review has already been independently submitted to Trip Advisor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful country hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Stayed one night and was very impressed. Lovely big rooms, comfy beds, we had a great view of the golf course. The gym and pool facilities are great too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Albans

A mixed bag

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Arrived late on a Tuesday night and reception staff were very helpful. The bar staff less so, though. Waited an age for drinks to be delivered to our table, even after chasing. The bar and grill areas are looking tired and not well looked after, although the bar food and breakfast buffet were fine. The 2nd floor room was surprisingly big, and very clean. But I banged my head more than once on the weird ceiling arrangement! Altogether a strange place. Maybe if we'd been there to play golf as opposed to using it as an overnight stopover it would have felt more like value for money.