Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Annemarie

Lovely but c-o-l-d!!!!

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
A lovely old castle, BUT as we were there in the middle of winter on a very glacial night, I'd SO looked forward to being able to enjoy a glass of wine in front of a blazing open fire - as we've done in château hotels in France.But no such luck! Not a single fireplace in the entire place -rather strange for a château. It was very cold indeed, with a dreadful draft in the courtyard and bar. We thought it was overpriced in view of this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

Affordable Parador close to Montserrat

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: The period style, it really was like staying in a castle from centuries ago and the price was reasonable.
Cons: I cannot think of anything to improve on this experience. Would definately go again.
Location: The location is not so great for looking at other interesting attractions, other than Montserrat and the Basella motorcycle museum.
The Parador Cardona is an ancient castle dating back to the 900's, with character to match. Car parking is available for a few cars at the very top of the cobbled drive way, keep going under the arched entrance way to your left and around the very tight, uphill hairpin bend. Rooms are very spacious for Spain, nicely appointed with period decor with stunning views across the country side. The corridors hold interesting art works, period artefacts and the history of the castle. Breakfast was a little pricey but looked like a lot of food to cater for most people. Dinner was very good, with a good selection of well prepared meals and efficient staff. If you are looking for a Parador accommodation experience then this will satisfy that desire, it was thoroughly enchanting to stay in this hotel. Two or three nights would be fine, any longer may detract from the charm as there is not a lot to do in the surrounding area for most tourists.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Magical

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Parador de Cardona takes you to a time of lords and dames, and you feel as one of them. It has a wondrous feel. It is breath taking. The staff, specially Carlos at the reception, is very professional and kind. The restaurant had good quality food, I recommend the goat cheese salad. The 7th floor has fantastic views.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Concept, Needs Tweaking.

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
The maitre d' was impatient and rude. When we asked for water and wine while we reviewed the menu, he refused, telling us we had to order our complete meal and drinks at the same time, and right away. He was so insistent that we all tried to accommodate his request, even though we had just gotten our menus. Then when one of our table made the mistake of trying to order dessert also, He cut her off and said "Not now! You order dessert after the meal!", and walked away. I should add that this was not a case of a language barrier, as we speak Spanish. This was just someone with an irritated, unfriendly behavior. I should add, however, that the other server ( a young woman with short, dark hair) was delightful and a very hard worker. She deserves a promotion! Also, the concierge desk staff were all very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
If youike history this is the place to go. Driving or walking up that hill is not for everybody. A place to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Exquisite! Location, staff, food. All amazing and wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, great views

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Location, cafe, staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: great for exploring the local area
Excellent hotel, pleasant and friendly staff. Spectacular views and stunning medieval frescoes in the adjoining chapel and keep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience. Food surprisingly high quality!!

Posted Jul 20, 2016
The castle has a lot of history. Service is wonderful and food is incredible- both the elegant dinner and the buffet breakfast.