Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Deepak

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was good but faced issue going to and fro from city center/railway station as there is bus number 4 which runs and it was always late.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Awful - Extremely Rude Staff

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Grounds, room was fine, near university
Cons: Staff, attitude towards customers, no heating (we were told it is against the law in October), Wifi (had to stand in corner of room to access)
Location: Location is great for university, but a bit far from town to walk but bus will take you into town (not too frequent but ok).
Our service here was terrible. Firstly I was asked to stay in a smaller room to the one I booked for the first night, then the next morning after packing up and checking out of this room, I was told I couldn’t go into my booked room because people were sleeping in it (even though I had booked it from the night before). I then went to work (the reason I came to Florence) but was emailed to come back from work to get my room keys otherwise staff would go out and I wouldn't be able to access my room. I was told we could not use the heating (even though it was freezing cold in the room) because it was against the law. Two staff burst into our room the next morning when we were changing without knocking – they said they thought we were out. We were spoken to extremely rudely when we asked/complained about anything. In fact, at check-out they were extremely angry, practically shouting at us, telling us we must not know how to use keys properly or work the heater. They threatened to call the police when we asked to pay for the cheaper, smaller room for the first night rather than the apartment that we had paid for. The only thing they offered was a free breakfast on one morning (the owner made a point of telling me to include this in the review as she was worrried about our negative review), but this didn’t cover the difference in price between the two rooms, and nowhere near made up for the bad service, rudeness and insulting language. I would highly recommend not staying here.
1 out of 5
by Pasquale from California

Disappointing

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
It was disappointing, not like the photos on the web site. The outdoor lacked enough lounge chairs and the only two were dirty. If the landscaping on the property had been done properly it would have been a very attractive garden. Our room was dark and noisy because was facing the street on the ground level, the small shower had no place to put the soap and the soap was really tiny. The breakfast was below average. We needed five different keys to move around the property, to open two gates and three doors, not fun to carry around sightseeing and shopping. Overall inconvenient and not restful as it looked on the photos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Beautiful and authentic Italian welcoming hotel.

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Traveling with a 4 year old was pleasurable to do at this hotel. Beautiful place and lovely staff
5 out of 5
by Leslie from Vermont

Tuscany escape close to Florence opportunities

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
We chose this getaway B&B so that we could enjoy the busy tourism in Florence during the day/night but the peaceful beauty of the area when we were not out and about. This location is about 15 minutes by bus from Florence but the bus is only a dollar (or 1.2 Euro per trip). The bus runs every 10 minutes and is only a 2 minute walk to the bus stop. The room was great with air conditioning which was important since it was 100 degrees there all week. We chose the lower priced room in the additional building which did not get the wifi, but we just walked next door to the lobby or garden or breakfast area to get it, which was easy to do. At breakfast we were greeted by a warm croissant and fresh espresso along with tables of breads, eggs, jams, meats, cheeses and sweet cakes. The family lives on property so we also met Meggie their friendly dog. The back yard is filled with olive, lemon, fig, and pomegranate trees as well as bushes of sage and bay leaves. There is a whirlpool bath out there too in an ancient fountain. They serve dinner in the garden 4 nights a week, but we did not try it. We walked to local establishments 5 minutes away and were very impressed. They were very helpful with helping out getting reservations for restaurants and museums. I would definitely go back.
2 out of 5
by William from Townsville Australia

Lovely villa with a lot of limitations

Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
The description for the hotel is misleading. There are not any balconies and the swimming pool is actually a fountain with limited room for swimming. The villa is beautiful but the gardens needed tending and compared to the photographs and description was disappointing. The villa is itchiness you reach of public transport into Florence which runs from early morning until after midnight but if you do not want to travel into Florence there are no other options for dinner etc, The villa offers dinner on some evenings but it is a set menu which wasn't explained and didn't cater for people who do not eat meat.
3 out of 5
by Margaret from Kentucky

Outside of Central Florence

Posted Jun 29, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is a bit far from the city center where we did all our activities. Not a lot around in the way of restaurants. There was a bus stop close to the hotel and that is how we got to the city center. It took about thirty minutes to get into the heart of Florence. The breakfast was great, served buffet style. The staff member who checked us in was a bit rude about the city tax. Frustrating way to end the stay. The hotel room was very large and the grounds were nice. However, the clean hotel room and good breakfast were not worth the amount of money we paid to stay here.
3 out of 5
by karen from NY

Florence frustration

Posted Apr 2, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was difficult to find for us with the gps. Don't pay attention to the numbers on the street, keeping going past where the gps tells you to stop and at the end of the wall on the right, look over your shoulder! To find # 12. Ugh. This added to our frustration after a long day of driving. To catch the bus, you need to walk down the hill about 10 minutes, which is not a big deal for me, but for my father with mobility issues, it was very difficult. Honestly, the whole stay was a struggle, it was frustrating to locate, the stairs were steep, the hotel was farther away from transportation then I expected, and it meant we had to drive into Florence, which was an enormous mistake. The hotel was ok, the owner was helpful, but for my situation, I was sorry I made this selection.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rachel from Cypress, TX

Quaint hotel near city center

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel definitely has a B & B feel to it. It is conveniently located 10 minutes by bus or taxi to the city center. The building is very old, but quaint. The staff are extremely helpful and breakfast was very good. We were only there for one night, but would have gladly stayed longer.