Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but...

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The facility is pretty nice. Rooms are good.
Cons: Wifi coverage inside the room. Beach and pool towel availability.
Location: Visit Manzanillo Beach, Cocles or Punta Uva. Tamara restaurant in Puerto Viejo is a must. Try Cahuita National Park; wonderful beach
No TV inside the room. Wifi coverage in our room was poor; I had to get outside the room to connect to wifi network. One thing that is displeasing in a hotel in front of the beach is that they don't provide beach or pool towels and they direct you to purchase some at the souvenir store. My experience in general was good however I feel the hotel is a bit overpriced given the negative facts I just highlighted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Charming place!

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Amazing place surrounded by nature...! Bungalows are really nice and cozy.... my only observation is to offer different breakfast options as every day is the same.... if you stay for more than a day you get bored about the same food....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Posted Dec 19, 2016
This is an excellent place to stay in Puerto Viejo. Each member of the staff is very friendly and helpful. An incredible beach right across the street, and only a few minutes south of town make for an ideal location. We spotted monkeys, tucans, humming birds, lizards, crabs, frogs, and a sloth without leaving the property. Although the best experiences are outside the main gate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
We were greeted with a cool fruit drink and cool towel which was a perfect way to start our stay after traveling. The staff was extremely accommodating. We arrived late, yet they turned on the pool lights and allowed us additional time in the restaurant and bar. The town is lovely with a typical Caribbean laid back feel. We had an early morning shuttle and they even prepared a boxed breakfast for us because the buffet breakfast was not set up that early. Wow, you don't get that kind of service often. Overall, I would highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Beautiful jungle location

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Idyllic setting nestled on edge of rainforest just across the street from the beach and a 10 min bicycle ride from Puerto Viejo. Beautiful landscaping with pool - most rooms cabins/bungalows. Simple tasteful natural decor, open dining/lobby/bar. Staff were wonderful - Expedia had screwed up our reservation but the management and staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Good food, great value and child friendly - plenty of wildlife on site plus ping pong, pool table.
4 out of 5
by Joel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Upper Middle Class Family "Resort" -- Not Luxury

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: The tree frogs near the pool.
Location: This hotel isn't really walking distance from town, you need a bicycle or car if you want to do the trek more than once per day.
We were a bit surprised given how Hotel Cariblue markets itself to find that rather than having a fancy "resort with spa" sort of feel, it was actually a magnet for upper middle class Costa Rican and American families: there were tons of kids here. Not saying this is a bad thing, but if you're hoping for a romantic retreat or a luxury resort just outside of Puerto Viejo - this isn't it. If you're looking for easy bicycle and motorscooter rentals, large comfortable rooms, a very kid friendly set of pools (8" deep / 2' deep / 4.5' deep) then this is your place. We never once saw the swim-up-bar staffed in the three days we were there: the pool is for the kids. Also, there's tons of wildlife on site, we saw: red-eyed tree frogs, green poison dart frogs (only dangerous if you eat them), lots of lizards and geckos, and a sloth went walking across the property!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Cons: Restaurant absolutely not worth the price, skip it. Hotel itself was fine.
Nice rooms, common areas, set up. Lousy restaurant.
1 out of 5
by maritza from Houston, Texas

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
First of all it was a little over price for the accomodation we got. the Bathroom was smelly and roaches were all over the place. The curtain in the room need to be update, you could see from the out side to the room due to the curtain been so dingy and old. not impress what so ever, will not stay there another time. will tell friend about it also, so they will not be surprise.most definatelly needs more maintenance.
5 out of 5
by LUIS

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels