Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Charming place!

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Amazing place surrounded by nature...! Bungalows are really nice and cozy.... my only observation is to offer different breakfast options as every day is the same.... if you stay for more than a day you get bored about the same food....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Posted Dec 19, 2016
This is an excellent place to stay in Puerto Viejo. Each member of the staff is very friendly and helpful. An incredible beach right across the street, and only a few minutes south of town make for an ideal location. We spotted monkeys, tucans, humming birds, lizards, crabs, frogs, and a sloth without leaving the property. Although the best experiences are outside the main gate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Beautiful jungle location

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Idyllic setting nestled on edge of rainforest just across the street from the beach and a 10 min bicycle ride from Puerto Viejo. Beautiful landscaping with pool - most rooms cabins/bungalows. Simple tasteful natural decor, open dining/lobby/bar. Staff were wonderful - Expedia had screwed up our reservation but the management and staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Good food, great value and child friendly - plenty of wildlife on site plus ping pong, pool table.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Upper Middle Class Family "Resort" -- Not Luxury

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: The tree frogs near the pool.
Location: This hotel isn't really walking distance from town, you need a bicycle or car if you want to do the trek more than once per day.
We were a bit surprised given how Hotel Cariblue markets itself to find that rather than having a fancy "resort with spa" sort of feel, it was actually a magnet for upper middle class Costa Rican and American families: there were tons of kids here. Not saying this is a bad thing, but if you're hoping for a romantic retreat or a luxury resort just outside of Puerto Viejo - this isn't it. If you're looking for easy bicycle and motorscooter rentals, large comfortable rooms, a very kid friendly set of pools (8" deep / 2' deep / 4.5' deep) then this is your place. We never once saw the swim-up-bar staffed in the three days we were there: the pool is for the kids. Also, there's tons of wildlife on site, we saw: red-eyed tree frogs, green poison dart frogs (only dangerous if you eat them), lots of lizards and geckos, and a sloth went walking across the property!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Cons: Restaurant absolutely not worth the price, skip it. Hotel itself was fine.
Nice rooms, common areas, set up. Lousy restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Hotel was conveniently located across the street from one of Costa Rica's beaches. It was also within a 5-10 minute drive into Puerto Viejo. Hotel offered complimentary breakfast. Lunch and dinner were served. It took me a while to figure out how to use the AC- once it worked the room temperature was perfect. The floors are a bit slippery considering my feet were always wet. Found a few bugs in the bathroom but nothing serious. I'm just not a fan of bugs. The staff came to clean daily- she was very nice. Staff rarely picked up the phone from the receptionist desk so that was annoying but when you did reach them they will fulfill your request. I wished the hotel displayed more of their services like tours and massages. I had to travel to hotel banana azul to inquire about their trips because no one was ever tabling to sell you any of the tours. The price was decent the room was decent and staff was awesome overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from quebec, canada

Very Nice great location

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: The pools could use refreshing and cleaning
Location: The near by cougar animal shelter is fantatic.
We chose this hotel as it was close to the hot beach, but the room deluxe had no closet, no mini fridge, no coffee machine, so we upgraded for a studio, and That Was great. Overall, very Good choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice close to the beach. Awesome pool and staff

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Good experience and staff really know how to make you feel special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great customer service. Food great, very clean

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: Service and cleanness
Cons: Have the hotel personnel bring your luggage to your room and back to the car
Location: Location great, beach close, restaurants and stores close to the hotel
We had a great experience, I definitely will come back again and recommend to others
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from COSTARICA

CARIBEAN PARADISE

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: ALL OF IT
Cons: A PLACE TO DO CONFERENCE AN REUNIONS, IT DOES HAVE
Location: VERY CLOSE TO THE TOWN AND TO THE BEACH
BEUTIFUL HOTEL,EXELENT STAFF, NICE POOL, REALLY NICE BREAKFAST.