Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was almost a 5

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: All the animals and plants!
Location: So many cool activities close by - Jaguar rescue center, beach across the street, Alice's Ice cream was delicious, good restaurants
It was in the jungle so I don't expect posh, but it was clean and the surroundings were gorgeous. My toilet wouldn't flush a couple times but was fixed right away and 2 mornings I woke up to no water which was again fixed right away. The people running it and working there were super nice and helpful. No a/c if that's something you need. It was cool enough in the evening that it didn't affect my sleep which is all I care about. If you end up next to loud people you will hear everything which at 2am kinda sucked but otherwise didn't bother me.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just excellent!

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Just excellent!
5 out of 5
by linda from San Francisco

Peaceful and relaxing

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful place surrounded by jungle close to beautiful beaches. Highly recommend
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful despite poor Wi-Fi coverage and water shortages beyond the hotel's control. Fortunately we had a room in a 3 room cabin where either side of us was unoccupied, otherwise privacy could have been compromised. Howler monkeys are VERY loud.... Staff extermely helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Home away from home in paradise

Posted Mar 20, 2016
La Kukula Lodge left me giving hugs to the staff and owners. It is warm and welcoming. I think the best part of La Kukula was the location. It is about a 7 minute drive from downtown Puerto Viejo, steps to essentially a private beach, a 3 minute drive from Cocles beach, which is terrific for surf lessons. But at the end of the day you get to go back to your room at La Kukula in a rainforest setting away from party noise and welcomed by the sounds of the local wildlife. There is not air conditioning, however, my boyfriend and I actually ended up putting our thicker fleece blanket on after the first night. With the fan on the night chills the room to where it is a pleasant night's sleep. I would recommend this time and time again. I can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Liked the natural habitat surrounding the hotel and the fact that it is a little isolated from the main city but close enough to visit it.
Location: Close to beaches, tour locations and nature parks.
Being surrounded by nature was an incredible experience and the fact that the hotel is a little isolated from the main street and bigger cites made our stay relaxing yet full of sightseeing and tour possibilites.
3 out of 5
by robert from dallas

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
The room was comfortable. The shower was great.Breakfast each morning was very good with great fresh fruit, eggs in some form (fried, scrambled, omelette) and if desired a vegetarian breakfast. Of course the hotel is surrounded by jungle with paths to the various accommodations. If you have a large enough group, I would recommend the house with its own pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca

Great jungle lodge, great hosts

Posted May 27, 2015
I stayed here with my husband and one of our favorite parts about visiting Costa Rica was this lodge. The hosts prepared a great wholesome breakfast for us every morning and had great recommendations about restaurants and places to visit while in Puerto Viejo. if you're looking for a laid back, unique place to stay, this lodge is really great. Thank you Pepo and crew <3
5 out of 5
by Peter David from Grecia, Alajuela, CR and Wisconsin, USA

Sleep comfortably in the Jungle!

Posted May 21, 2015 on Hotels
La Kukula Lodge provided us a fabulous jungle experience, great value!Upon arrival, we wondered if the ceiling fan would be sufficient for a comfortable sleep with no a/c. Little could we have imagined how cool and spectacular it would be when the night-time rain fell, perfect sleeping weather with the sounds of the jungle all about, yet a feeling of absolute security within the well-built rustic cabins. The rain-like shower, with great water pressure, hot water, and maybe the softest water we've ever felt was a great touch, along with the perfect breakfast included in the very reasonable room rate.Pleasantly served, well-balanced, just enough, not too much. And no rush. Conveniently close to Puerto Viejo, but just far enough down the road to experience unspoiled nature. A wonderful getaway we intend to repeat. Can't get over the sound of the "Holler" monkeys, they sound like lions roaring, no exaggeration.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Wonderful stay at La Kukula Lodge

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: See above Good internet connection.
Cons: The hotel was difficult to find at night. Perhaps there could be better signs.
Location: The hotel is surrounded by lush jungle growth. Everything is green and there were many beautiful flowers. We visited the Jaguar Rescue Center.
We arrived about 9 pm and were greeted by Devan who checked us in and then prepared our dinner. The Rendon and fried red snapper was delicious. Breakfast was included and the fruit bowl with mango, papaya, pineapple and watermelon was beautifully presented and delicious. Breakfast entrees included an omelet, open faced avocado, tomato and bacon sandwich, pancakes or eggs cooked to order. The owners were friendly and helpful in recommending restaurants, sites to visit as well as showing us the best way to return to San Jose. I loved the experience of staying in an eco jungle hotel with no air conditioning, and hearing the sounds of the jungle (birds and monkeys) and the rain that fell heavily at times. I highly recommend this hotel.