Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by massimo

Good small b&b

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
This b&b is very well designed and in a modern Caribbean style. The first floor where you have breakfast (good one despite I would have expected little bit more) is great with a nice view in the forest . If you have the room under the breakfast room it could be then very noisy . Rooms are nice and clean, only too small and dark. Owners Chad and Anna are great person and they help you on everything you need
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yachats, OR

Beautiful B&B close to everything!

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: It is small (4 rooms), great nightly rate, close to the beach and quiet.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: Beach is 5 minutes away (walking), town is a short bike ride or taxi ride with lots of shopping and restaurants.
The new inkeepers were very welcoming and able to answer all questions I had about getting around, how to get to the beach, calling a taxi when I needed it, and preparing a nice breakfast every morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
It was our first time visitin Costa Rica. The staff were fantastic and made you feel right at home! The place is clean and beautiful. The staff are there for you when you need them whether they are there or not. They provide excellent recommendations for activities to do and placed to go. They also have their own hiking tour to a waterfall and provide lunch. We couldn't do it because it was raining. But on out next visit we will definitely be hiking to the waterfall! I highly recommend d staying at Physis!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Durham

What a lovely little B&B

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
Great breakfast - great hosts - what a lovely cosy B&B, definitely recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oasis

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
We had a nice stay. Chad and Anna were great hosts. We arrived a bit early and we had a welcome drink (delicious) with them and they gave us a lot of information about the area and things to do. Anna was very helpful in making some reservations for a cooking class despite the fact that I had limited availability when trying to make the arrangements. Both were super helpful in giving recommendations, and making reservations during our stay. I was really impressed at how they were always available when we needed them, but never intrusive. There are only a few rooms here, so it feels very secluded and it is just a very relaxing, well maintained space. During our time in this area we saw a lot of other places we could have stayed, but none of them were as appealing as Physis. I highly recommend it and will stay there again if I'm in the area. The room we stayed in (Sol) has an outdoor shower. It should be noted that this is in a common area that can be semi closed off. It is certainly appealing after a hot day at the beach, but if you are extra shy you may want another room for more privacy.
5 out of 5
by Natasha from San Francisco, CA

Great stay!

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
The couples that works there were incredibly hospital, providing us with amazing recommendations for how to spend our short trip. They gave us honest opinions on restaurants and things to do. We used their bikes one morning to catch the sunrise on the beautiful beach. The location is great for accessibility to the beaches.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Natasha! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

This is the best hotel in Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Amazing service, the rooms are decorated beautifully and are clean, wifi, amazing breakfast, amazing drinks and cocktails!
Location: The Cocles beach is a 10 minute walk fro Physis, and with a 5 minute drive you can be in the Puerto Viejo city where there are wonderful restaurants!
Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast was honestly one of the greatest parts of my trip to Puerto Viejo! The owners, Chad and Anna are the sweetest couple that truly care about their guests, and will adjust to their guests' preferences and likes/dislikes! They were constantly asking how they can make our experience greater, and were actively pursuing our happiness and pleasure at their bed & breakfast! They were a huge help in booking our transportation and our activities in and around Puerto Viejo. Furthermore, they were a huge help in finding the perfect spot to propose to my fiancé! Thank you Chad and Anna for the greatest traveling experience I have ever had!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton,Canada

Best Bed & Breakfast~Caribbean Coast,Costa Rica

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: Actually~we loved everything about this Bed & Breakfast!! The breakfast was made to our requests. It is very clean,& well kept. It is just beautiful.
Cons: There was not a thing that we could say needed to be improved.
Location: The location is walkable to the beaches, shopping, restaurants, lounges/bars. There are also pamphlets in the rooms for many different tours.
Looking around as we drove to this B & B, along the Caribbean Coast, my husband & I started becoming concerned & a bit worried of the type of place we had booked. When we got there, Anna & Chad had a welcome drink for us. When they showed us around, we were so shocked (& highly impressed!!) What a gorgeous little gem of a place this is!!! It has been designed with every detail done beautifully, in accordance to the jungle area. So immaculate, clean, & close to everything. We would have loved to have stayed at this B & B for a much longer time, but our vacation time was over. Anna & Chad are the friendliest host/ess that we have ever had the pleasure of meeting!! They are both so accommodating, and are just very likeable people. They had great tips as to what to see, where to eat, & anything we could have wanted to know about the area. Anna even emailed me, about a month before our trip~ a list of different activities to chose from,with explanations of what to expect on each trip, times & prices. We did do a Canal tour through her, & it was amazing!! The place itself, is like something out of Home & Gardens magazine!!! Also,the breakfasts were very tasty!! I would recommend taking a trip to the Caribbean Coast, just to be able to stay at their B & B. It was a highlight of our trip!!!
5 out of 5
by minerva from Houston

Great B&B

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for one night; kinda wish we could have stayed more nights with this wonderful couple. We had to leave very early in the morning so she packed us breakfast to go. Room was real comfy. They greeted us with a mixed beverage :) such a nice surprise after a 10 hour road trip that was only 230miles long.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a beautiful hotel with exceptional hosts.

Posted Jan 21, 2016
As soon as we arrived we were looked after. We had a great welcome drink and excellent recommendations of where to eat and where to go. The hotel is pristine and the gardens lovely. room was great, our shower was outside amd was cold which was unexpected but still fine. The breakfast in the morning is amazing. Emily and Jeremy are nice people who try their best to make your stay as best as possible.