Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
25% of guests recommend
2.2 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fair for the money

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
Okay in a pinch for a place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

NO WATER - TERRIBLE

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Beach and location
Cons: Evething
Location: Location good,... beach is perfect
Poor Service and the worse... Not Water from 6 pm to 7 am... You come back from the beach and there is no Water in the Shower neither any alternative to solve thgis problem offer by the owners or staff. In the parking lot a tree felt dawn and hit the car, nobody accept responsability...
1 out of 5
by Eajaz H. from Costa Rica

Smelly, Unhygienic Place

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very POOR CONDITION, Many Cockroaches, No light in the Room, Horrible/Vomiting state of Washroom. Fan does not work, No hot water, NO T.V (as I had specifically confirmed) Dogs running around everywhere, in The Kitchen. Please do yourselves a Favor, don't send anyone there. Thnx
3 out of 5
by shannon from denver

mom+2

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
Don't underestimate the word "Rustic" you read in other reviews. This didn't bother me but I was surprised to find that the windows were merely screens (no glass) with tears and the mosquito nets were absolutely necessary to not get eaten alive while trying to sleep through the sounds of the jungle. We came to make friends with several small geckos that came in and out of the room at will. The best thing this lodge has going for it is it's private path to an absolutely gorgeous, swimmable beach. Within minutes we could enjoy a stretch of empty sand with gentle waves and natural pools created by the reef structure. The hotel staff, especially Tom, were very friendly and helpful when arranging transportation into Puerto Viejo.
4 out of 5
by Jeff from scottsdale,az

Great stay!

Posted Jun 8, 2015 on Hotels
The stay was great. The place was cabins about 100 meters to beach via trail. The trail was a little beat up and so were the rooms but overall a great place to stay. The beach out front of it is amazing.
3 out of 5
by Terry from Jefferson, TX

Heart of the Rainforest

Posted May 16, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at the Playa Chiquita Hotel four nights. The foliage on the grounds are absolutely beautiful and well maintained. The breakfast of fruit, toast with butter or cream cheese and a wonderful guava jelly and two eggs either fried or scrambled was very good. Wifi was free and reached the room. The approximate 200 yard walk to the beach was fascinating with many multicolored crabs scurrying into their holes. That being said, the room was quite lacking. If you wanted to keep your luggage off the floor, there was nowhere to sit except on the bed. The beds were of average comfort. The mosquito netting had holes. The fan was nowhere near adequate to keep one from sweating all night. The shower did not drain and you had to sweep the water toward the drain with your foot unless you wanted a shower full of water constantly. You could sit on the porch on a bench with no back and the railing had a 12" board on top of it for you to sit your computer. But after a short while your legs would go to sleep and your back hurt. The staff was friendly and we met several interesting guests. It was an experience that I'm glad I had, but I wouldn't stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: The location.
Cons: Almost everything.
The lodge is close to the beach which was great but everything else was disappointing. The staff were friendly but you had to break down barriers caused by the lack of leadership. Breakfast could have been so much better in a tropical paradise. I know the area so could enjoy my stay despite the very basic accomodation. I know better lodges.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brisbane

Lovely rainforest and beach, shabby room

Posted Mar 24, 2015
For the price the accommodation was very basic - no hot water, most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in and mosquito nets with holes. However the rainforest was beautiful and we saw four sloths in the trees behind our cabin. Also plenty of howler monkeys and birds (,including toucans), and their outdoor beach shower built into a tree covered with flowers was gorgeous. The beach was wonderful and having private access was ideal as there seems to be no other way to reach the beach if u r staying across the street. Good restaurants nearby and small supermarket.
5 out of 5
by Ryan from Minnesota

Great bungalows and friendly staff

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels
I originally had just booked for 3 nights and ended up spending 7 there. The staff was great and extremely friendly. The three resort dogs were fun as well, they loved to go to the beach with me and hang out and play in the water. I highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for privacy but still wants to be near the party. You are near enough to a grocery store that you walk there and back in 15 minutes and there are several little restaurants also within walking distance. Puerto Viejo is only an $8 cab fare away or you can rent a bike from the lodge for $5 for the day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Costa Rica

Don't stay here, look for other option!

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: To be honest, nothing.
Cons: Parking, reception, breakfast, cleanness. In the rooms: paint, clean de floor, change the beds, buy new bed sheets and towels, renew the bathrooms.
Location: All arround is beatiful, a lot of restaurants, spas, beach and forest to visit.
This hotel confuse rustic with trashy. The place is terrible, since you get in, the parking space is small and full of mud, the reception is a desk with an ugly cloth. Then you go to you room and it gets worst, the bed sheet are old, fade color rags that don't even smell like soap. The towels too, ulgly ans dirty. The bed is just a "mattress" on top of pieces of old wood. The bathroom is the worst part, dirty, smelly and completely unclean. They said is a beach front hotel and you have to walk like 200mts to the beach on a dirty road. There are so many options in Playa Chiquita and around like Puerto Viejo, Manzanillo, Cocles in that price range that are 1000 times better Playa Chiquita Lodge. I will never go there again.