Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
25% of guests recommend
2.2 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

NO WATER - TERRIBLE

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Beach and location
Cons: Evething
Location: Location good,... beach is perfect
Poor Service and the worse... Not Water from 6 pm to 7 am... You come back from the beach and there is no Water in the Shower neither any alternative to solve thgis problem offer by the owners or staff. In the parking lot a tree felt dawn and hit the car, nobody accept responsability...
1 out of 5
by Meriana from Costa Rica

Malo y sucio

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Habitación muy sucia, no hicieron la limpieza diaria, tuvimos q comprar cloro y desinfectante porq el baño olía espantoso. El agua va y viene, lo peor es que no la recolectan para comodidad del cliente. El desayuno escaso, la atención mala. No hay Wi Fi en las habitaciones. Ventilador pequeño para el tamaño de la habitación. El parqueo está afuera del hotel, no hay seguridad y es muy pequeño.
1 out of 5
by Eajaz H. from Costa Rica

Smelly, Unhygienic Place

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very POOR CONDITION, Many Cockroaches, No light in the Room, Horrible/Vomiting state of Washroom. Fan does not work, No hot water, NO T.V (as I had specifically confirmed) Dogs running around everywhere, in The Kitchen. Please do yourselves a Favor, don't send anyone there. Thnx
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dåligt hotel, fin strand

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
Vi börjar med det positiva. Stranden nedanför hotellet var fantastisk kanske en av de bästa i Puerto Viejo. Lång fridfull strand med massor av underbara platser för sol och bad. Men det var också det enda som var bra med hotellet. Slitet och skitigt och det sämsta hotel jag satt min fot på. Beskrivningen på hotels.com var inte heller i överensstämmelse med verkligheten. Ingen restaurang, ingen bar och ingen takteras med utsikt. Dessutom dyrt trots den låga kvaliteten. Vi lämnade hotellet efter två nätter innan trots att vi hade betalat i förskott. Åk inte dit!
3 out of 5
by Victor

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Fredrik from Sweden

Exotic living where djungle meets the beach

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
Indeed a relaxing start on a round trip in Costa Rica. The best with Chiquita is not the standards of the facility but rather that it is in the middle of the jungle but also on the beach. Wildlife is at the porch, howler monkeys wakes you up in the mornings and numerous other animals are at armlength distance. We loved it.
3 out of 5
by shannon from denver

mom+2

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
Don't underestimate the word "Rustic" you read in other reviews. This didn't bother me but I was surprised to find that the windows were merely screens (no glass) with tears and the mosquito nets were absolutely necessary to not get eaten alive while trying to sleep through the sounds of the jungle. We came to make friends with several small geckos that came in and out of the room at will. The best thing this lodge has going for it is it's private path to an absolutely gorgeous, swimmable beach. Within minutes we could enjoy a stretch of empty sand with gentle waves and natural pools created by the reef structure. The hotel staff, especially Tom, were very friendly and helpful when arranging transportation into Puerto Viejo.
2 out of 5
by Marta from San Jose, Costa Rica

Hotel descuidado.

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Realmente el lugar es muy bonito, pero el hotel demasiado descuidado.No tiene butacas para descansar, faltan utensilios de cocina
4 out of 5
by Jeff from scottsdale,az

Great stay!

Posted Jun 8, 2015 on Hotels
The stay was great. The place was cabins about 100 meters to beach via trail. The trail was a little beat up and so were the rooms but overall a great place to stay. The beach out front of it is amazing.
3 out of 5
by Terry from Jefferson, TX

Heart of the Rainforest

Posted May 16, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at the Playa Chiquita Hotel four nights. The foliage on the grounds are absolutely beautiful and well maintained. The breakfast of fruit, toast with butter or cream cheese and a wonderful guava jelly and two eggs either fried or scrambled was very good. Wifi was free and reached the room. The approximate 200 yard walk to the beach was fascinating with many multicolored crabs scurrying into their holes. That being said, the room was quite lacking. If you wanted to keep your luggage off the floor, there was nowhere to sit except on the bed. The beds were of average comfort. The mosquito netting had holes. The fan was nowhere near adequate to keep one from sweating all night. The shower did not drain and you had to sweep the water toward the drain with your foot unless you wanted a shower full of water constantly. You could sit on the porch on a bench with no back and the railing had a 12" board on top of it for you to sit your computer. But after a short while your legs would go to sleep and your back hurt. The staff was friendly and we met several interesting guests. It was an experience that I'm glad I had, but I wouldn't stay there again.