Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Terrible room with misleading photos

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Cons: Staff could be improved, cleanliness could be improved, and security
My friend and I had booked our room online for three nights thinking this place was going to be such an amazing retreat; it was the complete opposite. The two single beds, not the queen we booked, was given to us, the screen had holes in it allowing for bugs to get in, the front window lock was broken so anybody could easily climb through our window. Asked the employees for a new room, they couldn't do it. Asked them to fix the screen (told us someone would come the next day) AND THEY NEVER CAME. Ceiling fan in description...where was the ceiling fan??? Cockroaches in the toaster during the dinner that we paid for and bugs all over the free breakfast. I would never ever recommend this place to anybody and wish I could take back the time and money given to this establishment
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2016 on Orbitz
If you are looking for a hotel where you can clear your mind, indulge in healthy eating and have connect with new people through meaningful conversations and similar interest, then Samasati is the place for you!! Also, highly recommend taking a yoga class; you haven't done yoga until you've done yoga in the rainforest with the sound of nature and howler monkeys in the background
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Marcelo from Porto alegre

Deixa a desejar...

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel fica sobre um morro... Natureza exuberante, muito bonito... Porém o acesso ao é possível de camionete 4x4. O transporte e cedido pelo hotel somente até as 20:30h. Não sabíamos deste detalhe é tivemos que pagar 50 dólares para subir o morro de 1,3km, já que chegamos 21:30h. Wi fi somente no restaurante. Não limpam o quarto... Ficamos 3 dias e não trocaram uma toalha sequer... Valeu ver os macacos, curtir a natureza e a aula de yoga... Mas tem muito a melhorar...
5 out of 5
by Alvaro from Las Vegas

5 stars experience.

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
There is none 5 stars Hotel in the province of Limon, but if you are looking for one, this is the closes you can get. The cabins or casitas, are totally independent from one to another. Privacy is total. The staff was extremely helpful and always ready to help with any needs, from arranging a tour or other transportation. The Hotel offer only a vegetarian menu, but if you want some fish or chicken you can order it for a few extra dollars and they will have it ready for you the next day. I am not a vegetarian but the food was so fresh and tasty that I really enjoyed it. The best part of this Hotel is the peace and tranquility that you will find and the feeling of been in the middle of the jungle. A unique experience like in no other place. I will recommend it to anyone and I will definitely comeback again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Caribe al 100%

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
La zona es espectacular, las habitaciones son agradables y en contacto directo con la naturaleza... Montaña y playa!
4 out of 5
by Cristiam from Costa Rica

Hotel perfecto para el descanso... pero!

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
El hotel se encuentra en una buena ubicación, solo hay que tomar en cuenta que para poder llegar a la recepción y a las habitaciones desde la entrada al hotel hay un camino de 1 1/2 km, el cual solamente es accesible en vehículos 4x4. La vista desde el hotel es impresionante y la naturaleza que acompaña el lugar es un fiel retrato de todo lo que representa la zona y el país.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2015 on Hotels
The location on this retreat is amazing! We stayed in a casita, which was basically a private cabin - complete with hammock and porch - off isolated bt ourselves. The staff was super helpful about making sure we got to and from our tours (you have to take a 4 ×4 to and from the resort, as it is so rustic and remote). It is definitely a rustic retreat - reclaimed water showers and no A/C, but that was part of the charm for us. Very romantic to hear the sounds of the rainforest on your "patio" under a full moon for Christmas. The only suggestion we'd give is that the food was somewhat underwhelming. There were some missed opportunities with the vegetarian food - like putting mushrooms in spaghetti sauce to make it have more depth of flavor, etc. Not a huge deal, but veggie food sometimes gets defaulted into "overly plain," and for the veggie among us, just upping that would make it a full 5-star experience. Even so, definitely a retreat we'll remember happily for a long time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we expected.

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Expedia kind of miss led us with this hotel. We apparently booked a "dorm room" two single beds in a tiny room, with a shared bathroom. For the price this was not expected at all! I'd consider this camping. Lots of bugs and cob webs under my bed. The screens had major holes allowing bugs to come in. Hotel staff however was awesome! So helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was also very good. Just not what we expected. The photos were very misleading.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Knoxville

Beautiful Retreat that allows you to be in nature.

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: It was away from busy life. It allows you to detach and relax and choose when you engage with activities. The staff were very friendly as well.
Cons: They need to fix the seatbelts on the 4x4 transport vehicles :)
Location: It is located up a mountain, about a 20 minute drive from Puerto Viejo where many tours can be booked for activities or Cahuita National Forest
We needed a getaway that was near the sloth sanctuary in Costa Rica. This was the perfect place for us. If you want a resort, this is not for you. But if you want a magical retreat where you can be part of nature and be surrounded by friendly staff who will guide you to local adventures, then this is your place. We had our own bungalow with a porch looking out over the valley to the ocean. You could see parrots and toucans from our porch, and although we are not vegetarians, the chef made excellent vegetarian cuisines that everyone would love. I even talked my husband into yoga and it was so perfect when it rained and the animals chirped during yoga. I would recommend this place to all nature lovers.