Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Orbitz
This "hotel" was the worst we took in our trip in Costa Rica. For that amount of money go to another hotel, DO NOT STAY HERE. It's away of beach, away of Puerto Viejo center, dark street, no signs to recognize there is a hotel. Is not a hotel, is a group of cabinas..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Orbitz
Nice place. Quiet place. We saw monkeys and frogs every day. Need car to get to the town. Yoga is relatively closed by.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San José, Costa Rica

Expected more

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: surrounded by nature, wildlife and pure air. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, with full kitchens. The owner is generally nice and very involved in community and environmental affairs. Cons: the hotel is rather isolated and the road isn't very good. The beach is about 700 meters away. No air conditioning. Not very accessible to the elderly or disabled due to walkways covered with loose stones and slippery bathroom floors. Has no restaurant. Offers only breakfast which is individually prepared and then taken in turn to each room, which makes it a lengthy process. The staff is minimal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not close to the Beach, You have to pay for.....

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: You are in a jungle...
Cons: Laundry and bed confort
Location: nothing around 6 milles
Not bad at all, but not like the pictures and we have to pay for the laundry
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Accesability: VERY POOR

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: no comment
Cons: the road to it and clear signage to find it quickly and easily.
Location: The town is filled with caribbean flavor. Very realxing. Lots to do for those who love adventure, nice food and lovely people.
After 25 minutes of searching for the hotel, due to the lack of clear signage, I went through A flooded creek(small) as it was pouring with rain. If you dont have a car or own transport, everytime you want to go to town, you have to get a cab at $7 for a 5 minute ride, each way. For this reason, I didnt stay. I want a refund
2 out of 5
by Geoff from UK

Not really a hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels
The VIP 'Hotel' is not really a hotel. It has no reception, bar or restaurant. It is two sets of three apartments either side of a good pool which was the best feature of the accommodation and a gym. Each apartment has a kitchenette so you're are really in self catering accommodation. It is poorly located being 1.5km down a poor quality dirt track road and quite difficult to find and realise that you have arrived when you get there. Breakfast was brought to your apartment at 8am and was not particularly good quality or the cooked part hot. We were glad to leave as this accommodation was very poor value for money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In the middle of no where and too noisy!

Posted Mar 3, 2014
I feel that the hotel is overpriced and breakfast is the worst I've had in Costa Rica, we skipped it after 2 mornings, eggs, or an omelette and some fruit served with dry bread on the side. We travel all around the world and for the money we paid, I would honestly say that it's the least value place I have ever stayed. It's situated down a very long dirt track at least 2km from civilisation. The nearest beach and hotel is the beautiful!!! banana azure hotel where he stopped for cocktails whilst watching a sloth in there tree's. The staff and owner do try to make you feel welcome and if it wasn't so remote and half the price I would not be writing this negative review. Also I have come to Costa Rica to see the wildlife, however the howling money's screamed at 4.50am every morning without fail- funny on the first morning- also just to add we never saw them!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels
Really nice outside of town. The owners are really nice and helped us with everything. The rooms were huge and had a full kitchen. Overall great experience just wish it was on the beach or in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from Manhattan, New York, NY, USA

Simply Amazing.

Posted Feb 19, 2013
Pros: the breakfast, location, Dilan and Miriam.
Cons: the roads were a little dark getting to the hotel-- but of course that is the case you are in the jungle.
Location: gorgeous and peaceful. a short cab ride away from town and some of the most gorgeous beaches in all of Costa Rica.
This hotel was truly amazing. It is hidden in the jungle which is exactly what we were looking for to get the "Costa Rican" feel. It is close to town and the beautiful beaches. Miriam is an angel and helped us set up our transportation to and from the airport and made sure we had everything we needed to make our stay a memorable one. Dilan who also works at the hotel is one of a kind. He set up all our tours and excursions for us and introduced us to awesome people throughout the trip. He made sure we were always in good hands and watched out for us. They are two very special people and we will never forget them. The hotel is very clean and offers an AWESOME complimentary breakfast every morning. We didn't get to have it one morning because we were going canopying early and we were so sad that we had to miss it. However, Miriam and Dilan made sure to put fruit and coffee in our rooms for us. This was by far one of the best vacations I have ever been on and VIP Playa Negra is the hotel to stay at when visiting Puerto Viejo. Looking up flights back right now actually =)