Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's a castle - 'nuff said.

Posted Mar 7, 2012 on Hotels
This is an interesting place to stay primarily due to it's location in a castle, and is a pretty decent hotel in its own right. It is located in a cute, tiny village on a hill, with not much else except a golf course, two restaurants (including the one in the hotel), a pizzeria, and a couple of nice bars. The location in Italy isn't much, as the towns around it are very industrial and not much to see. It's close enough to Lake Como, though, that it could be a nice option. The room we stayed in, which seemed to be in a new wing of the castle, was modern, with nice huge windows opening to the woods. Could have felt a little warmer, but it was pretty good. I have a pet peeve against plastic cups in the rooms (as opposed to glass). Breakfast was decent but nothing special.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2012 on Hotels
Beautiful castle, nice surroundings and well equiped spa. however, the rooms and the inside in general are not as charming and lack of creativity. you don't feel like in a castle... We stayed during the low season and had a discount - if we had payed the full price it would have been too expensive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hôtel castille in February !

Posted Mar 3, 2012 on Hotels
I went in This hotel in end of February . The hostel is a old castel so be careful if you decide to make your propose :) . The swimmingpool wasn't open but the crew's nice . There are a spa but is very expensive also for the wifi 1,50/30min ! What about the restaurant ? There are 3 differents place to eat. The breakfast'room , restaurant, bar. The breakfast was a buffet but always the same for every day :( Is so far away form Milano. You have to have a car. They are a nice and private parking for you !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Washington, UK

Milan Nov-11

Posted Dec 3, 2011
A wonderful building. The room was spacious and comfortable
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Posted Aug 3, 2011 on Hotels
THE HOTEL WAS VERY NICE AND PEOPLE FRIENDLY, KNOWLEDGEABLE AND HELPFUL. THE RESTAURANT IN PARTICULAR WAS EXCEPTIONAL, WITH FRANCO, OUR SERVER, ONE OF THE BEST WE EVER HAD!!! Bathroom had very poor lighting.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

It's a castle!

Posted Jun 7, 2011 on Hotels
I think the winning point of this hotel is that yes, it is an actual castle. It was acquired by some real estate developers in the late 1980's and turned into a 4-star hotel. The rooms are nice but sparsely furnished. Their entry card system doesn't always work. This is an OK 4 star restaurant built in an actual Italian castle.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Galway,Ireland

Castello di Carimate

Posted Oct 6, 2010 on Hotels
Excellent Hotel booked at short notice.It is further out of Como than we thought but the staff were very helpfull.We arrived on its first night open after summer holidays and there was a certain amount of maintenance going on.Even though we were late and the restaurant very busy they facilitated us with a meal.This is an ideal hotel for stopping off enroute or returning from Italy by road as we were in switzerland next day in 15 minutes. All in all a good experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Left after 3 days

Posted Sep 13, 2009
This Hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Taxis wont even come here. If you wanted a drink at the bar you had to go to the dining room. Breakfast was a disgrace, you could not eat it and when you said anything to the staff, they could not speak any English. They charged for the swimming pool which was up a dirt track a good distance from the Hotel