Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Christine from Australia

Fantastic experience an ambiance

Posted Sep 21, 2013 on Hotels
Our booking had not been received but the gentleman receiving us was happy to follow up and accommodate us. When the bellboy took us to our allocated room it had not been cleaned from previous occupation. He did not falter rang the front desk and we were upgraded to a massive suite with balcony overlooking the castle drawbridge and feature fountain. On returning downstairs later the receiving clerk apologised for the situation and stated that our booking had been stuck in the fax machine. Overall a great stay, beautiful grounds. Restaurant a bit pricey but definitely five star and fantastic food and service. You do get what you pay for and considering the room was a reasonable price we were extremely happy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

real castle

Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels
unforgettable stay of alife time.Havev travelled and stayed all over world but nothing like this.Draw bridge and all a really incridible place to stay.Quiet area a car a must.Half a mile away train station 3.00 us dollars ow 40 minutes to milan we did quite easily.Grounds hotel rms all spectacular.Manager and employees extremely helpful in any way.Most deffinetly well be back.Breakfast was great as well.
5 out of 5
by Alex from Brazil

Wonderful castle

Posted Jun 15, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel is an amazing castle. Great place to stay and perfect restaurant. Reccommend it
4 out of 5
by Bob

It's a REAL CASTLE!

Posted Sep 30, 2012 on Hotels
This is a real castle! You expect Robin Hood to appear at any moment.It's just a great setting. I would definitely recommend this hotel. The room was clean, the service was good, but the breakfast was ordinary. the diningroom was kind of pricey; I'd recommend eating in Como instead.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Location with Excellent Service

Posted Aug 9, 2012 on Hotels
We stayed at Castello Di Carimate for 3 nights. Everyone was helpful and welcoming. The hotel is a wonderful piece of history and has been tastefully renovated leaving some pieces of history. The restaurant was fantastic for evening meals and the breakfast buffet on the terrace was lovely. We had a massage and used the spa which is beautiful. The gardens were wonderful for a walk in the sun and showed off the beauty of the castle. We used the swimming pool in the joining golf course and sun bathed for an afternoon. The location is fantastic as we got a taxi to Lake Como which was not expensive and was organised by the hotel. The only negative we had was with a problem with the door in one of our rooms however this was quickly resolved. A fantastic location and would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2012 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by John

Stay but don't eat

Posted May 3, 2012 on Hotels
The Hotel was extremely comfortable and lived up to its'castle' roots but the restaurant was almost empty, so no atmosphere and the food was poor and expensive. Stay in the hotel but eat in the village.
4 out of 5
by Ahmad

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2012 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great Price for the experience

Posted Apr 1, 2012 on Hotels
The staff was extremely friendly, breakfast was not included. The hotel was not a cozy one and some what creepy, but for the ability to say you stayed at a castle it was well worth it. Also, the location of the hotel was inconvenient, the price of the taxis added up quickly. For spectators who want to visit the city of Milan frequently I do not recommended, but if you just rather stay in and rest and lounge around it would be perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thomas from Immensee

I'll be back!

Posted Mar 7, 2012
Pros: the unique, 800 year old architecture, friendly personnel,
Location: close to Como (15minute car drive)
With the competitive pricing I was afraid that I will be thrown in the dungeons, but instead I felt like nobleman invited by Lucrezia Borgia ;-) The castello is a spectacular sight, from the outside, the inside and also from up close. Combined with a shopping trip to Como it is simply perfect for a unforgetable weekend trip!