Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brilliant

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent place to stay very comfortable spotlessly clean The owner couldn't do enough to help you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Very nice Stay

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: The room was nice and clean, comfortable.
This is the second time I have stayed at the Angus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester,NY USA

Everything Good!

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Good location....had supper at a nice pub directly across the street.....breakfast was cooked to order and well done. Staff very pleasant!
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: If you like to shop, city center is an easy half mile walk, and there you will find a street full of shops.
For us, it was a handy rest stop about half-way between Wales and Fort William and an easy off and on to the M...........kind of important to us foreigners that aren't used to driving on the other-side of the road and navigating those traffic circle round about things.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton, TX, USA

Nice Place to Stay on Hadrian's Wall Path!

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Great location! The room size is adequate and the fresh cooked breakfasts were awesome! Rachel was a very nice and pleasant host.
Cons: The layout of the bathroom is not very ergonomic. Also, the gentleman who owns the hotel could smile a bit more and be more welcoming.
Location: The hotel is located just a few minutes north of the Hadrian's Wall Path. Across the street is a great pub called "The Crown". Supermarket nearby.
My son and I did the Hadrian's Wall Path in April 2017 and found this hotel to be ideal for the start of our journey. We were walking west to east so we actually spent a few nights here. We took the train up from London on day one. The next day was a rest day (long trip from USA) and we toured the sites in Carlisle. The following day we took the bus over to Bowness-on-Solway and hiked back to Carlisle. The next morning we proceeded east and continued on the path. So we stayed 3 nights in all. Overall we were very pleased with the Angus. The room was clean, and the breakfast was tasty and plentiful. The hotel is owned by a husband and wife team. Rachel is a very nice lady and very helpful. Her husband, however, is not very friendly and never made us feel welcome. Other than that, the only other annoyance was the arrangement of the bathroom in our room. The toilet is right up against the wall on one side and the shower is right up near the toilet on the other side leaving very little room to sit properly. Also while standing in that small space, I was constantly knocking the toilet paper off its holder because they have it located right where your shoulders are while squeezed into this tiny space. Very odd! In the end these issues would be considered "annoyances", and I would still recommend the Angus as a great option while walking Hadrian's Wall.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by MAUREEN

A gem of a hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
One of the best I have stayed in. Family run, spotless, lovely warm comfortable room and the choices you have to make at breakfast is fantastic. The bus stop in either direction is right outside hotel or a short walk over the bridge into the centre of Carlisle
5 out of 5
by Hugh

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Clean tidy friendly with a super breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay, good cooked breakfast but a shame that the double bed was made up of 2 singles pushed together - they kept falling apart!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Really friendly service, the room was clean, warm, comfortable and quiet. Great breakfast too!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

recommend hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent hotel, within walking distance of the city centre The map on our booking showed the hotel obn the wrong side of the road