Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Good location for a night in Carlisle.

Posted Feb 15, 2018
Pros: Location and price
Cons: it's an old hotel - it is what it is.
Location: close to pubs/restaurants/ shops
Staff happy to change our room upon arrival due to the height of the ceiling ie; going into the eves. Our friends stayed in another room on level 1 and apparently it was very cold. Hotel is in need of some updating and I think they are working on it bit by bit. Breakfast was good for the price. usual choice of continental or cooked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Great staff

Posted Feb 12, 2018
The lady at the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly , she made you feel very welcome
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2018
Easy parking. Basic room. Good WiFi. Amenaties close by.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stroud, Gloucestershire

Comfortable and pleasant accommodation in Carlisle

Posted Feb 10, 2018
Pros: The warm and friendly nature of the staff; the comfort and cleanliness of the room and facilities; the proximity of the hotel to the train station.
Cons: I cannot think of anything which would have improved my experience of staying at The County Hotel.
Location: The location was most convenient, being in close proximity to the train station, and to a variety of public houses and takeaways.
I found the hotel within easy walking distance of Carlisle train station. The staff was welcoming and made me feel immediately at home. I found the room comfortable and clean. I enjoyed a good night's sleep, having arrived by the late evening train. A hearty buffet breakfast was available in the dining room, the following morning, for a small additional charge, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Again, the staff showed me every courtesy and were very welcoming. I stayed for one night, only, and would not hesitate to stay there again. I would happily recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Carlisle.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2018
Receptionist will take your bank card details and security code even though pre-paid in full; be aware. Card will require to be cancelled now; not amused.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tyne & wear

Nice hotel great location

Posted Feb 4, 2018
Check in good and great it had parking. Room huge and very clean lovely and warm, bed really comfortable. If staying again will request room at back as street noise went on until 4.30am which made sleep difficult. Location excellent within minutes walk of everything.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

what a dump

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: total refurb required
Must have been nice 30 years ago when it was last updated. Dirty stained carpet rhreadbare in many places. Broken and damaged furnishings. Every floorboard creaks
5 out of 5
by Kalwant

Great place to stay very local

Posted Nov 11, 2017 on Hotels
My day was spent teaching taekwon do and sight seeing I arrived from Glasgow with my wife and 2 dogs that also loved it it was great and local to everything I recommend room 222 as it is the corner room and great views
5 out of 5
by Angela

Great Stay

Posted Nov 9, 2017 on Hotels
Very helpful staff gave me a really good map and provided toothpaste. The room was warm, with a good sized bed. I asked for a quite room, even though I was given one the staff still gave me earplugs. It is nice to have a night porter, it makes you feel safe.
4 out of 5
by Barbara

Great stay

Posted Nov 4, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed in this hotel for one night on the way south . I was upgraded on check in to a massive room . It was the Lonsdale suite and I can highly recommend it . The hotel is surrounded by bars , restaurants,shops and the station is a two minute walk . The bathroom was large with a tub and all the toiletries and linen necessary . Thank you to staff on check in .