Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dundee

Overnight stop en route to Southern England

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: Catering of a good standard
Cons: Noise insulation in rooms above work areas
Location: No comment
My visit was marred by being allocated a room above the kitchen area-where activity, noise, continued until after 2300hrs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sawbridgeworth, Hertfordshire

A fab hotel, welcoming, staff so very friendly.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: FrIendless of all hotel staff, amazing value for money, perfect location with no need to drive! The complimentary tea, coffee in spa fresh towels
Cons: Very picky but anti slip mat in shower, loo brush and toiletries
Location: Perfect village location with bar, restaurant and spa. Gorgeous little village shop if you have forgotten anything, coffee shop, the family restaurant
We had a lovely 3 night stay... All staff so very friendly throughout the hotel in every department. A nice quiet room, fab view, big enough. Only criticism room too warm for us, but opened both windows. Luckily we took our own toiletries as hotel only provided Hair/body wash, hand cream and moisturising lotion. Also really required slip mat in shower. Although plenty of tea, coffee, biscuits, water etc replenished daily! An enjoyable meal at breakfast, lunch and dinner all very enjoyable and reasonable as we're the drinks. A clean, friendly spa, everything in good working order with a great atmosphere. Every staff member could not have done enough for us! There was a wedding on Saturday, made no difference to our stay... as party in separate building so no extra noisy! The hotel in a picturesque lovely village, so beautiful lovely walks, quaint shop, church, walks along River. The Fantails restaurant is an absolute must to visit, amazing food, ambiance and a real treat! A family run restaurant that is an absolute tardest. Thanks a relaxing weekend break away!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo, BC

Nice hotel within walking distance of nearby shops

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed, clean, nice room.
Cons: We arrived early evening, were told the restaurant was booked and we needed a reservation for the pub. Any later we would not have gotten a meal.
Location: There are some lovely shops and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Note, these were closed when we needed a meal on our arrival.
Our room was very comfortable, and well stocked with amenities. The hotel staff were friendly and provided us with everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was very spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port St Lucie, FL

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Bar, dining room, breakfast and dinner, room and beds
A wonderful stop on our way back to southern England from Scotland. Wanted to see Hadrians Wall and one of the best preserved sitesis only 12 mile s north, Birdoswald. The hotel was charming, rooms clean with nice large beds, food was wonderful and bar a delight!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire

A friendly and comfortable hotel.

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: The whole attitude of the staff was "How can we help". Our room was cosy with bright, cheerful décor. The dining room overlooks a pleasant garden.
Location: A very convenient stop over in country surroundings close to the M6.
An obviously well run hotel, comfortable, with friendly staff, and a relaxing atmosphere. A porter was on hand to help with our luggage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monmouthshire

Comfortable hotel off the M6 to break the driving.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Convenient location.
Cons: Nothing in particular
Location: Didn't stay in area.
Lovely old world hotel in a pretty village about 2 miles away from the top of the M6 at Carlisle. Comfortable bed and good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, comfortable hotel. Food was excellent too.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
We were roughly at the midpoint of a short break, touring from Crosby on the west coast to Newcastle on the east. Hotel was just what we wanted. Comfortable, friendly staff, good food and service. Just the job.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Stay in carlisle

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Everything apart from dogs being allowed into rooms. Staff and food were excellent.
Cons: Cleanliness in rooms , the carpet in our suite was very dirty.
Location: Village and local area was beautiful, well placed for all major transport routes. Lots of major attractions nearby.
Lovely village setting. Hotel mix of old and modern. Lovely spa. Food and dining facilities were excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately We didn't realise that dogs were allowed to stay in rooms and due to an intolerance to dog s our stay was slightly uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Romford

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Attractive hotel, lovely garden, pleasant staff. Good bar meals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Ebookers
Nice hotel, staff very accommodating. Could do with some attention to detail here and there, e.g. Bath panel cracked. Car park is a little cramped and could do with loosing a few spaces to improve size for the other spaces. Aside those small negatives the hotel was fine and the rate ok. Would recommend.