Ratings based on 440 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bolton

Close to town

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Hotel does need updating location is central ideal for train station Breakfast was good Been going for the last 5 years friendly bar staff Brian who always makes you welcome and Matt a lovely guy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rhyl

Hotel close to station and town.

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Hotel is good for convenience being close to town and station but in need of refurbishment. We booked 2 rooms and both smelt musty and very noisy at night. One room near the station could hear the trains running all night, other room was by a pub and all night could hear the music and screaming girls on their night out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. Although we have a fantastic city centre location, it does come with some downfalls, noise being one of them. We have started some light refurbishment that we are completing in house at the moment and much more to come in the New Year, I do hope you will return to see the improvements we have made.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Close to train station

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Sofa bed not ready when we arrived at 7pm. Took another hour to sort out so children were waiting around. Stain on bedsheets. 2 single beds joint to give a double bed and a metal rod sticking out which they had to remove because it was dangerous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, Hotel Management
Hi Amy, I am sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay with us. I have passed on your comments to Reservations/Housekeeping and Maintenance to ensure this does not happen again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Nice hotel close to train station

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Next to train station. Last day receptionist was happy to look after my luggage after checkout to be collected later in the evening.
Cons: Cleanliness Daily service Noise proof walls
Location: Near to city centre, great for shopping
A wrong room was allotted to me. When I entered the room, It was embarrassing to see an elderly lady jumping out of her bed obviously frightened to see a stranger. Poor lady, bless her, was understanding. I apologised to her for the mistake and left. When I reported back at the reception, the receptionist just said " sorry", was not apologetic enough. Room needed cleaning, dust hanging from the ceiling. I stayed for 3 nights, no room cleaning service for the 2 nod and 3 rd day! Bedding was not done, towels were no changed. Could do with better noise proof walls.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay with us and certainly the incident with the wrong room should not have happened and could have been dealt with better. I have passed on your comments to our Housekeeping team so we are able to improve our service. I do hope you brought up your room not being serviced whilst you were here so we were able to rectify it for you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great Location.Furniture and breakfast poor.

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: It was in a great location and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Cons: The service at breakfast wasn't good enough and the room furniture was old.
Location: Good shopping centre.
Disappointing breakfast as food was lukewarm and no one checked when the eggs and bread needed to be replaced.The milk sachets in the room were out of date and were sour.The furniture needs to be replaced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am sorry to hear that breakfast did not run smoothly, this is not a reflection of our usual standards. We are working through our rooms and updating them, however this is a slow process as we have 70 bedrooms and Christmas is a busy time for us. We hope you will return to us next time you are in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aberdeen

Close to railway station and shops

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Great hotel an ideal if coming by train as it is next door to the train station. Shops, bars and restaurants all on your doorstep. The staff are very friendly and hotel rooms very clean and comfortable. Great location. I look forward to another trip here and for sure will be booking this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback, we hope we can see you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Good location

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Very disappointed with the room even though it was an upgrade. Terrible drain smell in the bathroom. Room 328. Only good thing was breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Hallmark Hotel Carlisle , Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are currently undergoing some refurbishments to the hotel, we hope you will return to see our improvements.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carlise

Short stay

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Bit disappointed no water in room but for cost all right too much noise of railway line and plumbing
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I do hope your issues with the water were brought up at the time so we were able to rectify this for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Lovely relaxing stay

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Staff so friendly especially girl who worked in bar and served breakfast. Lovely room, comfortable bed. Nice and quiet although it was a Monday night. So central and parking was good. No complaints will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words and score. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Nice hotel a bit dated but close to train station and town center and a bigger bath wouldn't have gon a miss
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are working hard to update the hotel however with the run up to Christmas being so busy, it is a slow process. I do hope you will return to us when you are in the area