Ratings based on 460 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dundee

Hotel next to Carlisle railway station

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Very nice and professional hotel staff at reception and restaurant. Excellent location near the city centre, railway station and bus stops. Room was terribly dirty, carpet littered, furniture and bathroom floor covered in dark dust. Bed linen stank of chemicals and it was difficult to breathe in the room, but, fortunately, there was a window that could be opened, unlike in more modern hotels. Quiet during the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I will of course pass these comments onto our Housekeeping team as this absolutely should not be the case. I am surprised to hear that our linen smelt of chemicals as we send our laundry away, as do many hotels within our area and this is the first time I have heard of this. Again, I will ask the Housekeeping team to look into it and also be aware of any strong smells. We are starting a refurbishment very soon and I do hope you will return to see our hard work
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

In major need of refurbishment

Posted Dec 29, 2017
The Hallmark is extremely outdated and in need of refurbishment. The bar area is very deceptive as you would expect rooms to be of a similar standard. The corridor’s leading to my room were shabby with threadbare carpets so my room decor was not a surprise. Very old fashioned with worn carpets, furniture and just generally disappointing. Although the room and bathroom seemed clean, I did not feel clean sleeping there due to the general state of the room. There were cobwebs on the ceiling and my hairdryer was so dirty to touch, I ended up holding it with a tissue. I was happy to leave and would sadly, not return to The Hallmark. I’m quite shocked that it has a four star rating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are due to start our refurbishment very soon with all new bathrooms on their way. We also have plans to upgrade the carpets. I'm sure you can appreciate this does take time. As for the cleanliness in your room, I would like to apologise and I will certainly pass your comments onto our Housekeeping team. I do hope you will return to the Hallmark to see our improvements
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from preston

Location excellent.

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Room cold no radiators on. Staff kindly supplied us with room heaters. Breakfast good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2017 by Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback, we have informed our maintenance team about the radiators and have had to call in an external company to look into this. I do hope this was raised during your stay so we could resolve this for you. I hope you will come back to the hotel in the New Year to see the improvements we will be making.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bolton

Close to town

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Hotel does need updating location is central ideal for train station Breakfast was good Been going for the last 5 years friendly bar staff Brian who always makes you welcome and Matt a lovely guy
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2017 by Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are currently going through our refurbishment plans and they are due to start very soon. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rhyl

Hotel close to station and town.

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Hotel is good for convenience being close to town and station but in need of refurbishment. We booked 2 rooms and both smelt musty and very noisy at night. One room near the station could hear the trains running all night, other room was by a pub and all night could hear the music and screaming girls on their night out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. Although we have a fantastic city centre location, it does come with some downfalls, noise being one of them. We have started some light refurbishment that we are completing in house at the moment and much more to come in the New Year, I do hope you will return to see the improvements we have made.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Close to train station

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Sofa bed not ready when we arrived at 7pm. Took another hour to sort out so children were waiting around. Stain on bedsheets. 2 single beds joint to give a double bed and a metal rod sticking out which they had to remove because it was dangerous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, Hotel Management
Hi Amy, I am sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay with us. I have passed on your comments to Reservations/Housekeeping and Maintenance to ensure this does not happen again.
4 out of 5
by Sue

Disappointing breakfast

Posted Nov 21, 2017 on Hotels
We've stayed here a few times when attending events in carlisle. The hotel is lovely, and is currently being further upgraded. It is really well located and has plenty of parking either in the hotel carpark or at the station next to it. Relatively quiet, given its proximity to botchergate with turns into a massive bar crawl every weekend. Breakfast was very disappointing, being inedible. Anaemic susages and bacon, clearly both undercooked and croissants that were basically charcoal blocks they were so burnt. We had to ask for fresh milk when our coffee arrived although it was clear we were expected to use the inch of warm milk that had stood who knows how long while in use by previous guests. The restaurant managers response to one guests request was 'the restaurant is very busy and we're short staffed. We're going as fast as we can' not the best customer service. Busy breakfast time on a Sunday can be anticipated. Staffing issues should not be the customers problem. A better response would have been 'certainly sir, we'll sort that right now' with an update and an apology if there is further delay rather than a snappy response making customers feel they are being a nuisance. Consequently no complaint was made by us at the time as we felt it would fall on deaf ears.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017
Hi Sue, Thank you so much for leaving such lovely comments about your stay on a while. I am very sorry to hear breakfast was not up to standard and certainly does reflect our usual standards. I hope you will return to Hallmark and let us show you how we usually run our restaurant. Kind Regards, Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
4 out of 5
by Raymond

True condition

Posted Nov 20, 2017 on Hotels
On first impressions the room was good , But the bathroom was a bit grubby , chip in the bath and sealant badly mouldy . On opening the outside window in the room itself , the window frame was rotten and my hands got filthy ,
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are in the process of updating our bathrooms at the moment as we are aware some updating and repairs are necessary. In regards to your window, I can only apologize. I have passed these comments onto our Maintenance team. Kind Regards, Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Nice hotel close to train station

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Next to train station. Last day receptionist was happy to look after my luggage after checkout to be collected later in the evening.
Cons: Cleanliness Daily service Noise proof walls
Location: Near to city centre, great for shopping
A wrong room was allotted to me. When I entered the room, It was embarrassing to see an elderly lady jumping out of her bed obviously frightened to see a stranger. Poor lady, bless her, was understanding. I apologised to her for the mistake and left. When I reported back at the reception, the receptionist just said " sorry", was not apologetic enough. Room needed cleaning, dust hanging from the ceiling. I stayed for 3 nights, no room cleaning service for the 2 nod and 3 rd day! Bedding was not done, towels were no changed. Could do with better noise proof walls.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2018 by Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay with us and certainly the incident with the wrong room should not have happened and could have been dealt with better. I have passed on your comments to our Housekeeping team so we are able to improve our service. I do hope you brought up your room not being serviced whilst you were here so we were able to rectify it for you.
4 out of 5
by Alistair

Up North

Posted Nov 18, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel single rooms wuiet tight but adequate. Lounge and reception nice. Easy access to station and town
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We hope to see you again soon.