Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunderland

Excellent Comfortable Hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2017
This is an excellent friendly, comfortable and clean Hotel which is close to all attractions.Walking distance to Carlisle Castle, Tullie House Museum, Bitts Park, The Sands Centre and the Shopping Centre. The Breakfast was Fresh, Quality and very plentiful. It's definitely the BEST Breakfast by far and I've ate in a lot of Hotels as a frequent traveller.The perfectly cooked Quality Breakfast is a MUST.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

B n B in Carlisle

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of the proprietor and the nice breakfast. The nice shower
Cons: The comfort of the bed and pillows
Location: The house is set just out of town, but is in walking distance to local restaurants
Marlborough House is an older style bed and breakfast just outside the main town area of Carlisle. We stayed here for two nights to explore the surrounding areas. Roy, the proprietor was friendly and helpful with directions regarding touriist attractions. Breakfast was cooked for us each morning and it was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Wa. USA

Friendly staff and spacious room. Huge breakfast!

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Walking distance to downtown. Staff is very helpful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Reasonable price and ideal location for our purpose.
Cons: The parking situation.
Location: Loads to do in Carlisle and very easy location to access other visitor attractions.
All good - breakfast plentiful and delicious, room spacious, light and airy, beds very clean and comfy, en suite more than adequate and the chap in charge couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stoke on trent

friendly hotel close to the Wall

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Friendly host and the breakfast
Cons: Hairdryer in room
Location: Right in the centre of Carlisle
Very friendly and knowledgable host , big comfortable room ,nice shower and a delicious breakfast
5 out of 5
by Deborah

Wonderful stay

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay. Bright and cheery room, clean and comfortable. Enjoyed talking with Roy and he gave us great tips for dining and seeing the town which we did and really enjoyed it. I would stay again. Great location
5 out of 5
by paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Prudence

Fantastic place to stay in a great area.

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Marlborough House was great--Roy was a great host. He was spot on with recommendations for things to do in the area and local restaurants. He gives great directions! We loved the location as well as the history of the house and the area. Walking distance to all major sites in the area. Definitely try the Indian place around the corner for dinner.
5 out of 5
by Wendy

Lovely stay in Carlisle

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
Our host Roy gave us a warm welcome and showed us where we could park near to the property. He also suggested a couple of different places we could go to eat out that night. He also provided an excellent breakfast the following morning. It was cooked to order so it was piping hot and plentiful as well. We will definitely be returning for another visit tge next time we go to that area.
5 out of 5
by MARK

Regimental reunion

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Was there for a Regimental reunion and found the best price room for what I needed.