Ratings based on 590 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, Az.

The only hotel right on the beach.

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Seemed to be very family friendly. Most rooms face the ocean. Loved the sea breeze blowing into the room. Staff was awesome. Right on the beach.
Cons: The room was very nice. Bathroom was awesome. Carpet needs up dating. No microwaves in room but they will provide one if asked.
Location: Excellent. Every thing you need is in walking distance or a very short drive. Lots of things to do with in 30 - 45 min driving time.
I loved listening to the waves crash onto the shore every night. The beach is clean and beautiful. The staff is very accommodating. Very friendly and most helpful. Carslbad is very laid back. The pace is very relaxing. Restaurants are all good. Carslbad has a winery / coffee bar right on the Main Street. Excellent wine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix

End of summer vacation

Posted Sep 18, 2017
From the moment you walk in to check in you know this will be a great stay. Beautiful views great staff and housekeepers the beach is a few steps away what more could I ask for to end this summer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
The beach staff was amazing. But more strict on private beach which they did try there best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mt. Sinai, NY

Only beach front hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Horrible experience checking in and first room with a "partial view" was a joke, once we paid $110/night to upgrade to a oceanview room it felt like a different hotel all together. Rooms are generously sized, beds are comfortable, and bathrooms are modern. Parts of the exterior could use an update but overall we enjoyed 2 out of 3 nights there.
5 out of 5
by Laura

AWESOME

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
I LOVE this place! Awesome people working there...Bobbie at the front desk is so great! Walk to everything
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
everything was good except the breakfast which I think has been downgraded since I stayed there 2 years ago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Nice place right on the beach. Walking distance to heart of Carlsbad. Great customer service. Good breakfast. Liked having complimentary beach gear from hotel to use.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laguna beach

Old and overpriced

Posted Aug 23, 2017
No amenities. Tv only, no movies on cable and no movies to rent. No restaurant or food onsite. Vending machine only. Threadbare towels. Tiny jacuzzi with tons of kids trying to warm up as pool is not heated. All rooms are showers only, no bathtubs at all (I asked). If you don't get an ocean view room it feels like a motel 6.
5 out of 5
by CINDY

Great getaway

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here for the first time and will definitely come back. Only issue was we couldn't check in until after 5 . Before booking I was concerned that they have no onsite restaurant or bar. No worries, great restaurants and breweries are walking distance. Also they have chairs and umbrellas you can use and the chairs were really nice and the boogie boards they have available are like new. I love that they had an air conditioner since we were Sand level didn't want to leave the door open to the patio. Ample parking and beautiful beachfront very good choice .Also the continental breakfast does offer a bit more than a regular continental breakfast but get there before 10 or you may miss it. You won't be disappointed if you stay here! But please note there are stairs and no elevator and I didn't notice wheelchair ramps. Hope this review helps.
2 out of 5
by Shawn

Wish it was better. Don't recommend

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
Room looked great!! Bathroom door would not stay open to even walk through. Had to prop open with a corkscrew. Patio light was out and maintenance never came to fix. AC was so loud with it clicked on and ran, we didn't sleep much. The fire alarm began to go off every 30 minutes beginning at 5:45 am the next morning. We were there for only 12 hours and it wasn't worth the exordinant expense. Spoke to manager and there was a lot of excuses and condensention.