Ratings based on 579 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, Az.

The only hotel right on the beach.

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Seemed to be very family friendly. Most rooms face the ocean. Loved the sea breeze blowing into the room. Staff was awesome. Right on the beach.
Cons: The room was very nice. Bathroom was awesome. Carpet needs up dating. No microwaves in room but they will provide one if asked.
Location: Excellent. Every thing you need is in walking distance or a very short drive. Lots of things to do with in 30 - 45 min driving time.
I loved listening to the waves crash onto the shore every night. The beach is clean and beautiful. The staff is very accommodating. Very friendly and most helpful. Carslbad is very laid back. The pace is very relaxing. Restaurants are all good. Carslbad has a winery / coffee bar right on the Main Street. Excellent wine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix

End of summer vacation

Posted Sep 18, 2017
From the moment you walk in to check in you know this will be a great stay. Beautiful views great staff and housekeepers the beach is a few steps away what more could I ask for to end this summer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
The beach staff was amazing. But more strict on private beach which they did try there best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mt. Sinai, NY

Only beach front hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Horrible experience checking in and first room with a "partial view" was a joke, once we paid $110/night to upgrade to a oceanview room it felt like a different hotel all together. Rooms are generously sized, beds are comfortable, and bathrooms are modern. Parts of the exterior could use an update but overall we enjoyed 2 out of 3 nights there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Nice place right on the beach. Walking distance to heart of Carlsbad. Great customer service. Good breakfast. Liked having complimentary beach gear from hotel to use.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laguna beach

Old and overpriced

Posted Aug 23, 2017
No amenities. Tv only, no movies on cable and no movies to rent. No restaurant or food onsite. Vending machine only. Threadbare towels. Tiny jacuzzi with tons of kids trying to warm up as pool is not heated. All rooms are showers only, no bathtubs at all (I asked). If you don't get an ocean view room it feels like a motel 6.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2017
The room was comfortable and clean. The view was amazing, and the staff was friendly and knowledgeable. It was a great experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent location and terrific experience!

Posted Jul 24, 2017
The housekeeping was nearly nonexistent so we had to call several times every day of our trip to get service, but everythig else was INCREDIBLE. The view was spectacular in our oceanview room, it was completely spacious and clean (minus the housekeeping), and the pool area was always roomie despite being peak time. The included breakfast was DELICIOUS and made our mornings great. There was plenty of free parking and lots to do within walking distance. I would 100% recommend this hotel and hope to stay there again one day!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peoria, Arizona

Wonderful beachside hotel in Carlsbad

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: We loved the beach side access! The rooms were clean and well kept.
Cons: The breakfast could be more substantial, microwaves in rooms, the water smelled funny like Sulphur in the shower.
Location: The Beach! It's right there. LEGOLAND is super close. Most restaurants, bike rentals, etc. are within walking distance.
This is the only beachside hotel in Carlsbad. If you want true beachside otherwise you must rent a condo. The beach is literally a flight of stairs away, there are complimentary chairs and umbrellas, and a beach valet to set them up for you and take them down at the end of your beach day. The rooms are huge and nicely appointed. Having a glass walk in shower was so nice! Having our windows open to listen to the ocean each night was like Heaven. We loved it! This hotel is very clean, we even saw a cleaning person wiping down the staircase railings to make sure they were clean and tidy. For the rate and the ease of our stay I couldn't recommend a better hotel in Carlsbad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to star

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Close to the beach. Clean rooms and great employees