Ratings based on 406 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fresno ca

Close to the beach

Posted Oct 17, 2017
An older hotel. Clean and the beds are comfy. Breakfast in the morning was nice. Bring ear plugs. You can hear everything!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Location, Location, Location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Room, arrival, location, staff friendliness
Cons: Not much. Great hotel and excellent location.
Location: To many to list, but I'll try: Downtown Carlsbad, the beach, bike rentals, restaurants, tourist shopping, a Coaster pickup/dropoff terminal.
Excellent arrival experience. The staff let us check in early, and the hotel is within easy walking distance to both the beach (across the street) as well as downtown Carlsbad, CA. Quick access to I-5 from several directions also. There's a nice guest lounge area, with both indoor and outdoor sections. Parking is easy, and the hotel will check out beach chairs, boogie boards, towels, and umbrellas. We'll stay here again, for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and literally close to the beach

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: So close to the beach and the opportunity to use beach chairs and an umbrella from the front desk.
Cons: N/A
Location: Walking distance to the beach, dining, and local transportation.
My husband and I had a wonderful vacation experience here at this hotel. We vacationed in Carlsbad for a week and stayed at this hotel. We have nothing but wonderful things to say about our stay here. We had a room with a fireplace which was very romantic, the view walking out of the hotel was just beautiful, and the convenience of the beach being just across the street. We were able to get two beach chairs and an umbrella at the front desk to use while we were at the beach, this was very convenient and a big plus for us. Almost everyday we used this opportunity, to go down to the beach and enjoy it for a couple of hours. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a great place to stay and who would like to stay in a hotel that's just right across the street from the beach. We would also like to thank the Hotel Supervisor, Prudence for being so kind to us during our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, Texas

Once again, excellent stay!

Posted Oct 10, 2017
This is my 3td visit to this hotel. Great location in Carlsbad Village, where you can walk to a variety of restaurants. Walk across the street and you are on the beach strand, wonderful for long walks and perfect beach scenery. The rooms are older, but clean. Complimentary breakfast is great and the staff is outstanding. Prudence the Manager goes out of her way to make you comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fl

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Pool and hot tub were dirty the days we were there
Location: Beach across the street. Restaurants and attractive shops.
We loved the location. The beach is right across the street and the hotel offers boogie boards, beach chairs, etc. We had a spacious room wth king size very comfortable bed. We would have liked a balcony but apparently the rooms with king size beds don't have the balconies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Great hotel close to beach

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Loved that they loan out beach chairs, beach umbrella, boogie boards, and towels. So convenient and nice to turn it back in upon return from beach!
Cons: Breakfast. More variety of hot items and a juice machine would have been nice vs the small cartons.
Location: Great location at a great beach. Plenty of walkable shops and affordable restaurants nearby. Close to Oceanside Pier and Harbor, Coaster station.
We enjoyed a great stay. Friendly, helpful staff. Well-kept facilities in a superb location across the street from the beach. Great views from the breakfast room and deck. Appreciated the covered carport parking. Our room was very nice, spacious and clean with a comfortable bed. Lots to see and do in the Carlsbad/Oceanside area. We look forward to our next visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect central location

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: After breakfast is finished at 10 it would be nice to be able to stay in the guest lounge but we were told we had to leave as breakfast was over.
Location: From Carlsbad by car we have driven into San Diego and Los Angeles and enjoyed long walks into Oceanside for the pier and harbour.
The hotel was perfectly situated right across from the beach. Rooms were large and comfortable. The breakfast was very good with lovely views of the ocean. We would definitely stay there again on our next visit to Carlsbad.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Great Location

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The greeting staff's interest in the customers. Green up and brighten up the pool/spa area. A mural? Plants?
Location: Harbor Fish Tacos is great; Jay's Pizza wonderful.
We chose the hotel based on location and it was perfect; we only had to walk across the street to access the beach or eat at a great seafood taco shop. The desk and breakfast staff were not friendly or helpful. They did not go out of their way to assist or inform guests of the hotel's or community's attributes. The rooms are dated but clean and beds are comfortable. The pool and spa are afterthoughts I suppose since the ocean is just steps away. The breakfast is akin to running into a convenience store and grabbing a few pieces of easy breakfast/snack on the run items. The bathroom is very small and there is no exhaust fan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Very close to beach and town.

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: We loved that it was just across from the beach and a short walk into town.
Cons: A hot breakfast i.e. Bacon and eggs etc., would have been nice.
Location: The location of the Hotel is excellent, just across from the beach. Plus only a block to walk into Carlsbad town.
We took the Coaster train from Carlsbad town into San Diego, toured the Midway and walked the prom down to Seaport Village. It was nice to be able to leave the car behind for the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

EXCELLENT LOCATION-NEWLY RENOVATED- HELPFUL STAFF

Posted Sep 9, 2017
My husband & I come to Carlsbad to escape the Las Vegas heat and enjoy the ocean several times per year. We have stayed on several properties in the Carlsbad/Oceanside area. This BW Plus Beach View Lodge is in a FABULOUS LOCATION! The front desk staff enjoy working at this newly renovated facility. The Common Outdoor Gathering Area (2nd floor) is IDEAL for relaxing & watching the sunset. The option of eating breakfast (7-10 am) each morning while enjoying the sights and sounds of the ocean is a favorite amenity. Covered parking. Elevators. We will DEFINITELY be coming back to BW Plus Beach View Lodge the next time we visit Carlsbad! Thank you!