Ratings based on 1,067 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun hotel, right across the street from the beach.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Staff were wonderful! Food was great! Thank you for a wonderful vacation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great access to beach

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Proximity to beach.
Cons: Hot tub.
I expected a bit more given the price of the rooms but the hotel is clean and rooms were nice. For the money, I'd rather do VRBO or Legoland hotel. I was there on my birthday and the staff was nice but service was quite slow and I noticed others complaining about service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2017
The views are spectacular and the restaurant has amazing lobster and shrimp tacos. Can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Very nice hotel and super close to beach.

Posted Oct 6, 2017
A little bit far from downtown of San Diego and Zoo, but very close to Costco and LEGOLAND. Parking is not as expensive as in some other hotels, Carlsbad is overall a very nice place to stay and this hotel has an excellent location to the beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

Little things

Posted Sep 30, 2017
It was the little things that didn't give it a better rating. Shower had a cap missing on shower handle. And a broken hook in bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Powell River

Awesome pool and view

Posted Sep 29, 2017
It was a great time there pool and sunset view was awesome, only a 5 min walk from the beach kids loved it, hote staff was helpful and sure made it an enjoyable stay, would totally recermend the stay here well worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Very nice hotel and friendly staff. The pool is really nice and clean. Hotel is located right across the street from the beach. Very quiet and peaceful area, away from all the heavy traffic around Carlsbad Villlage.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa cruz ca

Maintenance Cleaning

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The room was not very clean but the problem was when toilet flooring and took 3 hours then left all night without a toilet and ACID SMELL IN room !! Wouldn't stay here ever - the guy said he'd be back then waited only to find out he went home and nobody else available- they couldn't move us so no toilet - hotels of this size should have a room available just for this type of emergency!! For the $$ it's absurd !!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orange county ca

Housecleaning needs to work hard to see things

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The overall cleaning is very bad - baseboards under bed skirts carpeting glass tops shower floors even lamp shade dusty !! Obviously the managu is nthe t checking rooms enough! Disinfect headboards because there are even signs of activity nobody wants to see nor touch!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Holly - We appreciate the feedback on your recent stay. Please know that this is not the standard we hold for our housekeeping team. I will share this review in an effort to find ways to improve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Nice hotel close to the beach!

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Great location, very clean, nice amenities.Pool & spa very nice.Clean, friendly & nice staff. Would definitely return.