Ratings based on 1,023 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Ocean View

Posted Aug 19, 2017
This is a very nice hotel with an ocean view. The beach located across the highway is beautiful. It is situated nicely for Del Mar Racetrack, Encinitas and Carlsbad. There were many families with young children there so it's not a place for total relaxation. Parking is expensive but they have a self-park in back of hotel. Resort fee is pricey for people who don't use pool. Hotel staff was very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback on our resort. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our ocean views and location in San Diego county. We hope to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Cons: Beds too soft.
Very nice property. Quiet and walking distance to the beach. They have bikes you can ride too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback on our resort. We hope you enjoyed the beach and bike rentals. Please visit us again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Photos not reality

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Not impressed at all. The photos made this place look awesome and when we pulled in I knew immediately that I was going to be disappointed. I was there for only two nights and the first room we were in we had to leave when we got up due to the humidity in the room. Everything felt damp from the rug to the sheets. The hotel staff was accommodating and was able to change us right away. The second room was fine. Beds were comfortable. The beach is a pain you have to shuttle or drive to it. We drove and it was too crowded just to even park and the shuttle was every 2 hours so we opted for the pool. The staff was very attentive there. Drinks were good food was ok. For what turned out to be almost 1000.00 for 2 nights I could do much better somewhere else. I would not reccomend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback on our resort. We wish you were able to visit the beach across our resort. It is a short walk and we provide beach towels, chairs and umbrellas to rent. We hope that everyone enjoys their stay with us and wish you had a better experience. Thank you again for your time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great Hotel near the beach!!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Views were great
Location: Close to cute downtown Carlsbad. Excellent location.
This hotel was outstanding!!! The service was outstanding, views gorgeous and very clean!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kellie - Thank you for the great review. We are so glad to hear that you felt our service was outstanding and that you were able to enjoy our ocean views. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Legoland and beach

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Location: Legoland
Clean room and nice location. This hotel does charge a resort fee and parking. Frankly I believe the resort fee should be included in the rate from the search.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback on our resort. We are glad that you enjoyed your room and our location on the coast. We hope that you were able to enjoy the many amenities included with our resort fee. Thank you again for your time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Great hotel. Great location.

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Shuttle and "concierge" service to the beach is awesome!
Location: Nothing immediately near-by. But a 5 minute drive to all the restaurants and shopping. 2 minutes in the other direction and there's a Ralphs. Nice!
Nothing to complain about. It was a little pricey, but the resort was top notch. The location was AWESOME! And the view was spectacular. I was surprised that food at the pool was good and wasn't outrageous in price (beers were $6-8 and a meal sized sandwich was $12). Rooms were pretty nice and the staff was very accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Shaun, Thank you for the great review and feedback on our resort. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our beach shuttle service. Thanks again and we hope you choose to visit us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Very Nice place to stay. Close to the beach and many other activities. Would definitely recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the the great review. We appreciate the recommendation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
i really enjoyed my stay . the staff was really courteo
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We stayed for Father's Day weekend and we can't wait to go back. Loved it. A little pricey but totally worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Cape Rey for your Father's Day weekend getaway. We are glad that you loved it and hope to welcome you back soon! Thanks again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect beach location!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Beautiful location, great staff, great onsite amenities. Beds could be more comfortable but overall an excellent experience here.