Ratings based on 1,018 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great Hotel near the beach!!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Views were great
Location: Close to cute downtown Carlsbad. Excellent location.
This hotel was outstanding!!! The service was outstanding, views gorgeous and very clean!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kellie - Thank you for the great review. We are so glad to hear that you felt our service was outstanding and that you were able to enjoy our ocean views. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Legoland and beach

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Location: Legoland
Clean room and nice location. This hotel does charge a resort fee and parking. Frankly I believe the resort fee should be included in the rate from the search.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback on our resort. We are glad that you enjoyed your room and our location on the coast. We hope that you were able to enjoy the many amenities included with our resort fee. Thank you again for your time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Great hotel. Great location.

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Shuttle and "concierge" service to the beach is awesome!
Location: Nothing immediately near-by. But a 5 minute drive to all the restaurants and shopping. 2 minutes in the other direction and there's a Ralphs. Nice!
Nothing to complain about. It was a little pricey, but the resort was top notch. The location was AWESOME! And the view was spectacular. I was surprised that food at the pool was good and wasn't outrageous in price (beers were $6-8 and a meal sized sandwich was $12). Rooms were pretty nice and the staff was very accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Shaun, Thank you for the great review and feedback on our resort. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our beach shuttle service. Thanks again and we hope you choose to visit us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Very Nice place to stay. Close to the beach and many other activities. Would definitely recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the the great review. We appreciate the recommendation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
i really enjoyed my stay . the staff was really courteo
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We stayed for Father's Day weekend and we can't wait to go back. Loved it. A little pricey but totally worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Cape Rey for your Father's Day weekend getaway. We are glad that you loved it and hope to welcome you back soon! Thanks again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect beach location!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Beautiful location, great staff, great onsite amenities. Beds could be more comfortable but overall an excellent experience here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, upkeep lacking

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Location close to the beach. Originally a very beautiful hotel.
Cons: Hotel in need of renovation. Hotel charged us a room occupancy tax which was not correct.
This is our 4th, extended stay in 4 years. There have been several issues we would like to address. Kids: The hotel claims it is kid-friendly. Yet, the kids' room was turned into a meeting room this year. Cape Rey used to have little kids' welcoming presents (stuffed animal or beach toys) for the children that have fallen by the wayside. Fitness: The treadmill on the L was broken (made funny noises when turned on) - the same treadmill that was broken last year. All of the fitness equipment only had one channel - the one elliptical did not even have that one TV channel without constant disturbance. When I addressed that with the front manager Matt, he said that these issues had come up multiple times (!) with his engineer, and that he had trusted him that they would get fixed. He offered us breakfast vouchers in exchange. We received a quarter of the vouchers needed. We had to go in 3 times to ask for more vouchers and were told by Matt that he did not expect us to be such a large company (we are a family of four...). We finally got some more vouchers but not the necessary amount for the whole stay but were tired to address it again. The staff uses the bathroom in the fitness facilities as a staff bathroom. Hotel room: Rooms were made around 4:30/5 pm. We had to ask every day to have the rooms made earlier. The toilet roll handle was screwed on upside-down so the toilet roll fell onto the floor every time we used it. A towel hook nearly fell off the wall in the bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Ocean View

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The balcony was spacious and the furniture on the balcony comfortable.It also had an outside light, which was nice.
Cons: I had an issue with GPS - clicking through from Expedia to maps it took me to a different Hilton, about half a mile away.
Location: The beach was small(ish) and stony but it seemed to be ideal for surfers, of which there were many. There is a shuttle to another beach.
I had a room with full ocean view and a balcony, which was lovely but the ocean was across a road and right in front of my balcony was the pool. I suppose for some that would have been optimum but I had needed some time to work and had hoped to do so on the balcony in a beautiful setting. The pool was distracting. Having said that, I ended up working in the wee small hours with the pool (closed but lit) all still, two palm trees right in front of me and the distant sound of the waves. That was pretty impressive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet, overlooking to the beach

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Its a very nice hotel and we enjoyed our stay here.it is quiet, peaceful place. I love there pools and we were able to swim at night. The facility is clean. I will definitely come back here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great rating. We are so glad to hear that you will definitely come back here and we look forward to serving you again soon.