Ratings based on 1,091 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from idyllwild ca

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Great place Really clean and comfortable. 5 minute walk to the beach close to carlsbad village with lots of shopping and places to eat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Great oceanfront location. Good surf beach. Peaceful and family friendly We will go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Nice clean and quiet hotel, easy access to the beach, Great food friendly staff we loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oceanside, CA

Great ocean view

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Very peaceful and quiet hotel. Good but limited room service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

We will return to this Hotel again.

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: Great view and close to the beach. Restaurant and bar on premise.
Cons: I felt everything was in good order and a great value.
Location: Encinitas is just south on I-5 with lots of shopping and restaurants where we spent the day prior to checking in. The Beach is across the highway.
From our arrival & check in I was very impressed with this hotel. The staff were very friendly and the facility is top notch. Our room had the view we wanted and was very nice. The restaurant and bar were great and the parking was very convenient. Although we did not have time to enjoy the pool area it is really clean and well kept, the cabanas look like they would make for a great pool day too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from riverside ca

Nice beach view

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Elegant and nice. Very relaxing. Great getaway. Room was very clean, nice patio with sunset view
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale, FLA

An AMAZING Resort/Hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: The staff and the view
Cons: PERFECT as is
Location: Close to San Diego; close to Del Mar; close to Carlsbad and all the communities north and south along the Pacific Coast Highway
We booked the Cape Rey Resort for four nights in Carlsbad because we were attending the Breeders' Cup World Championships just south of here in Del Mar. I'd visited Carlsbad previously but not this resort. The Cape Rey was AMAZING. First, the view of the Pacific Coast Highway and Pacific Ocean was stunning from our balcony window. Secondly, and probably more importantly, the staff....EVERYONE of them....were so friendly, welcoming, and bent-over-backwards in their hospitality to make our stay the best possible. I would H-I-G-H-L-Y recommend this resort hotel! BIG TIME. I plan to return to the area and stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles,CA

Simply GORGEOUS!!!

Posted Oct 31, 2017
My family LOVED everything about our stay. We can not wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tarzana, CA

Great Legoland Alternative

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Terrific hotel in a great location - super close to Legoland, and wayyyyy better value than the Legoland Hotel. All the amenities you would expect from a Hilton. We will certainly stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Average class with good pool & restaurant

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: The pool and the one restaurant. There is also a lovely beach across the busy road and through the trailer park. Worth the walk!
Cons: Reduce the tariff to reflect the location
Average resort-style hotel. Unfortunately it is a little isolated and nowhere near the village of Carlsbad (i.e) for walks to cafes or restaurants) and not really by the beach! Over and above your room rate you will pay extra fees: Resort Tax, Room Occupancy Tax (not sure what that's for) and overnight parking. These were disappointing additional expenses!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear AJ - Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We appreciate the feedback as we are always finding ways to improve and provide a great experience for our guests. It is our hope that every guest finds value in our resort. We hope that if we have the privilege of serving you again, you are able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service. Thank you again for your time.