Ratings based on 3,733 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Disappointing experience. The interior is tired and worn. Mattress very lumpy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017
overall good stay and the pool is beautiful at night
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas, nv

unenjoyable experience

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: room was clean
Cons: totally revamp the breakfast
a lot of air traffic. the breakfast was terrible. as the name says it by the sea, but its not by the sea.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

No response from Management on Safety Issues

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: See review
The stay was disappointing and Management expressed no interest in rectifying the deficiencies. I stayed in August 2018. The door to my room (ground floor) leading to the pool was broken. The dirty towels were simply refolded and placed as thought they were clean replacements. Steam from the shower set off the fire alarm. Calling the front desk was ineffective as nobody ever answered. Visiting the front desk to apprise them of the issues yielded no results. Do not be lulled in by their lower rates, this property is truly a "you get what you pay for", if even that. I am sure this review will result on the typical reply from management that "we are sorry your stay did not meet your standards...blah blah blah". I even emailed them directly when I returned home but no response. Pathetic and will never even consider this property again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Carlsbad by the Sea Resort Disappointing

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort is not by the sea and is not a resort. It may have been in the 1960's but it is old and tired. It is a 2 star hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Close to legoland

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Close to Legoland
Cons: Needs an update for the price.
Location: Across the road from the outlet mall and lots of great restaurants within walking distance.
We enjoyed our short stay here. The place could definitely use an update, but our room was clean. We were facing the pool, but we didn't have time to use it. Was in walking distance to the outlet mall and lots of great restaurants. It was very close to Legoland which is why we booked it, and they have a shuttle to Legoland which we didn't use. The breakfast was decent. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old school but very nice.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Old school but very nice.
Cons: Some paint
Location: Perfect
Old school but very nice.Old school but very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2017
The staff was great and helpful. However, the hotel is a bit more dated than the pictures appear. The pool and jacuzzi were great. The breakfast could use some improvement. Location was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

As expected!

Posted Aug 24, 2017
This is a decent 3 star hotel worth a 3 star review. Grandkids enjoyed the pool and the grassy areas. Room and breakfast were just OK. The shuttle back and forth to LEGOLAND was very appreciated. Location is great for that if you are going there for that. There is no restaurant on site as advertised. I would rate 0.5 to 1 star higher except there were a couple of issues. Check in was delayed by 90 mins until 5:30 at night. Instead of apologizing or offering anything, the woman at the desk just said how hard the maids work to clean the rooms. I am sure that is true, and I am sympathetic, but still, genuine caring or apology would have gone a long way.....and then one of our rooms had a big damp/wet spot in the carpet when we checked in. Call to front desk promised action, but none came. Both things turned out OK, but it just seemed they were either understaffed or not really concerned or both. 3 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rowland heights ,ca

It's close to legoland which were we went!

Posted Aug 24, 2017
It was a nice hotel close to food,shopping and Legoland!