Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No good.

Posted May 9, 2017
No wtr pressure in the shower. One of our rooms has a leak from adjoining room that made the carpet wet rooms smelled musty. Was horrible checking in changed our rooms 3 times. We had reserved 2 rooms. Oil field workers home. Outside drinking, smoking. Felt very uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I'm sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations of quality service. Your comment on the water pressure, leaks in your room and the status of clean is reported to our management for evaluation and corrective measure. Rest assured that we will work hard to further improve our services.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sleep in your car first

Posted May 7, 2017
Dirty sheets, used soap put back in the plastic wrapcto look like new. Bugs in bath tub. Had 2 rooms both same. Baf squeaky beds
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am terribly sorry to hear all the inconvenience you encountered with our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. On behalf of the staff, we thank you for choosing our hotel and hope you give us a chance to serve you again and will experience the improvements we have made with our service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abq

Worth it to stay elsewhere.

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Front desk clerk. Convenience to the caverns and the town of Carlsbad.
Cons: Cleanliness. Seriously the sheets.
Location: The caverns are basically on the same road and only 30 minutes away. There is a park that the Pecos river runs through that is only 10 minutes away.
If you are heading to the caverns the day of, or after, this is right on the way. The girl at check in was super nice. That's about where the good stuff ends. The blanket had "stains" on it... There was a card that we could put on the bed to say we wanted the linens changed. I did that and when I got back hopeful, they definitely were NOT changed. The blanket had the same stains (...) and the sheets even had the same spots. Literally nothing was changed. Motorcycles were everywhere here and while that isn't bad typically, if you are trying to get up in the morning, the bikes at 3am might not help. There was also a weird flock of birds that were around the motel that were very loud, even with the fan going. Not that the motel can help with that, just a heads up. Please don't hurt the birds! There is a bar/restaurant in the courtyard with good prices but less than friendly staff. You get what you pay for though. Oh and I found a cockroach in the fridge.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept my sincere apology for the problems you encountered. You deserved a comfortable and stress-free stay, and we did not live up to your expectations. I ensure you that what you experienced is not acceptable, and we will take immediate action to identify why we failed so we can prevent these issues from occurring again. We hope you and your family will give us another chance to make this up to you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roswell NM

Need softer beds

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Very affordable, and clean. Beds are too hard. Overall was a good place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share this positive experience here in our hotel. We are delighted knowing that you found the clean to your expectations. I regret however that you were not very comfortable with our bed finding it quite hard for you. We are glad that you had an overall good experience during your visit. Warm regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

WAY nicer than some of the reviews indicated

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Cons: Their wake up clock seems to be running about 15 min slow. Needs to be reset.
Location: Turned out to be an ideal location for me. Actually within walking distance of the Performing Arts Center where I needed to be for 3 days.
After reading some of the reviews I booked here simply because it was about the only place left in town with a room that was within a reasonable drive of where I needed to be for the next few days. Upon arrival I was at first a bit put off at how many vehicles there were in the parking lots----Where in the world am I gonna park, not realizing the parking lot, while crowded was HUGE. Check in, no problem etc. Long story short---I'd have no problem staying there again while in Carlsbad.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Our ultimate ambition is to provide a five star experience, and we are thrilled to learn that we have succeeded. Thank you for taking the time to share this five star ratings with our management, staff, and future guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would stay again

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Nice for the price. Noticable upgrades have been made. Would have been lovely if the pool was filled. The breakfast was ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate the time you've taken to give us your insightful review. I apologize for the issue with the pool, I will send request to check on it and fix the issue. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We will do our best to make your next visit a better experience. Kind regards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Next to Construction Workers

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The lobby was large and well decorated. It was located about 20 miles from the National Park and had a number of service stations to choose from.
Cons: Locating guests according to age and number of night staying. Spraying for insects and such prior to renting out rooms.
Location: Two Parks: Lincoln and Carlsbad Caverns NP.
I am not sure why we were put in the back of the establishment. On one side there was a couple that was loud and had an old car that I was afraid was going to do damage to our truck every time they left and came back. One the other side some long-term construction workers had lawn chairs and a BBQ pit set up on the sidewalk in front of the cars. They smoked outside our window but were nice enough . . . Oh, and the cockroach on the ceiling in the batroom when we awoke was not a fun thing to have to deal with.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced following your stay here at our hotel. Please do call our front desk on your next visit for your concerns or if you need assistance. We hope to see you again and serve you better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jarbidge, NV

Hotel close to Carlsbad Cavers

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Our room was towards the back and was very quite. A good nights sleep (-:
Cons: The breakfast.
Location: Our reason for visiting Carlsbad was to see Carlsbad Caverns. Don't think we could have gotten much closer. Except maybe Motel 6, (yech).
No complaints. Price very good for retired people on fixed incomes. A lot of construction people were their but were pretty much keep in there own area so we had no disturbance from them. Have to say, the construction people we had contact with were very nice and they stayed very quite. The continental breakfast was nice but not as complete as most Quality Inns we have stayed at. Plan on retuning to the area and this will be our first choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, feedback and comments regarding your stay with us. I am glad that the ongoing improvement did not cause inconvenience to you. I hope we could have the chance to serve your breakfast again soon. Thank you once again for your insightful review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Cruces, NM

Good Value

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Good value for the money. Huge pool. Unfortunately, there was no water in it. Maybe because it was still March and too cold for water activity.
Cons: Two light bulbs were out. We called the desk but they were never replaced. As a result, the room was not as bright as I would have liked
Location: Great location. Near the caverns. Near restaurants. Near the river.
This hotel deserves better than a 2.5 rating. It's actually priced fairly when compared to other hotels in Carlsbad. The place has been recently renovated. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The shower was the best I've ever experienced in any hotel---wow, what amazing water pressure. The continental breakfast exceeded our expectations. They had bagels, muffins, cereal, juice, fruit salad, etc---definitely enough to get you started.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
It is wonderful to hear from you! We are so glad to hear from you and to learn that we were able to give you a pleasant, comfortable and convenient experience. It would be fantastic to see you again. Kind regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from y

Fun

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Nice workers, clean room, and easy stay. Close to caverns, and the zoo.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your positive feedback, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. Kind regards.