Ratings based on 498 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Would not stay again!

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: lobby and breakfast room
Cons: clean it
Location: location not great (outskirts of town). Big attraction is Carlsbad Caverns - about 25 miles away.
The hotel's lobby and breakfast room were very well maintained, clean, and attractive. That's where "nice" ended, however. The pool was closed, empty, and had collected a organic sludge in the bottom. The entire parking area was littered with thousands of cigarette butts as was the grassy area in the central courtyard. The walls in the room were dirty as was the carpet. There was no tissue and the coffee maker was missing the basket (where the coffee goes). There was also a broken lampshade stuck on top of a table lamp - all it did was hang on the light bulbs. Definitely did not feel like I got my money's worth. Yuck.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am very sorry you were displeased with your recent stay here at our hotel. Your comment about the pool, status of clean at the parking area, broken coffee maker and the lack of coffee as well as the lampshade in the room you stayed in is escalated. Again, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience, I assure you that these will be verified and addressed accordingly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gray, Ga

Don't do it!

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Dirty room. Pool hasn't been working in 3 years even though it is the first picture on their website. Way over priced for what you get. I can't believe this was a Choice Hotel. I will never stay at an Econo Lodge ever again. Expedia should drop them. Read the reviews on their website.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am very sorry for the issue you experienced on the condition of clean and value of our services. Your review as well as your comment about our pool will be addressed by our key people accordingly. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards.
4 out of 5
by Gus

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No good.

Posted May 9, 2017
No wtr pressure in the shower. One of our rooms has a leak from adjoining room that made the carpet wet rooms smelled musty. Was horrible checking in changed our rooms 3 times. We had reserved 2 rooms. Oil field workers home. Outside drinking, smoking. Felt very uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I'm sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations of quality service. Your comment on the water pressure, leaks in your room and the status of clean is reported to our management for evaluation and corrective measure. Rest assured that we will work hard to further improve our services.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sleep in your car first

Posted May 7, 2017
Dirty sheets, used soap put back in the plastic wrapcto look like new. Bugs in bath tub. Had 2 rooms both same. Baf squeaky beds
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am terribly sorry to hear all the inconvenience you encountered with our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. On behalf of the staff, we thank you for choosing our hotel and hope you give us a chance to serve you again and will experience the improvements we have made with our service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abq

Worth it to stay elsewhere.

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Front desk clerk. Convenience to the caverns and the town of Carlsbad.
Cons: Cleanliness. Seriously the sheets.
Location: The caverns are basically on the same road and only 30 minutes away. There is a park that the Pecos river runs through that is only 10 minutes away.
If you are heading to the caverns the day of, or after, this is right on the way. The girl at check in was super nice. That's about where the good stuff ends. The blanket had "stains" on it... There was a card that we could put on the bed to say we wanted the linens changed. I did that and when I got back hopeful, they definitely were NOT changed. The blanket had the same stains (...) and the sheets even had the same spots. Literally nothing was changed. Motorcycles were everywhere here and while that isn't bad typically, if you are trying to get up in the morning, the bikes at 3am might not help. There was also a weird flock of birds that were around the motel that were very loud, even with the fan going. Not that the motel can help with that, just a heads up. Please don't hurt the birds! There is a bar/restaurant in the courtyard with good prices but less than friendly staff. You get what you pay for though. Oh and I found a cockroach in the fridge.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept my sincere apology for the problems you encountered. You deserved a comfortable and stress-free stay, and we did not live up to your expectations. I ensure you that what you experienced is not acceptable, and we will take immediate action to identify why we failed so we can prevent these issues from occurring again. We hope you and your family will give us another chance to make this up to you.
4 out of 5
by Monica

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
Not very clean or quiet. Breakfast was stale. The staff was very friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roswell NM

Need softer beds

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Very affordable, and clean. Beds are too hard. Overall was a good place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share this positive experience here in our hotel. We are delighted knowing that you found the clean to your expectations. I regret however that you were not very comfortable with our bed finding it quite hard for you. We are glad that you had an overall good experience during your visit. Warm regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

WAY nicer than some of the reviews indicated

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Cons: Their wake up clock seems to be running about 15 min slow. Needs to be reset.
Location: Turned out to be an ideal location for me. Actually within walking distance of the Performing Arts Center where I needed to be for 3 days.
After reading some of the reviews I booked here simply because it was about the only place left in town with a room that was within a reasonable drive of where I needed to be for the next few days. Upon arrival I was at first a bit put off at how many vehicles there were in the parking lots----Where in the world am I gonna park, not realizing the parking lot, while crowded was HUGE. Check in, no problem etc. Long story short---I'd have no problem staying there again while in Carlsbad.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Our ultimate ambition is to provide a five star experience, and we are thrilled to learn that we have succeeded. Thank you for taking the time to share this five star ratings with our management, staff, and future guests.