Ratings based on 418 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
37% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midland TX

Not bad but...

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: easy access
Cons: Bug/roach infestation, pool and jacuzzi should be up and working if advertised as so, new mattresses
Location: the location is easy to access
The hotel itself looked good, the lobby was immaculate and updated and the room looked clean. There was a smell in the room that we couldn't identify so we bought some airfreshener spray to take care of the issue. The pool and jacuzzi were out of commission - completely drained. The mattress was super bouncy, seemed to be a few years old. But we could live with all this ... it was the roaches that joined us in our room the next morning that caused us to not want to return to this particular motel. Most probably, a good MONTHLY insect control visit would do the trick ~ but I won't go back to see if they take this advice or not.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Staying Here Every Time I'm in Carlsbad

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: all of the above
Cons: The swimming pool could be filled and made usable.
While on business trips, I've stayed at many (relatively) inexpensive motels in Carlsbad. They were all overpriced, noisy, and in poor shape. The clerks at the Econo Lodge are friendly and helpful. They offer choices in room locations and they are they are quick he rooms are spacious and well lit. The large screen TV has enough channels to choke a horse and the WIFI signal is strong!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Dave, It is great to hear from you and I am so glad that you enjoyed our staff courtesy and have taken the time to recognize the hospitality and care that we aim to provide for each and every guest. We are happy you enjoyed your stay! Come see us again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT AT ALL WHAT I EXPECTED

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The price was affordable.
Cons: For the condition of the hotel, it should be even cheaper. The rooms need to be aired out. The carpets need to be cleaned thoroughly and dried.
When we arrived in our room, the room smelled like mold and the air conditioner didn't work. We reported it to the front desk and she put us in a different room. The next room also smelled like mold really bad and didn't seem clean. Being that it was so late, and my husband and I had driven 4 hours already, we fell asleep and decided to check out the next morning (even though we prepaid 2 nights). I'll never stay here again, or recommend them. If these rooms are deemed "clean" and adequate by their staff, you won't convince the staff at this location of what a hotel should actually feel like.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Your review is greatly appreciated, though it is very disappointing to learn of the bad impression we made with the state of our accommodations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Kind of a dumpy place, and in need of repairs and upgrades. You get what you pay for! Their FREE breakfast consists of nothing but carbs (waffles, toast, breads, cereals) and absolutely no protein. Person at the counter, upon check out, was so busy on phone watching a video that he refused to look up and acknowledge me at first.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I regret that we failed to meet your satisfaction following your visit here a tour hotel. I wish we have more details about your stay so we could address your feedback accordingly. Nonetheless, we appreciate your candid review, this will be used as reference as we continue to strive to provide our guests the best value experience. Thank you for staying at our hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel pool was not operational so we canceled

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Hotel staff was not friendly, had family in lobby area while she was working. Pool was not operational so canceled our reservation and stayed elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I wish we have more details about your booking and your stay at our hotel so we could verify what took place during your stay. I hope we could have the opportunity to serve you again .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff was rude

Posted Jul 28, 2016
When checking in lady was on cell phone seemed bothered to help, pool closed and filthy, no coffee pot in any of the 3 rooms we rented.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I wish we have more details about your stay at our hotel so we could verify and address your review. Your comment will be shared with our team, this will be used as reference as we continue to strive to provide our guests the best value experience. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pool Closed

Posted Jul 22, 2016
It would have been nice if I'd been informed of the pool being closed when I reserved the room!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear SKJ, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy our pool as it was closed for maintenance during your visit. I hope we could have the chance to serve you again, I apologize for the oversight in informing about status of our pool when you reserved your stay at our hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Angelo Tx

Smelly Hotel, with rude employes

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: nothing
would not recommend this hotel to no one. Lobby smelled bad, and the worker behind counter was not friendly, and down right rude. It was 105 outside, we got there sign on door said pool was closed. I told her there advertisement said nothing about that. She asked me where I booked it from, I told her expedia. All she could say to that is that they should have known it was out and told us. Needless to say even though I had already paid for the room, we went and found another one. I really feel I should not have to pay for this, and will be contacting the hotel manager on Monday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Laurie, I am so sorry to hear that you were uncomfortable with the condition of clean, unhappy with the services from our front desk staff. Your review and shared experience on your booking will be verified, our key people will rectify this issue. I hope you will accord us a chance to make up for the setback.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas NV my home

Just needed a place to sleep for the night.

Posted Jul 8, 2016
It served its purpose. Bed was comfortable. Hot shower. Coffee in lobby was good. Price was right.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your positive feedback on your experience at our hotel. We will do our best to make your future visits a better experience. We hope to see you again. Have a lovely day!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Carlsbad Caverns Close

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Traveling east from Tucson, we stopped for the bat program at Carlsbad Caverns then checked in. We returned to Carlsbad the next day. The motel was fine for an overnight stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Bob, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback , I am happy to hear that you had a fine experience during your stay. It would be lovely to see you again. Have a great day!