Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quincy, IL

Better than expected.

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: New, up to date, great breakfast.
This was our first stay at a Fairfield Inn in a long time. It seems they are a "cut above" from what they used to be. This hotel was very new and up to date. For the price range, it is as an excellent choice. Breakfast very good with lots of fresh fruit and other choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016
One night stay. Staff very helpful with questions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca

Nice hotel, close to Carlsbad Caverns.

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Hotel staff was very friendly and room was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pleasant visit, close to food, caves, etc. would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island BC

OK Hotel in Carlsbad

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: It was modern and good location. Breakfast was good and the attendant at breakfast was excellent.
Cons: A little more customer service, positive attitude at reception, extra housekeeping when hotel is full.
Location: Nice pool, good breakfast, centrally located, oil field is main customer apart from tourism at nearby Carlsbad Caverns National Park.
Hotel is new and modern, front desk staff less than enthusiastic about being there. Unable to recommend places to eat and knew nothing about the nearby caverns and clearly didn't care either. No brochures or additional info available in lobby about local amenities, specifically cavern tours. Second day room was not cleaned as housekeeping overwhelmed with to many rooms to service and not enough staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2016
The hotel has very spacious, clean rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would stay there again,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque NM

Pretty nice and comfortable.

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: Pretty much everything. Really great staff, comfy beds.
Location: Good location on Main Street in Carlsbad and easy to get to the Carlsbad Caverns.
This Fairfield Inn was very, very nice.The staff was great, very helpful. The breakfast selection was good and the food was fresh, lots of choices, we really enjoyed it. We were really looking forward to using the outdoor pool, it looked great, but the rain continued for 2 days, but the desert looked lovely and was very happy for the rain, everything was green! We enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice clean, comfortable hotel.

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Pros: Room was clean and comfortable. The hot tub was nice.
Cons: The breakfast could be improved. Even though we got there in plenty of time some of the food was running short.
The hotel staff were very nice and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was the only thing that could have been improved.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Very disappointed.

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: The room was clean.
Cons: See all the complaints above......we should not have to pay full price when most of the extras were not usable. Also the pool was very small.
Location: Carlsbad Caverns.
I was very disappointed paying over $210 a night, was hoping to enjoy the pool and hot tub after 2 long and hot days at Carlsbad Caverns (the caverns were awesome), the hotel pool look liked it hadn't been cleaned in a few days, as it was full of leaves. There were also safety hazards around the pool, an old pair of black gloves, the hoses for cleaning the pool on the deck. The hot tub was full of algae and leaves (staff said they were waiting on a new pump. Took my granddaughter to look at the gas fire pit and it was full of beer cans. Then we got to our room, and no cable......so no pool, hot tub or TV! Staff said they could not give us any type of refund or discount because we booked through Expedia.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Too pricey for the quality

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Not sure where to start; the pool was filthy and a parent was complaining about the chlorine at the front desk. One look at the water and I never would have allowed my child in there anyway. The first room I was in had a leak beneath the ac unit which they just allowed to seep through the carpet and continually placed towels on the floor. The carpet was soaked a good seven feet beyond the unit. Every time I would leave my room the key would deactivate. The door malfunctioned and they had to reset my keys 4 times. That was a lot of walking. The staff was nice, they tried to accommodate what I saw were numerous complaints by other occupants besides myself. The hotel just needs more maintenance and staff. It was very lovely minus all the mechanical issues we faced. Comfort wise, it was fantastic.