Ratings based on 322 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice hotel close to shopping and food

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: clean the carpet
Location: Walmart & IHOP were within walking distance
This was my first time staying in Carlsbad, so I wasn't sure about location when I booked this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised that it was very close to everything such as Walmart, IHOP and places we use regularly when out of town. The room was clean, the beds were soft and comfy, and it was nice and quiet. There was a moldy smell coming from the floor near the mini fridge, which was probably from a leak at some point in the past. It was only when you walked close to the fridge, so we didn't complain to the staff. I would stay here again, but would request a different room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Staff uneducated on service animal rights night staff very accommodating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Beds were very comfortable, close to a walmart, breakfast was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel. Conveniently located

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Very nice room. Staff was excellent. Small outdoor pool needs some shade. Very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

A GREAT PLACE TO STAY

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Staff, free breakfast, room comfort, overall furnishings, and décor were all great!
Cons: I did not see anything that needed to be improved.
Location: It's easy to find local restaurants, Carlsbad Caverns NP, and Chalaupa Mtns NP, which are all on the same main highway as the hotel.
My room was great, modern and comfy. The breakfast buffet was in a swell room and the food was delicious! Staff at the front desk was super helpful with directions to local places and advice about restraurants!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Comfortable hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2017
The room was smaller than I expected and they kept running out of food on the breakfast buffet. Other than that, the staff was nice and the room was clean and comfortable. Also, be warned, a TRAIN runs about twice a day - honking - in front of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, Utah

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Nicely-appointed room. Great location for visiting Carlsbad Cavern.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin TX

Posted May 29, 2017
Hot breakfast foods were either cold or non-existant. After leaving at 9am & returning at 5pm, the room hadn't been serviced. We.settled for a few clean towels & emptying the trash.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

On the way to Carlsbad Caverns

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Location, price, cleanliness and staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: There's an IHOP on one side of the hotel and a Walmart's on the other. Wasn't looking for anything to do - had spent the day in Roswell
Wasn't expecting to find this gem on my trip. Lovely lobby, free coffee and cookies when we walked in. Girl at the counter was super-helpful. Room was very clean and the bed was very comfy. Walked across the parking lot to the Walmart's and got food for a picnic which we took back to the dinning area because they had a fireplace (which the girl turned on for us). The weather was nasty - big storm blowing in and we sat in front of the fire and had our dinner. Wonderful time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Overall stay was excellent, great customer service.