Ratings based on 1,703 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lodi, ca

Beautiful views and close to Legoland

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Loved this hotel and the Karl Strauss Brewery right next door. Fun little playground for the kids and the views were incredible.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tijuana Baja California Mex

Its ok, nothing spectacular or outstanding

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: A in house restaurant or sports bar. The only option there is order by phone to the Karl Strauss restaurant.
I gave it an ok rating because the hotel lacks amenities. Its great if you are visiting Legoland, Location is also very good. No bad experience, I just expected something better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Definitely a place we will return to!

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Pleasantly surprised by every aspect of our stay. My only regret is that we only had time for one day. We’re lookig forward to a longer stay in the future. My daughter gives it “5 million stars”.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2018
I reserved a room with a King bed. When I checked in I was told there were no more rooms available with a King bed, so I was offered a room with a Queen bed. I asked for a room with a King bed, like I reserved. I was then told that since I booked my room through a third party (Expedia), they could not offer me a room with a King bed. I had no choice but to take what they would give me. So were they out of rooms with a King bed, or because I booked with Expedia, they wouldn’t give me a room with a King bed? I won’t stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2018 by Manager , Hotel Management
Hi Rob - we're sorry to see you were disappointed in your stay with us. Please do not hesitate to call - we would be more than happy to discuss with you. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA

Decent hotel but could use a refresh

Posted Feb 8, 2018
Needed a place to stay for just one night. Room was comfortable, especially the bed. Bathroom was showing its age, however, and could use a refresh. Staff is friendly and the shuttle service around town is conveniet. Didn’t have time to try the pool but it sure looked inviting. Like that there is a separate pool for children.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your feedback - we appreciate you taking the time to rate your one-night stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great trip to Legoland with grandkids

Posted Feb 5, 2018
What a great family weekend trip to Legoland and San Diego Zoo. The resort was so kid friendly! We rented two two bedroom condos. They were spacious, comfortable, clean and well equipped. The staff was very helpful. Very informative and friendly shuttle drivers to and from Legoland
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review - we're glad you had a great trip!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ventura

No follow up

Posted Feb 3, 2018
The hotel "security" barged into our room in the middle of the night. Luckily we locked our door from the inside. He stated he thought the room was empty. We told the front desk of our experience and were told a manager would follow up with us. It's been a week and still no call from management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Posted Feb 3, 2018
The size and variety of things to do on the property was very good. Also the views were nice because we were up high on the hillside.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2018 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review, Jim!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Encino, CA

Who knew spam could come in a human form

Posted Feb 2, 2018
I pulled up to the front for hotel guest check in at this “resort”. What resort doesn’t have anyone in the front to greet you or guide you where to park. There’s no obvious guest check in parking. Vague signs that go from “guest check in parking ahead” then when you pull up it says “drop off only” then there’s no parking spot lines or anything so you’re left to park awkwardly on the side. Before I got to this hotel, I read the reviews & saw that their “concierge” will harass you with marketing so I purposefully declined to stop by the concierge desk to get pool wrist bands as the registration desk advised me to do... well instead concierge decides to call me at 10:00am the next morning to start with the spam harassment. I interrupted her mid-sentence, told her I’m only staying there for a business trip and was very clear that I know they’re known for trying to sell you time shares, etc and that I’m not interested and if I decide I want to swim, I will stop at the desk for a wristband only. she apologized but then called again the next morning at 9:00am!!! My company had a party the night before so I didn’t get back to my room til late. I said “I am asleep, how can I help you????” She immediately apologized and hung up. This place is a joke, spend your money elsewhere!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long beach California

Nice hotel close to everything and nice pool.

Posted Jan 30, 2018
I really like my stay at grand palasides. I like the fact that they have they are kid friendly hotel where your kids will have fun since thwu have a pool where your kids can play also there is an activity center complimentary sw diappee for infants, the view is awesome, the fire place its quite.. the room was big enough and i felt like it was a home for me, i like that we can grill and cook inside the villa which saves us a lot of money eating out. Its not overpriced for the kind of room they offered you. The girl at the feont upgraded us complimentary to a 2 bedroom it was a nice experience i just wish they will open a 3 bedroom for a larger family.