Ratings based on 1,222 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Good stay for the price...

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the beach!
Cons: The breakfast room was not well laid out, with no direction to the buffet and people going in all directions and bumping into each other.
Location: See above
This hotel was a quaint Hyatt hotel located about 2 blocks from the beach in Carlsbad. Hotel amenities were nice, although the pool area was rather small. A small park and a few restaurants were within walking distance as well, but not too much else (no fault of the hotel though!). A Caltrain railway was about 100 yards away and an occasional passing train could be heard, but it was not too bad. The hotel was very close to the freeway without any freeway noise. Hotel staff were very nice and cordial, and the room was clean and had a kitchenette and full size refrigerator.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Ok hotel close to the beach, but also the freeway

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Not a great hotel, but it was ok. Bathroom door didn't shut all the way, and the lack of a fan made taking showers very hot. Room noise was really low, except for the freeway noise. We asked about switching to the opposite side of the hotel at check-in once we learned we were on the freeway side, but were told the Coaster train that runs by the other side gets more complaints than the freeway. There's only one elevator which I thought was weird considering the size of the hotel. Free breakfast was really good, beds were so-so.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Nice hotel even if you aren't going to Legoland

Posted Jul 17, 2017
I think there must have been a staff changeover. Last time we stayed there - 2 years ago - the hotel was clean but everything else about it was just "off" and I had sworn it off. This year I was enticed by the prices to try again. I was disappointed that the complimentary evening happy hour had been discontinued, and even though we weren't including legoland this visit it is too bad they aren't offering that shuttle service. In place of those they are offering an omelet station in the morning. This is very popular and VERY slow. The staff could use better gear for prep. My biggest complaints about the hotel are 1. Toilet paper dispensers are too far from the toilet in the rooms - sounds funny but not when you're 6&8. 2. The layout of the breakfast area is like eating at every I5 intersection in downtown LA - bread is here but toaster and everything else is there, lines for waffle station extends to table area. 3. More eating area is needed - maybe make the conference room available?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Close to the freeway and the beaches.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Beach and freeway access.
Cons: Carpets are old and dingy. Smoking near the doorways (outside) needs to stop.
Location: Carlsbad, Beaches, San Diego, Many things to do.
Close to beaches, Carlsbad, freeway and the base. Hotel is in good shape, but getting a little rough around the edges. Still it was suitable for my family and I. There is a nearby train that one can hear at night. This may bother some people, but we somewhat enjoyed it. As a matter of fact, it prompted us to take a ride down to San Diego on the Coaster.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indio, Ca.

Nice hotel very close to the beach.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Nice stay at this Hyatt. Sammys Woodfire Pizza just down the street. Also an In and Out. Room had a full size refrigerator, small electric stove, microwave, sink, dishwasher and utensils. Only issue was the construction happening on this street, but all was quiet due to weekend stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wa

Nice hotel close to legoland and Carlsbad beaches

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Hotel was great, the pool was warm and plenty big. Our room had a mini kitchen and a full fridge. Breakfast was great, one of the best hotel offer breakfasts I have had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Close to Legoland, comfortable with breakfast incl

Posted Jul 10, 2017
This is an older property that is reasonably good shape. The rooms are fairly good size - we are family of 6 and we managed though it was a bit snug. Staff was friendly and the room was clean. Our stay included a hot breakfast (made to order omelets, fresh self-made waffles/pancakes, eggs, sausage or ham) which was quite good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fremont, CA

Nice and close to Legoland and beach

Posted Jul 8, 2017
We enjoyed the stay. The staff is really nice. This place is close to Legoland and beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fort worth tx

Real close to Legoland

Posted Jul 7, 2017
It is a little older hotel but definetly roomy not small we had a family of 6 in all. The staff is not as friendly when we asked for blankets, pillows, I mean if they were in the closet to begin with would of never had to ask. Some dishes were outside our room for 24 hours until I said something they were not ours either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monument, CO

Great Time

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Aside from a little mold in the shower, a peeling tub and a dirty air vent the stay was great. Staff was attentive and the provided breakfast (especially the omelette bar) was perfect. The property has an onsite laundry room that makes it perfect for families with small children. Having said children, morning can get loud as kids run down the halls so if you're looking to sleep in past 7am, you had better be a deep sleeper. Gym is nothing to write home about but with the ocean a mere block away, I'm not sure what sane person would want to run on a treadmill. There aren't any weights so that muscle beach bod will have to be built elsewhere.