Ratings based on 1,258 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Beautiful Hotel close to Legoland and Beach

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Our check in was at 3:00pm but we had arrived a tad too early... we asked to be checked in around noon and unfortunate no room was available at that time. The front desk gentleman was super nice and helpful and suggested for us to grab lunch while they prepared a room for us. He took our number and said he would call us when the room was ready. He was so sweet and he even gave us a map of the surrounding area and recommended a couple of good restaurants that were minutes away. We went ahead and went to lunch and by the time we finished up we got the call that our room was ready. Checking in was really fast. He had accommodated us with two play pens for my kids which was awesome! When we walked in to the room . The room was beautiful, clean and very modern. Our hotel room had a kitchenette and we loved it! The room was cozy the beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. Housekeeping was very quick with providing extra pillows and blankets. Later that night we went to the pool and jacuzzi and enjoyed some nice relaxing time. The pools were clean and they had spare towels outside which was convenient. The next morning we got to enjoy a breakfast buffet that's is included with the stay. The eggs were super delicious. My son loved the waffles and cereal and my little girls loved eating boiled eggs and oatmeal. Such a superb Hotel! I definitely recommend this Hotel especially if you plan in heading over to legoland or the beach. It's only minutes away!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corvallis, OR

Great Value for Legolanders

Posted Aug 31, 2017
This was our second trip to Legoland and rebooked at the Hyatt House Carlsbad based on the positive experience from our first stay. Again was not disappointed. Friendly, helpful staff; great amenities; close, convenient location to park and nearby shopping. I love that our rooms have small, well equipped kitchenettes if you want to do your own cooking. However, this time there was one small (and amusing) of our particular kitchenette as shown in the included photo… (;^D Still, I highly recommend Hyatt House as the place to stay in Carlsbad!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Mot what I expected!

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Size of the room.
Cons: Cleanliness.
Location: Close to Legoland.
The room was a good size for a family of Five. The toilet kept making noises, the refrigerator was loud and trains go by all night. The carpet needs cleaning in the hallways.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Hotel!!!

Posted Aug 15, 2017
We had such an awful experience. Room was dirty. Room did not have linens, blankets, pillow cases for sofa bed for my kids and in fact when I called the front desk for all these things I was told they were short staffed that I had to get my own stuff by walking to the front desk! Just such a horrible, horrible, horrible experience!!!!!!!!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Not sure how they get a 4 out of 5

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach and legoland
Cons: Never use damp comforters when you make the beds.
Arrived the first day at 1:30 Am and the beds were wet from damp comforters that were put on the beds when the room was made up. I ask for help and the desk clerk handed me new sheets to put on myself. They must have people living in the hotel because there was a room that cooked fish every night and the whole floor stunk like fish until morning. I insisted that they replace the bedding and damp mattresses the second morning. Got better after that but the first impression was really bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura, Ca

Nice facility, but hard to talk to somebody

Posted Aug 8, 2017
The facility itself was quite nice. It looks like it's been updated and I felt comfortable. The continental breakfast was had a good variety and tasted good. I didn't really use the wifi, so I can't comment on that. Overall a pleasant experience once I got there. However, after reserving my room and then calling the resort to ask questions and make changes was frustrating. I called 6 - 8 times and only got through once. One time I even sat on hold for 20 minutes listening to relaxing music thinking somebody surely would pick up. Very nice place, but not good at answering their phones. Eric
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Few reasons to recommend

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Our initial impressions were marred by the fact that the room was right behind the elevator, laundry room and ice machine. It was impossible to get any sleep. We were told at check in that moving rooms would require a $50 fee but after one night the other desk person waived the fee. Breakfast was the usual fare and replenished promptly. The rooms need some repairs. Our second room had a tub faucet that could not turn off completely and so the enamel was peeling off from the constant dripping. We'd stayed here two years ago and liked the managers reception and the free shuttle to Lego land. These two features were the main reason for our return visit. And they still listed them when we'd booked. Well they are no longer offering either of these two services. That for us was a huge disappointment for us. All they've got to offer is a free breakfast, along with a close location to Lego land, the highway and the train tracks. Which by the way means you get woken by train horns in the morning hours. Sorry, but my advice is to pick a different hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Our room had kitchen so when we walked into the suite, it smelled like someone just cooked in that room. We stayed in room #213 which was right beside their laundry room with ice machine inside. When we lie on the bed, we could feel the vibration from the washing machine and dryer. Also the ice machine was running all through the night which we can hear so well. Their laundry room was open 24hrs. We did complain to the front desk next morning and the staff said sorry.. but they could put us in different room in first place since it was not full. Only thing that I liked about this hotel was friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Good stay for the price...

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the beach!
Cons: The breakfast room was not well laid out, with no direction to the buffet and people going in all directions and bumping into each other.
Location: See above
This hotel was a quaint Hyatt hotel located about 2 blocks from the beach in Carlsbad. Hotel amenities were nice, although the pool area was rather small. A small park and a few restaurants were within walking distance as well, but not too much else (no fault of the hotel though!). A Caltrain railway was about 100 yards away and an occasional passing train could be heard, but it was not too bad. The hotel was very close to the freeway without any freeway noise. Hotel staff were very nice and cordial, and the room was clean and had a kitchenette and full size refrigerator.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Ok hotel close to the beach, but also the freeway

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Not a great hotel, but it was ok. Bathroom door didn't shut all the way, and the lack of a fan made taking showers very hot. Room noise was really low, except for the freeway noise. We asked about switching to the opposite side of the hotel at check-in once we learned we were on the freeway side, but were told the Coaster train that runs by the other side gets more complaints than the freeway. There's only one elevator which I thought was weird considering the size of the hotel. Free breakfast was really good, beds were so-so.