Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed here twice!

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Good breakfast!
I really like this hotel. This is the second time I've stayed in this hotel while visiting the Caverns. Check-in was really easy and the staff were really nice. Hotel pool and hot tub were clean as well as the fitness center (although I didn't use it). Breakfast was delicious and the staff were readily available if anyone needed assistance. Check-out was also super easy and the rooms were clean!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

Needs a redo.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
My two complaints are a worn mattress with big dips and that the breakfast cook doesn't know how to prepare the eggs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Il.

Nice room, pool and staff

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: size of room, staff
Location: Carlsbad caverns are nearby and where our vacation started.
I was greeted with a nice bottle of cold water and a friendly staff upon arriving. The rooms were clean and large enough for all 5 of us! When I checked out they asked me if I wanted to take some water for the drive--simple thing but very nice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Great hotel for access to Carlsbad Caverns

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: clean and quiet
Cons: It's more expensive than similar hotels in other cities as a function of demand verses competition.
Location: forty minutes to Carlsbad Caverns.
There aren't many choices when you want to stay in the area to tour the caverns but this was a great choice. A great staff welcomes you. They have nice amenities, decent breakfast, great bed, and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM

Trip to Carlsbad Caverns

Posted Apr 26, 2016
I called ahead to hotel letting them know we were on our way; checked in late- the doors were already locked at 9 pm; finally the front desk strolled over to open them; he was very unhappy checking us in not even a smile; very unpleasant front desk person; room was acceptable and breakfast staff were excellent so that made up for the front desk check in; checking out did not get a receipt like promised. I like Holiday Inn Express Hotels just have to work on more friendliness at front desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay, great breakfast, great staff

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Had a great experience here. Room was comfortable and clean, great staff and great breakfast compared to other Holiday Inn Express' I have stayed at before. Would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Best place to stay

Posted Apr 25, 2016
The staff was super friendly, very clean and breakfast was delicious! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Carlsbad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Family vacation for a nice relaxation.

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Everything! The rooms are nice and roomy; the breakfast was great.
Cons: Nothing; everything was great!
Location: Great location! Nice restaurants and stores nearby.
We had a really great experience; it was better than some hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Martha's Vineyard, MA

friendly staff, nice breakfast service

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Pros: friendly staff, great complementary breakfast, wonderful deli across street, and clean, warm pool and jacuzzi
Cons: Not much - maybe a few more hangers!
Location: We loved Carlsbad Caverns in White City and the Living Desert Museum in Carlsbad with our 13-yr old, & Guadalupe National Park to west was stunning!
Check-in was easy and both day and night staff were very friendly and helped with dinner directions; loved the pool and jacuzzi after cave hike!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Very good hotel but noisy location.

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Pros: Everything except the noise
Cons: Street noise was terrible.
Location: Carlsbad caverns was an incredible experience and should not be missed.
Everything about the hotel and staff was excellent, but the location made it very noisy. The street in front of the hotel seems to be a major place to cruise at night for the locals in very noisy pick-up trucks. We could not believe how many of the vehicles going by on the street and parking lot of the mall next door were clearly geared to make the most noise possible.