Ratings based on 2,578 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bugs

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Upon opening the door to the hotel room noticed 4-5 bugs crawling on the walls. Went back to tnt front desk and the young lady commented that she didn't know why they put that room back I service as they have had problems with this issue for awhile. Supposedly no other rooms available in property. Had to find a room somewhere else for out group of 6 at 930pm with sleepy tired cranky kids. Not cool!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Stay away

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The room was decent aside from it filling with smoke and the outside being still under construction.
Cons: Close the place down till renovations are done and get friendly, more customer oriented staff.
There are much better places. Hotel staff are rude and uncooperative. Our first morning there they had a "friend" or possibly a staff member literally BBQing in the parking lot beginning at 6am. Smoke filled the rooms as well as inside of cars. The staff that morning said they were not aware anyone was BBQing yet the smoke was covering the entire facility. We were offered a different rate that morning after complaining and being told it was not their problem from the young man at the front desk being they can not dictate what the guests do. But, upon checking out was told they "cant recall offering us a different rate". So we literally had to spend over an hour checking out with our two small children waiting and starving as they had not had breakfast. We had to contact expedia bc we prepaid so no refund can actually be offered being it was paid in full. SO DO NOT PAY IN FULL THROUGH EXPEDIA AS THE HOTEL THAN IS NOT REQUIRED TO OFFER A REFUND AND BOTH THE ESTABLISHMENT AND EXPEDIA WILL SCREW YOU OUT OF MONEY. The breakfast was a joke as it was merely watery eggs and dried up bacon. Coffee was burnt and watery as well. This whole facility is in the process of being redone I guess and construction is literally happening all around you. There is a LaQuinta or Motel 6 right next-door that are nicer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
İt was better 3 years ago. Noe it is beşng renewed
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carlsbad, Ca

Hotel near the highway / beach.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Hotel near the highway / beach. Suitable for a night rest. NOT a vacation location - be careful if this is what your looking for. Stayed 11 Nights with my family (wife and four kids). Price was too good to be true... be careful booking with Expedia as the hotel is NOT flexible to changes in reservations once checked in. You will eat any portion of your paid stay if you plan to leave early. Hotel staff were pleasant - apparently thankful for a job, which may be difficult to come by in the area. Unfortunately their employer (the hotel) provides something in between a halfway house, youth hostel, and extended stay for Caltrans / construction workers. They place is hopelessly outdated to be a relevant beach hotel that aims to please guests of most demographics. They are in the process of room renovations, however. Blue collar hard core working class folk will be most at ease here. Get to the breakfast early to avoid total depletion of boring, never-changing food stock. Don't expect to be able to sit anywhere-standing room only. Here's what I liked: didn't get robbed or anything stolen. There almost certainly is a Megan's law convict staying there that didn't abduct one of my four children - I like that we're out. Will NEVER stay there again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlsbad

Employees need to step up or get new ones!

Posted Sep 16, 2017
I WAS very disappointed with the maid service there!! Also w some of the staff! After our stay of 3 nights, I called front desk from my cell because ,the hotel phone didn't work . I made sure to call before 3 so we wouldn't miss our chance for the room to get cleaned. The girl at front desk said that she would make sure to let them know to clean. As we were leaving, I seen the maid & knew they were still working & figured I didn't have to tell her that staff would. Well after a long day of running around taking care of things we get back to a dirty room. I was so upset ! It needed to be cleaned & it wasn't. Told staff right away & he said he would do something and take of me but never did!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good price for hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Can't beat the price we paid . Nothing fancy, room is clean , bed is comfortable and bathroom is updated and clean . Good breakfast. Place is under renovation and the other rooms - from the outside looks iffy. But our room was nice . In good location so was not worried about our car. My husband enjoyed the pool. If you want to save money and don't care about the amenities , this Is a good choice. Close to outlet and good places to eat .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Should add more variety and quality to breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Covina

Stay Away

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Worst experience ever should have listen to the reviews on this place. I check in 30 minutes early and ask if it was ok the reply was " you're early" no welcome to Ramada or nothing else, got keys to the room with directions were to go and that was it. Upon finding room the door look like old and dirty, the inside was a little better seems like they are remodeling a mix of new and very old stuff our problem was there was mold in the curtain and the light in the barhroom did not work, I call right away and was told someone will be there soon, waited 30 minutes and nothing, when to front desk and explaing the situation whit pictures that I took to and old lady that replace the guy that check me in and told me some body will be there, I told her the mold causes allergies to my wife and if please send someone right away and she reply " if is a great deal of an issue pull them down your self" and that was it that did it for me, I requested to be check our didn't want to spend one more minute there. She couldn't do it did not know how she call some body and call me rude, I respect people specially old people never said anything disrespectfilull, the only thing I told her was she had no bussines working in the hotel industry, a guy there point me to the manager and I explaing situation, unapologetic she check me out and say no more, end up staying at the Holyday In way better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Overall it was a good experience. Bed was comfortable. Room smelled a little strange.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

check in and checkout

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
we arrived a little early they said check in 3pm, got back and 3:30pm got one room, other room was still not ready. they said check out 12 noon, at check in and out only one person behind the counter and it took ages, even on check out it took ages as only one person on duty.