Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mpls, MN

At entrance of Carlsbad Caverns NP

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Clean but a little run-down. No bugs. If you want to stay near Carlsbad Caverns national Park, it is one if not the only choice, and that's worth something. Breakfast was minimal (no peanut butter) with nowhere to eat inside, sat outside at a picnic table which was just fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016
There was a power outage therefore no TV. And don't advertise that you have free WiFi if there is no service in the area. The only redeeming quality was proximity to the Caverns.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Need breakfast food for diabetics. No air conditioning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Closest hotel to Carlsbad Caverns

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Very convenient to Carlsbad Caverns and much better than traveling back and forth from Carlsbad. The rooms are very spacious and clean. We were not disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Close to caverns, slides only open Sat/Sun

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff & a clean pool.
Cons: Advertise that water slides are closed during the week. It seems immoral to advertise a primary feature of the motel without posting operating times.
Location: Carlsbad Caverns is a short drive from the motel
Rather expensive for the accomadations. Rooms were clean but it's an older motel and its age is showing. The slides are closed during the week which was news to us and unfortunate for our stay. There are newer and less expensive accomadations in the area but none as close to the caverns. Staff was friendly and the pool/play area was the highlight of our stay. There is a single restraunt and a gas station near the motel; everything else requires a 20 minute drive into the town of Carlsbad.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Convenient to Carlsbad Caverns

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: Location and clean.
Cons: Would have been more fun had large water slides been in operation.
Location: Short drive to the caverns
Room was very clean and beds were comfortable. Pool with little water park was nice as I was traveling with a child. Outside was a little dated, but grounds were clean. A good place to stay if you are going to Carlsbad Caverns. We got something to eat in Carlsbad before traveling to to hotel. Breakfast at hotel was good with many choices. You did have to carry food back to room to eat. There were outside picnic tables, but it was extremely windy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

I Enjoy Staying in White's City!

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: The hotel is clean and well-run. The rooms are pleasant and spacious.
Cons: AC was a little quirky :)
Location: White's City is all about Carlsbad Caverns - it is located on the access road to the park! It is also the closest accommodations to GMNP.
I have stayed here 3 time in the past six years, and I very much enjoy it. It is a classic open-roads western US motel, right along 62/180 and miles from anywhere. The motel is pleasant and well maintained. There is a nice pool, and a little water park with a pirate ship :). White's City is a little self-contained community - there is a gas station, a grocery store, a gift shop, a post office, and a restaurant. It is the closest accommodations to both Carlsbad Caverns (7 miles), and Guadalupe Mountains (32).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York

Good for carlsbad caverns.

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Ideal for carlsbad caverns and to see bat flights in evening. Not a lot else there but good for overnight stay. Food rubish at "restaurant" next door .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Good location to stay near the Carlsbad Cavern

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness and the location.
Location: You can go the Carlsbad Cavern National Park entrance within 10 min drive.
Room is clean, especially bathroom is quite clean. For example the faucet of the bath is so wiped that it is shiny, the bathtub and urinal are also clean enough. If I could say the weak point of this hotel, there is few restaurant near the hotel. You have to drive 20 miles (about 25 min) to Carlsbad city if you want to eat decent food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Great location close to the parks

Posted May 2, 2016
Looks old from the outside but renovated and clean rooms inside. Less than a mile from Carlsbad caverns entrance and only 30 min from Guadalupe NP.