Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san antonio, tx

Nice hotel for very reasonable price

Posted Jan 20, 2017
The staff were very nice and helpful. They would say hi when I passed by. Our car alarm went off for some reason and the night staff guy immediately went out to check our car. Breakfast was very satisfying and filling. The waffles were a favorite. The room and bathroom was very clean. If the the bed was a little more comfortable, I would've given it 5 stars.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unprofessional staff, smelly room.

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: It was the cheapest option. There's no other reason I would ever stay in this hotel again. We ended up leaving a day early.
Cons: The room was smelly and the bathroom was dingy. The lady at the front desk was just sitting there playing video games and wearing a printed tshirt.
Location: Carlsbad Caverns
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good location.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Lots of room and no smoking, but there was a smoking smell in our room. The pull out bed on the couch for our daughter was not a very good mattress but it was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Oct 12, 2016
It is basically clean and comfortable, the staff are nice too. It would be nicer if be closer to restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Everything was fine, breakfast could have had a little more variety
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

One night stay

Posted Aug 9, 2016
In town for one night visiting caverns. Clean rooms, nice staff and good breakfast. No complaints here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2016 by ustravelersinn@hotmail.com, Hotel Management
Thank You for staying at our Hotel. We appreciate your business. Have a nice day. Sheila, Gm
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Ew!

Posted Jul 31, 2016
We booked this hotel through Expedia when visiting Carlsbad Caverns. The hotel is very old, very dated, and seems like more of a 1970s by-the-hour kind of place. No elevators; stairs only. Really cheap and musty bed linens. The room was terribly hot and musty, and it took hours to cool, especially in the front room where you come in. Definitely not the kind of hotel we were expecting for just under two hundred bucks a night. We were deceived when we saw "only 1 room left" and figured it was a popular hotel, but it was deserted. Would definitely recommend staying elsewhere. This really isn't much more than a low budget motel,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room

Posted Jul 1, 2016
There were roaches in the room. Room adequate for a two star hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Highland Village, TX

Decent hotel, but why so expensive in Carlsbad?

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: big room
Cons: Pricing
Location: Local park, Carsbad Beach is about 10 minutes from the hotel, Carlsbad Caverns is about 30 minutes
We were at the end of a seven day tour of the southwest and needed to spend the night in Carlsbad. I was shocked to see what the room rates were for every hotel there, my suggestion to anyone wanting to visit Carlsbad Caverns is to time it so you are sleeping somewhere else. The town of Carlsbad was nice though, we ate a great local Mexican Restaurant, Mi Casita, and the waitress gave us info on their town park which included a skateboard park and nice walking trails, along with a beach and swimming.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

A true dump

Posted Jan 10, 2015
They start with telling you all the things they don't have (pool annd wifi) and it gets worse. I paid $200 a night and got these tiny pillows. No water pressure and a crappy tv. Staff is nice enough. Breakfast is really bad. Pay a bit more and stay somewhere else.