Ratings based on 508 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Mansfield

Inexpensive, right near Rathdowne & Lygon Streets

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: Cheap and in a good location to provide easy access to the city.
Cons: The beds were not as comfortable as we would have wished.
Location: Close by to a range of restaurants in Rathdowne St and, a bit further away, Lygon St.
Pleasant, clean rooms, including all a family would need for a short, economical stay in Carlton. There was a range of television stations and good Wifi. Easy walking distance from places to eat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regional NSW

Great Location for a family of 5.

Posted May 11, 2017 on Wotif
We enjoyed a great stay as a family of five! We had easy access to the zoo & museum. Great restaurants a block away in Rathdowne St or a short walk 10 minutes further down to central Lygon St. Tram stop at the motel entrance. We have a large car so plenty of parking was appreciated. Beds were comfortable, ample storage areas, recycling bins outside, pleasant outdoor area. Only downside is room cleaning could be improved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Winner

Posted May 9, 2017 on Wotif
Nice, secure and a short tram ride to CBD - definitely look to stay next time
5 out of 5
by Kate

Spacious getaway

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
In Melbourne for the comedy festival, we needed a convenient base to attend shows and generally enjoy melbourne. The apartment was well appointed and comfortable. There were only two of us, but we could have easily accommodated more people without feeling crowded. It was a bit of a walk into town, but not too bad. Tram stop was right outside too, although we didn't use it. Free parking and separate bedrooms wete my main reasons for choosing this accommodation.
4 out of 5
by Kenneth

Late night Check-In

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Everything worked and the bed was comfortable, the fresh milk in the refrigerator rather than the 'long life' milk many establishments use these days was very much appreciated. It tastes so much better in a hot drink, however the interior needs an upgrade consequently I can only award three stars
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Echuca, Vic Australia

Hotel was easy to find and quiet

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The room was very clean with heaps of room and loved having a small kitchen unlike a pokey room in other hotels.
Location: It was easy to find as l don't like driving in Melbourne and is close to the zoo, Royal Children's Hospital and a shopping centre was not far away
Loved the two bedroom apartment, it was the best nights sleep l have had in Melbourne for a long time. Even though there was no elevator it was a small price to pay for a lovely apartment. Thankyou we will definately stay here again.
3 out of 5
by Dan

Convenient and clean, but location is noisy.

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
If you are from the country you'll find it very noisy though city dwellers may not notice. Soundproofing windows could be much better but then air is not good with everything closed so you have a compromise between breathing and sleeping. Our bed was a double, no complaints, but two of our party complained bitterly about the single beds. Wifi was a complicated affair with 1500mb packages that had difficult passwords so couldn't bother with it. Doors to bathroom , toilet and lounge interfered as it's all too cramped and badly designed. Manager was pleasant and friendly. Not a bad experience but not great either. For noise sensitive people I suggest asking for a room in the rear of the complex which might not get such early road noise.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average unit very good location. Noisy traffic

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Noisy carrying luggage up to level 2 was not too easy. Good car parking on site. Internet not great. Close to restaurants in Carlton so good location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NSW

Handy but needs a Good Clean

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: It was cheap and roomy. Clean towels and bed made each day.
Cons: A good clean would do wonders.
Location: Close to restaurants
The hotel was close to tram transport but the whole unit needed a good clean and facelift. Armed with a bottle of Jiff, polyfilla, a scrubbing brush and a tin of white enamel you could do it in a day. Traffic noise on Lygon St was a bit of a problem.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location on Lygon St.

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Wotif
Trams right outside. Place could do with a refurbishment.