Ratings based on 1,548 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south east suburbs

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Clean linen and renovate bathrooms ventilation in rooms
Airconditioner did not work in room so no ventilation at all, skidmarks on bath tool was discusting, bed and room was generally clean.location suited as it was very clise to where we needed to be in the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2017 by Reception Team, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad to hear you found the hotel location to be convenient during the stay. Our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences that you had to endure due to maintenance and service issues. Please be assured your feedback has been passed onto respective management for necessary improvements. We hope to be able to welcome you back for a return stay under more favourable circumstances.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs updating

Posted Nov 19, 2017
The lift was dirty and smelly. No bench room in bathroom. Power points hard to find and access. Lighting terrible. Very expensive for what it was. Would not go there again for the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by Reception Team, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for your valuable feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and were really disappointed to read about the obvious displeasure you experienced with the maintenance standards. Also sorry to hear you did not find the room is not worth for what you paid. Please be assured your comments have been passed onto respective management for necessary improvements. We hope to be able to welcome you back for a return stay under more favourable circumstances.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Room ammenities were not sufficient in relation to tea, coffee, milk, toilet paper, tissues etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by Reception Team, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the hotel housekeeping standard is not up to your expectation. Please note your concerns have been heard and be assured your feedback has been passed on to respective management. Regards, Reception Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bendigo

Needs refurbishing

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Make over. Breakfast...Supplying quality tea coffee machine Breakfast Bar Information supplied at check in
Location: great location.
Enjoyed our stay because of the location, however the place is in desperate need of some improvements. Key to the door didn't work had to return to reception for assistance. No explanation from reception about using key card to run air conditioner....we cooked the first night. Bathroom was very old and desperately needs to be renovated. Laminate in the bathroom was peeling. Tiles in shower were painted hiding cracks. Tacky shower mat. bathroom supplies (Towels not replaced) Breakfast was ok. Chef was lovely, however no English Breakfast tea or Earle grey supplied. Asked the waiter for some ...sorry we don't have any of those teabags. Asked another waiter and he finally found some.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Reception, Hotel Management
Hi Karen, Thank you for your valuable feedback! We're glad to hear you have enjoyed the hotel location during your stay here. Our sincerest apologies for the obvious displeasure you experienced with room key issue, service standard and other maintenance issues. Please be assured your concerns have been heard and passed onto respective managers to work on areas where improvements needed. We hope to welcome you back for a return stay under more favourable circumstance. Regards, Reception
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gippsland

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: The restaurant and bar area were a pleasant surprise. The staff - even the chef in the restaurant at breakfast- were friendly, the service attentive.
Cons: The coffee in the machine at breakfast was awful.
Great location away from the busier part of the city, and overlooking the park. The tram goes past the front door or you can opt to walk - around 15 minutes to the city centre. The rooms are a good size with good facilities; whilst not ultra modern, everything is very clean and more than adequate. The bar and restaurant area is very pleasant, complete with a gas log fire. Upstairs there is a nice pool area, with table tennis and outdoor seating. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Our experience was positive from check-in to check-out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Reception , Hotel Management
Hi Andrea, Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay in near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice and close to the conference,walking distance

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Location
Cons: Food not very good
Location: Did not have time to do anything as the conference took up all my time
Pleasant experience,staff very helpful.Nice and quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2017 by Antony J, Hotel Management
Hi Jeannie, Thank you for your valuable feedback in relation to your recent stay at Rydges on Swanston. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay in near future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Perfect position for our hospital visit

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Position Staff
Great position, lovely staff Tired looking room, paint peeling off wall, carpet lifted up (needs stretching) Mould in the bathroom, dirty coffee mugs, dirty spoons, dirty pillowcase The volume on the tv was way too loud, we had an infant with us, and even with the TV volume on '1' , it was so loud! Very noisy neighbours, walls seem very thin, and the sound of constant banging coming from either a couple of rooms up or above us. Very late at night! Sounded like workmen! I know that isn't the hotels fault, but it was ridiculous!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Andy, Hotel Management
Dear jojo, Thank you for sharing your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Rydges on Swanston. I am glad to see that you found the location and staff was great. Your concern in regards to the cleanliness and the maintenance issues have been forwarded to the management for immediate improvement. On behalf of the team I would like to offer my apology. Once again thank you for your valuable feedback. I do hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Andy
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 1, 2017 on Hotels
Great location for University of Melbourne and city. Hotel good although getting a bit dated particularly bathroom!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback in regards to your recent stay. I am glad to see that you found the location was suitable your needs. Upon checking your reservation I can see that the standard room was booked, I would suggest your to book for a renovated rooms next time as these rooms are fully refurbished with modern design. Once again thank you for your feedback we do hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Andy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tasmania

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Wotif
Very Clean rooms, great service. Delicious breakfast in restaurant. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Andy, Hotel Management
Dear Suzannah, Thank you for sharing your feedback in regards to your recent stay. It was great to see that you had a great stay with us. We do trust that we will see you again soon. Kind regards Andy
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent stay

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
The price was excellent, location was ok, a short walk to Lygon St and a 5 minute tram ride to the CBD. Room was clean and decent, however pillow was very uncomfortable and had trouble sleeping because of this
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017
Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback in regards to your recent stay. I am glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay. I do trust that we will see you again soon. Kind regards Andy