Ratings based on 1,038 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Carmel "Lodge" should be renamed Motel

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Location to downtown
Cons: Overall rooms need to be updated
The bathrooms have not been updated from what looks like the 70's. Toiletries did not even include soap (we used the shower gel to wash our hands). Rooms did not have A/C; they provide you with a small desk fan (like the kind sold at drug stores). Piping in building is very old, so there were very loud banging noises throughout the night any time a neighbor flushed the toilet or used the sink. All rooms have view of parking lot. Breakfast includes two pastries (croissant and danish) and one small bowl of berries, and it can only be scheduled for delivery to your room during restrictive time slots.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sunnyvale ca

Outdated facility

Posted Sep 12, 2017
This motel was clean and conveniently located in Carmel. The room was right next to the side walk so you could hear every person talking and walking by. The rooms are old and outdated. They use regular metal door keys and chain locks, neither of which I've seen in a motel in 20 years or more. The place needs an update, better insulation and modernization. The bathroom was very tiny, the full length mirror was on the back of the bathroom door, rather than in the closet door. The room was dimly lit so there was no where with good lighting to put on makeup or do your hair. We were there for a wedding. The room provided adequate facilities it wasn't anything special. We left a day early from our prepaid reservation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Maureen Doran, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us and provide us with your vital feedback. We are pleased that enjoyed the location and the cleanliness of our inn. We are so sorry your experience at Carmel Lodge did not match your expectations. We do have various room sizes, locations and amenities at our Inn and are deeply apologetic that your room was not up to par. We are attending to many of the items that you detailed in your review including the location of the mirror and the lighting. Thank you for your suggestions. We do have plans to completely renovate our inn in the coming months. We will use your comments in this planning process. Warm regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san ramon , ca

Dog friendly. Staff were friendly and efficient.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Staff went out of their way to get us a reservation at a dog friendly restaurant and cancelled the one we had made. They even had a little bag of treats for my dog!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Maureen Doran, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us as guest feedback is essential to our goal of excellent guest experiences. We are so pleased you enjoyed our staff and that your dog enjoyed the treats. We hope to see you back with us again soon! Warm regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marin County

Nice Staff. OK Everything Else

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Location, ease of parking in attached parking lot
Cons: A more neutral smell in the room, updated bathroom, fix closet doors (look dingy and not well-made).
Location: Close to Ocean Ave and very close to lovely restaurants.
I am a frequent visitor to Carmel. Check in at the Carmel Lodge was fine, a bit lackluster on the front desk staff's part. I was escorted to my room by the bellboy, to a room almost under the stairs, where the overwhelming, overpowering scent of room freshener assaulted my nose when the door was opened. Even after a couple of hours, with the windows and door wide open, the smell did not dissipate. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was a bit outdated. The breakfast was delivered at my requested time and the coffee was nice and hot. Fresh berries, a warm pastry and glass of orange juice completed the tray, however, since I am diabetic, I could not eat any of these items and ended up going out to breakfast at Carmel Cafe (great, local hangout on Ocean Ave). Staff in the morning was super pleasant and personable and who I hope is very appreciated by the owner and manager of the lodge. Overall, I feel that there are better places to stay in Carmel for a comparable price, and would not stay here, again, myself.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Maureen Doran, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us as guest feedback is essential to our goal of excellent guest experiences. We cannot apologize enough for anything less than warm and welcoming at check-in. Your comments have been shared and addressed with the staff on during that shift. We are so glad that your experience the following morning was pleasurable and be assured that the owners and management appreciate and are grateful to our friendly staff every day. We have also addressed with our housekeeping staff our policy on the overuse of any air fresheners in the room. Thank you for reporting this and know that it will not happen again. We are delighted that your breakfast was delivered on schedule and that the coffee was hot. It is regretful that the menu was not in keeping with your dietary needs. We are happy to accommodate any special requests regarding our breakfast. We are deeply sorry that you will not return to allow us an opportunity to redeem ourselves. Warm regards,
4 out of 5
by Robin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Comfortable, no-frills hotel close-ish to beach.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. Proximity to beach and Ocean Ave.
Cons: Pool could be filled. Table on deck. Fridge in room. Coffee maker in room. HD TV. Cable channels.
Location: Beach is several blocks away and an uphill climb coming back (for those who don't like to walk). Park, shops everywhere, beach allows dogs off leash.
Very friendly staff. Good, basic room. No coffee machine in room. No HD TV. No cable. No fridge. Mine had no table on deck which made eating difficult. No extras provided for pets - like treats, bowls etc - even though $35 fee per day. Breakfast (pastry, juice, fruit and coffee) brought to door each day. Plenty of towels. Beautifully comfortable bed and great sheets!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Maureen Doran, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are so happy that you enjoyed our friendly staff, our location and the daily breakfast delivery. We are constantly striving to improve to meet our guest expectations and we are working on HDTV and our pet program. We are so sorry your pet didn't receive treats upon arrival, as we do have them and are working on adding more. Lastly, we are planning an update soon and outdoor balcony furniture is on the list. Thank you for your feedback as it is incredibly appreciated. Warm regards,
4 out of 5
by Linda

Great location

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed with my dog. We were both very comfortable there, and lodge is very pet friendly. Walk to everything!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Hello Linda, We certainly appreciate you taking your time writing this review and we are beyond pleased of how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward for your next visit. Operations, Elizabeth
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to everything!

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Beds
Cons: TV in my room was tiny.
Location: Handy for shops, restaurants and the beach about 15 min walk away.
Hotel was clean and beds were superb! Nice sheets and pillows. Only complaint was WiFi didn't work for me and the TV was about the size of a PC monitor. Otherwise I would highly recommend it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2017 by Maureen Doran, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are so happy you enjoyed our beds & our bedding, our cleanliness and our location. We apologize for the size of your TV and the issues with the Wifi. We are addressing both of those issues and hope to have them fixed very soon. Please come back and see us soon! Warm regards,
3 out of 5
by Thomas

Room stunk

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
My room stunk bad and I had them change rooms and still they charged me more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017
Thank you for giving me additional feedback regarding your stay with us at Carmel Lodge. I am glad that we were able to clear up the misunderstanding in regard to the cost of your room and we are very much looking forward to your next visit with us soon. I look forward to meeting you in person this time! Warm regards, Maureen, GM
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atascadero

Older hotel needs updating

Posted May 15, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Rooms had a musty odor. Needed updating. Overpriced
Location: Carmel restaurants, shopping , mission, beach.
Staff was pleasant. They checked us in. Let us park earlier than check in. Took a breakfast order for each of us which was never delivered. Rooms were older- needed updating. Kind of pricey overall. Wouldn't stay there again.