Ratings based on 1,054 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paso Robles

Comfy in carmel

Posted Jan 27, 2018
Love this place...our goto in carmel. Comfy, clean, great service/staff and everthing in walking distance. And dog friendly!
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Posted Nov 20, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel with a great location. The condition of our bedroom was great. The bathroom could use some updating, but overall a good stay worth the price.
5 out of 5
by Fang Liu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gilroy, CA

Nice hotel, friendly staff.

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Continental breakfast
Cons: Showers are for short people.....lol
Great little place close to all the stores and restaurants. There are two really good Italian restaurants, one is across the street and the other just down the block on the same side. We really loved that the bring a small continental breakfast right to your room. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenixville, PA

What’s not to like

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Location perfect, walking distance to just about everything in Carmel. Spacious, clean and well appointed room. Friendly staff. Plenty of off street parking. Older construction and only small negative was noise level between rooms. Problem was the guests who didn’t know how to close their door without slamming it and playing music too loud. A guest issue, not lodge. Oh and also added bonus of continental breakfast DELIVERED to us each morning. Nice touch!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by Maureen Doran, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words and rating. I will make sure to share this review with all the staff. We are so pleased you enjoyed our location, our friendly staff, our breakfast delivery and your accommodations were to your liking. Our apologies that you experienced some noise issues during your stay. We look forward to your return visit soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great staff, good value..

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: The staff is very friendly and the room is very comfortable even if it is dated. Light breakfast was delivered to the room which is a nice touch.
Cons: A more efficient wifi would be great. We kept losing the note rent connection.
Location: Within walking distance to restaurants, galleries, shops and the beach. A short drive to 17 Mile Drive, Monterey, China Cove and Big Sur.
We enjoyed the location as well as the helpful, friendly staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable but a bit outdated. The only negative comment I could make s that the wifi signal isn't very strong and we kept losing the Internet. Other than that, we would return anytime!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Close to all the lovely quaint houses and shops

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Close to all the restaurants and the beach
Location: Take a lovely walk along the beach
Very friendly locals very helpful and made some good recommendations we were told to go Carmel Valley Village great for lunch and wine tasting 🍷
4 out of 5
by Gary

Okay

Posted Oct 18, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel breakfast a bit sparse
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Carmel "Lodge" should be renamed Motel

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Location to downtown
Cons: Overall rooms need to be updated
The bathrooms have not been updated from what looks like the 70's. Toiletries did not even include soap (we used the shower gel to wash our hands). Rooms did not have A/C; they provide you with a small desk fan (like the kind sold at drug stores). Piping in building is very old, so there were very loud banging noises throughout the night any time a neighbor flushed the toilet or used the sink. All rooms have view of parking lot. Breakfast includes two pastries (croissant and danish) and one small bowl of berries, and it can only be scheduled for delivery to your room during restrictive time slots.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review. It is much appreciated. We hope to see you at Carmel Lodge again very soon! Warm regards, Maureen Doran, General Manager