Ratings based on 513 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Top notch

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Vvv
Cons: Vvv
Location: Vvv
Well laid out, comfortable, pleasant, happy staff. Great all around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Wonderful place to disconnect and relax .

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Low key in luxury ! Great food Relaxation Nature
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Gorgeous Carmel Valley resort - great for families

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Had previously stayed at hotel, before we had kids... and the resort was as beautiful as I'd remembered. Lots of nice touches, such as: in room free hiking snacks, fireplace accessible from inside or outside the room, deck tub, spacious bathroom, free morning apples, etc. We were ok driving everywhere, as opposed to staying in Carmel or Monterey directly and being able to walk to beach, to dinner, etc. The room rate seemed quite expensive though @ $600+/ night (wasn't even a suite), there's an additional resort fee, and resort food (while excellent) is expensive relative to what's available elsewhere in Carmel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOISE NOISE NOISE!!!

Posted Aug 3, 2017
This is a family friendly resort, which means lots of kids. A little about the construction of the rooms here: 3, 4 rooms are connected together, constructed on the same stilt. The walls between the rooms are PAPER THIN! The end result is that you hear EVERYTHING happening next door. I knew their names, their conversation, them blowing their hair, teenage kids running around, babies crying, toilets flushing. Literally everything. Everytime someone runs/walks in their room, it echos in our room. I couldn't sleep until my next door neighbors go to sleep around 1am, and woke up the next day around 7am when they got up... The resort is in a valley, nice scenery. But most rooms would NOT have a view. a lot of rooms are second row, so you look out to other hotel rooms. Our room was first row, however, big trees block the view. The room itself is pretty dark, not a lot of windows in the living area. The room is average, not luxurious. The mini fridge only had water, not even a soda can. No tea or tea kettle in the room either. There was also a loud buzz when we first entered the room. We had to wait couple hours and after several calls and a personal visit to the front desk for them to send a maintenance guy. It turns out right outside our room, there's a space where they put the water heater and a hot water circulator. The hot water circulator was old and making the loud buzz. They had to shut it off. Overall, it's a hotel that I couldn't wait to leave!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for families

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Nice stay with our kids on route to the Monterey aquarium. Wish we had more time to explore all of the amenities. Very large property, they shuttle you to different activities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Laurie Vickers, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to enjoy even more of what our 500-acre playground has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: everything- views, accommodations, staff, things to do
Cons: nothing
great accommodations- high level of service- manager stepped in when the room was late and made things right- it's rare that they do this proactively.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Carmel Valley Ranch Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! I am so happy to read that the team were able to step in to ensure you were well taken care of. We hope to welcome you back soon!
4 out of 5
by Ronald

Way overpriced.

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
$600 per night is outrageously overpriced for the quality of the accommodations. I would have been OK with $300. Room service was very expensive also. Golf course was good at a reasonable cost of green fees of $95 on a weekend day. Beautiful area in Carmel Valley.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017
Thank you for your review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the beauty of the resort and our lovely golf course. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the rate for your recent stay. It's worth noting that our rates change seasonally, and our variety of room types allow many different rate options for our guests. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back another time. Sincerely, Laurie Vickers Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington, DC

High service.

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: This is a resort on many acreas, golf course, vinyard, beautiful setting, private.
Cons: Didnt have one complaint.
Location: Carmel is fifteen minutes away, shops, restaurants, the ocean.
We arrived at midnight to find full service attention, check in fast, golf cart to room. Room fantastic with fireplace, clean, clean, clean. High end shampoo etc and plenty of towels and bathrobe. . Breakfast great, used pool with grandson, hot tub. We forgot to make reservations for dinner and at first we were told we would have to sit on patio as they were fully booked. However, once they knew it was my daughter's birthday they seated us inside. George the manager was very attentive and sent over two glasses of champagne for her 50th. The decor is luxury casual and there is so much to do on the property. We drove into Carmel and my daughter pointed to the place where she orginally booked us. So glad I used Expedia compared properties and made the right decision.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by CVRManagement, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Expedia.com! I am delighted to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay, and that our team took special care of you as you celebrated your daughter's birthday. I hope that we will have the honor of welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Laurie Vickers Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing staff and very responsive

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Beautiful location, quiet.
Location: Its Carmel! you have the beach, hiking the hills, the aquarium, big sur etc.
Anniversary stay and they took great care of us. We had a couple of issues at dinner and they jumped all over it and treated us great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Linden, Belgium

great ranch in the neighborhood of Carmel

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: quit, great breakfast and golf course
Location: Carmel and Carmel beach, golf, Pebble Beach, 17 mile drive
We liked the Carmel Ranch a lot. Close to Carmel, 17mile drive, Monterey and Pebble Beach with great facilities, good food, excellent service and own golf course