Ratings based on 1,064 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dump

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Hotel room was dirty., chipped paint, dutch door for entry, broken lights, window had been left open, old furniture, i would tell everyone to avoid this hotel. We had already gotten our key and they left another key in an envelope taped to the office doir. Anyone could have entered our room all night!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Pretty place.. lots of steps, noisy rooms..

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Breakfast was a disaster... woman hurrying u up n 1 waffle maker n 10 ppl waiting in small place...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Posted Oct 23, 2017
We were not able to stay the night. We had reserved a room with 2 beds and were given a room with only 1 bed. No other rooms were available that night so we had to leave and find another hotel. They told us they would refund the cost but it was inconvenient to us as we had to go to nearby Monterey to stay rather than staying in Carmel as we had planned.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Good location in Carmel.

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Not too much I am sorry to say.
Cons: I don't know what other rooms looked like but mine definitely needed updating. That would help.
Location: Location is good in Carmel and a number of things to do nearby. Beach is close and lots of good eating places. It is what it is.
The location was good but parking was not. There were only about 10 parking spaces on the hotel lot and the rest was street parking which was restricted on some streets. There were two stories and a lot of steep steps to the second level, not good for elderly people with walking issues. No elevator of course. I had a suite that was in dire need of refurbishing. There were shutters that were broken and slats missing that intruded on privacy. There was no coffee maker in room and not even tissues. The bed was comfortable but covered with an old gold 1980s bedspread. Shower did not have very hot water. The breakfast was very limited and not comparable to what you usually get for a continental breakfast. I would not recommend to my friends at this point . Staff were friendly and helpful though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Inn

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Nice clean, large and comfortable room.
Cons: Better parking options, better WiFi, longer breakfast hours, better breakfast food selection, more flexibility with the checkout time.
Overall a very quaint and charming little Inn. Comfortable, clean and large room. Good location. There are only a few parking spots available, and you have to be very lucky with street parking. WiFi is available, but it is extremely slow and doesn't work most of the time. Very short breakfast hours - only available between 8 am and 9:30 am. Breakfast food selection was very meager and subpar in quality. Not very flexible with the checkout time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated but good location

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Location
I've stayed here before in different rooms (which were better) but our stay this time was terrible. The room was outdated (like a low end Motel 6). We heard dogs barking next door and people walking in front of our room. There was no phone in the room and very few amenities (shampoo packets). I had to walk down to get iron (which was black on the face) and the ironing board was a table top one. Very disappointing! BUT the location was good, in walking distance to shops/restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude staff / Naked Girlfriend

Posted Aug 30, 2017
My girlfriend takes time to check out, and we were 40 minutes past checkout. Male staff kept entering the room without knocking and held the door open - luckily nothing was visible due to a staircase at the entrance of the room. Hotel is acceptable, location is fantastic, but the staff is dumb
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, but not fancy

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Stayed during "car week" in Carmel. Comfortable, clean room. Overall hotel is a bit run down. Great location, walkable to downtown Carmel. Parking lot has limited spots, but street parking is available.
2 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here two years ago and thought then it was a very tired hotel, badly in need of renovation. When we stayed this time I thought something would have occurred. Unfortunately it has not. Still very tired and run down. Awesome location, nice people that work there, but really over priced just for it's location. There are better choices elsewhere.
1 out of 5
by Ingrid

WORST PLACE I HAVE EVER BEEN

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
The place was a run down, dilapidated B&B. The structure was appalling inside and out. Every bit of furniture was broken in the room, the sheets were 40 year old gray polyester stinky rags, the floor felt like we were going to fall through it, the walls had holes , grime, chips, discoloration. It looked like a 3rd world barrack. I am shocked Carmel would even allow this place to exist. I'm also shocked that some of the Local Reviewers would give it a good rating on google which means they're not true ratings. DO NOT STAY HERE. It is not 3 stars, 2 stars or even 1 star, it is below the rating system. Worst place I prob have ever been in. We immediately checked out and plan to dispute the charges for representing a completely inaccurate portrayal of their accommodations. Oh, and we all ended up with big bites from the 20 minutes we sat in the room wondering how to handle.