Ratings based on 1,079 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2018
charming and cute place. staff very friendly and welcoming
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from carmel, Ca

You get what you pay gor

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Carmel California Inn for under $70 ?(actually $88 with taxes , etc) ...too good to be true?? Well, you get what you pay for. Very used ...bedding...plumbing...furniture.. ...thin towels...dark shower stall...mattress ...nasty exhaust fan!! Listed as free breakfast but the meager food offered was far less than a continental breakfast. My guess is , it was free because no one would pay two cents for it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport Beach, CA

Charming

Posted Jan 15, 2018
What a great deal! Right in the heart of Carmel with an ocean view. Walk to everything. The hotel is charming, though there is a bit of deferred maintenance. Room was very nice and large. Staff was excellent. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Ocean Avenue

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: How small and quaint it was. It was very "home" like.
Cons: Better coffee and herb tea as a choice. Also, the shampoo, conditioner and soap were low quality.
Location: It was close by all the restaurants and shops. Great location and we were able to walk everywhere, including the beach.
Check in was fast and efficient. The hotel is small and quaint. The receptionist was very pleasant and helpful. The room was small but cute. The entire place was quiet and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF bay area

Great location and nice staff

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: The hotel is clean and nice! John, the staff is very nice and friendly!
Cons: Better breakfast:)
Location: shoppings and galleries. Also just a few minutes' driving to the beach!
It is in a very good location, a couple of blocks to the Ocean Blvd., walking to the town center of shoppings, galleries...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Poulsbo, WA

Lots of potential in this run down hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2017
We paid $110 for a $50 room ~ That's Carmel I guess. From outside, this hotel is cute as a button and has a very pleasing courtyard. Nice staff, but just 1 person working for the entire joint. The room itself was pretty awful, mostly because of lack of maintenance. One of the wooden blinds was missing a slat at eye level to the walkway outside and we had to put a towel over it for our privacy. Several outlets were loose and the plates didn't cover the hole. The bed was old and lumpy and sagging. Paintings were set, not hung around the room, and the pilot light in the gas fireplace insert kept going out every time we adjusted the thermostat. Everything was old and worn out. This place has a lot of potential, and hopefully someone will invest in this desirable property to make the basic repairs and updates to make it a truly lovely little hotel in Carmel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it, plenty better one around

Posted Dec 26, 2017
The facility is cut to very basic. The breakfast is 9:00 - 10:00, and with vey limited thing coffee and bread, tiny apple. That's it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap room

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Possibly the cheapest. Absolutely no frills, but a roof over your head in a wonderful town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

Very nice and cozzy hotel, breakfast included.

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Nice and antique charming hotel, spacious rooms, friendly staff, sufficient breakfast. Well located.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maui

Great place for a great price! Close to everything

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: Close to town. I also liked having 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms.
Cons: Kleenex in the rooms.
Location: LOVE the location. Close to everything. Quiet part of the town, so sleep was easy.
Looking for a economical place in the heart of Carmel? This is the place for you!! Older furniture, and a little dated, but then again, this is more of a budget place. I would rather spend my $ on dinners and shopping. Great wi fi and parking on the side street. Staff is super friendly and nice.